Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.866675
Write A Review
October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My job ended as a result of moving out of Charlotte in 2009 for a family situation. I was not able to find work when I got to the location. I returned to Charlotte briefly to move again for another family situation in another city. I was out of work here. I returned to Charlotte. From the role playing activities I learned how to present myself better. Jacob's ladder gave me confidence. I did get a part time survival job which has made a difference

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I currently work for Staffmark as a partner with Jacobs Ladder in the Mecklenburg County Job Boost program. We are now on our 2nd yr. in the program with Jacobs Ladder and the County and have placed over 200 individuals into various jobs in the area. Without the excellent support of Jacobs Ladder, we would not be as succesful as we have been. Jacobs Ladder allows us to come over once or twice a month to register potential employees for jobs and this has enabled us to consistently maintain a great group of people for our end employers.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

My name is Gary E. Ligon & Jacob's Ladder Job readiness program certainly helped me get back on my feet. Prior to Jacob's Ladder I was in despair with no where to turn & then I heard about this non-profit organization through DSS/Work First program that assist with your Resumes, References, Cover letters, teach you how to load your information from the computer onto a flash drive, I learned how to attach a Resume to an email & send it out to a potential Employee & so much more. I especially enjoyed the mock interviews because it certainly helped me to develope my interviewing skills as well as all of the applications we filled out everyday & because of that I have full confidence as to how to fill out an application successfully. Thanks alot to Ms. Shenna Bossie & Ms. Susan Pierson because they both have had a huge influence in my life over the past year from 2010-2011 & on into the future. I plan to enroll in one of the Graduate programs at Jacobs Ladder & I'd also like to be able to give back by volunteering at the main location or the West location. Thanks for allowing me to express my pleasure with Jacob's Ladder & I wish them much funding & success on into the future & for always. Sincerely, Gary E. Ligon.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After going to Jacobs Ladder Job Center for a month, i got a job. I had not worked in almost two year before getting this job.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

I learned a lot. I am looking forward to entering in the workforce. I know that i am qualified for greatness. And Jacob's Ladder helped me realized it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I enjoyed Jacob's ladder. They gave me the skills to get a job. Not only am I working in a part time job but I am interning in several places afterwords based on what I learned from Jacob's ladder. My internship now requires me to look for work for other people and get employers to work with us at the staffing agency. I am blessed to have such an opportunity.This is from Renemary DuBois

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

Hello everyone! I am here to tell you that Jacobs Ladder Job Center is a awesome center to go to. The voluteers are very helpful and understanding and they are to get you to that next step to getting employment and I would recommend this center to anyone who needs help in getting employment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 20, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 20, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with Jacob's Ladder has been amazing.From my very first day, there was a feeling I felt about this place that has shown true. It's like they have helped me be the best person I can be.They have allowed me to gain access to different opportunities. As long as I did my part they were there for me.To be truthful, words could not express all the help, love, respect, and patience they have for people. It's really a special place,that through honest desire, dreams can turn into a reality. It is a place hope stays alive and people really care.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

they believed in me and helped me,through this, and now I believe.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 20, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 20, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

I had the pleasure of being a client and now being a full-time employee of Jacob's Ladder as the Technology Instructor. Upon first arriving at Jacob's Ladder as a client, I was very impressed with the willingness of staff to help me in my job search. I began to network with volunteers who even forwarded my resume to their friends, churches, and employers. Soon after, I began volunteering at Jacob's Ladder as a speaker and it was fun to tell my story. Several months later,an opportunity opened up for a part-time position as Technology Instructor for Jacob's Ladder clients. I jumped at the opportunity to work for the program where I could offer encouragement and expertise in the area of Technology. I am now a proud full-time employee of Jacob's Ladder and I am excited about where we are going as a non-profit. Go Inspired Team!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping me to get a strategy for my job search and assisting me in updating my resume, providing interview and job appropriate attire.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the knowledge of staff members in the area of job readiness training and the assistance of volunteers with mock interviews.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

people of integrity, passion, and a willingness to hold the clients accountable.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

hire more staff members to assist clients and start several social enterprise ventures that would hire its clients and provide them a source of income and an opportunity to get hands on job experience.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 15, 2010

more

January 15, 2010

I cannot give enough praise to the staff as well as the volunteers at this program know as Jacob's Ladder. The resources and knowledge that is readily available is "top knotch". This program is of the highest caliber to those who are committed to obtaining employment or for those looking to enhance the skills they already have. They helped me perfect applications and the cover letters and resumes are extremely helpful. The volunteer speakers bring an added bonus. The knowledge they share, the information on life experience pertaining to the job market and how they learned to motivate is excellent.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

committed to those who want to obtain employment.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

In-Office Volunteer Positions

Counselor/Interviewer
Tuesdays, Wednesdays or Thursdays from 9:15 until 11:30 a.m.
Tuesdays: Assess clients skills and obstacles to employment
Wednesdays and Thursdays: Conduct mock job interviews

A Perfect Fit Clothing Boutique Volunteers
Tuesdays, Wednesdays or Thursdays 9 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.

Assist Boutique Manager with:
Accepting donations, stocking/sorting clothing, folding, dressing manikins, etc.
OR light data entry

Administrative and Office Support
Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.
Assist office staff by answering phones, maintaining databases, and assisting with mailings.
Employment Recruiter

Start the conversation with Charlotte employers! Call local employers to develop relationships with them so a growing number of employers will support our program and hire our clients.

Special Events Committee Member

Help plan and execute special events including client dinners, fundraisers and more!

Resume Writer

Assist clients by typing resumes from completed work history sheets. We can provide training and templates.

Communications

Help us spread the word! Jacob’s Ladder needs copywriters, photographers,
public relations specialists and marketing personnel. Join our volunteer communications committee today.

Contact info@jacobsladdercharlotte.org or 704-332-5822 to get involved. Volunteer