Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.866675
Write A Review
February 13, 2012

more

February 13, 2012

I volunteered at Jacob's Ladder for six months in 2011. Due to the hustles and bustles of my last semester in the Human Services Program at CPCC, I haven't been able to contribute my services to Jacob's Ladder. I really miss the wonderful staff and clients that I came in contact with there. It was uplifting to see such remarkable growth in the individuals who participated and I felt proud to be a part of their journey!!! I now intern for an addiction center here in Charlotte. I always refer our clients in need of employment to Jacob's Ladder Job Center! God Bless Jacob's Ladder! I hope see you all as soon as I graduate... Much Love, jpigg

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I observed two seperate classes personally grow into business-minded, employable adults. I watched clients light up as they came in reporting they found employment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I learned how to interview (mock interview) and mentor individuals from every walk of life. I learned how to be an empathetic, caring individual through placing myself around the highly skilled staff and through listening to clients.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Volunteering at Jacob's Ladder made me believe that I was in the correct program (Human Services) at school. It encouraged me to move forward in my education. I felt like I needed to help people the rest of my life.

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

Jacob's Ladder provdes a critical step for people to gain employment. Help with identifying employment opportunities, creating resumes, interviewing, applying on-line, utilizing technology, etc... They are uniquly positioned to increase their services within the community and develop programs for job sustainability, career readiness, and career sustainability and they are working on initiatives in that direction.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

I experienced Jacob's Ladder as a volunteer, a service-learning work-study student, and as an intern from CPCC's Human Services program. It amazes me how much of an impact this small nonprofit has on not only the unemployed but also on individuals that face barriers of homelessness, substance abuse, criminal backgrounds, and serious self-esteem issues. As someone who wanted to work in the human services field, I could not have interned with a more appropriate organization. The staff always made sure I was meeting my objectives, working in areas I had an interest in and always encouraged me to use my talents. A few areas I assisted in were: job and volunteer fairs, transportation voucher distributions and other administrative tasks, class exercises, job searches, and mock interviewing. The Step 1 interviews provide clients with a listening ear, possible resources, and constructive suggestions. Jacob's Ladder is the only positive relationship some may have in their lives. I saw clients gain confidence and trust when they got that job. However, I also saw the staff having to plead for computer, interview, and classroom volunteers because there is no way the small group of eight can provide the services by themselves. I saw the funding need for transportation vouchers and flash drives for resumes. The clients work very hard and just hearing their appreciation at graduation gave me the motivation to continue helping. You see, I received as much from the program as the clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

I have been a mock interviewer for Jacob's Ladder since December. The entire staff has been wonderful, and are really committed to their cause. I believe they supply an invaluable service to their clients and support their cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

I have been blessed by the men and women who come to Jacob's Ladder seeking to change their lives. My involvememt at Jacob's Ladder was quite a journey; from six years on the board, to working hands on with our clients as a interviewer when they first come in, and mentoring several men and women. Being on the board certainly was challenging and rewarding, but being a part of watching lives blossom was the greatest gift of all. The most amazing thing was that my "friends" had the courage to come to a place like JL and say, "I'm ready to get my life together." As a volunteer and a mentor, I always felt the best thing I could do was to help them realize that they could do it. They did all the work, what they needed was someone to care, be honest with them and let them know just how bright their future could be. Everyone I worked with had a spiritual side, and we always talk about it. Each and everyone that I had to opportunity to sit with changed my life. One of my favorite memories was going to a Hornets game with Nelson Frazer and Gary Cannon, both who were working to change their lives, while at the same time changing mine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I am a volunteer working on improving client's skills by reviewing the key points to a successful interview and participating in mock interviews. This personally is a very rewarding experience. The clients work hard at improving their skills and very appreciative of my time as a volunteer working with them. The success rate at our location is at an 80% employment rate in either a part time or full time job within 6 weeks of completing the program. It is a great service provided to the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 15, 2010

I have been with Jacob's Ladder for about two months and have thoroughly enjoyed my experience. The program is very well organized, and the staff is very committed to its goals. I have been able to ... more

January 30, 2012

I’ve been a Jacob’s Ladder volunteer for over two years. I help clients with job applications, resumes, mock interviews, and, at times, dressing for success in conjunction with our clothing boutique. I have also assisted with the orientation program for incoming volunteers, the KPD initiative, and the planning committee which is designing a new program for JL graduates. I work at both JL Main and JL West. Let me tell you what I like about being at Jacob’s Ladder.

*The mission – "to help unemployed and underemployed people find and keep living wage jobs".

It has special significance for me because it synchronizes very well with my own interests and values.

Before retiring almost five years ago, I was a student affairs administrator for over 37 years. I spent most of my time in that helping profession assisting students to “become all they are capable of being” - by identifying and applying their talents for self-improvement.

Although the JL mission relates directly to job readiness, it is also a life skills/personal development mission. Improving speaking, writing, social etiquette, and professional dress are all important to one’s total life experience. And JL does it all, including support for the critical re-integration of clients into our community through meaningful work.

*The clients – I thoroughly enjoy working with them!

These are folks who place high value on the services offered here. Most are eager to learn, to achieve, and to flourish. They are needy in lots of ways, but many times our work centers on increasing their self-confidence and accentuating the skills they already have and can bring to a job.

It’s exciting to see in class after class the transitions folks make in confidence and job readiness.

*The staff - I can tell you without reservation, that this organization is a vibrant, passionate association of individuals strongly committed to JL’s mission.

They are serious, team-oriented, and selfless. Staff members pitch in and help one another. There is no “showboating” or “grandstanding” – except perhaps to “brag” about the success of our clients!

Desks and materials virtually belong to everyone, including volunteers. Every square foot of JL facilities is used very productively and efficiently.

And, the staff are extraordinary in the consistency with which they extend thanks and gratitude to volunteers. I can’t get through a morning without being thanked several times!

*My role - One of the really positive features of being involved at JL is that volunteers can become engaged at any level they feel comfortable. I value this flexibility; I think other volunteers do as well.

For example, I enjoy being a “generalist” who does a diversity of duties and contributes wherever the organization has particular needs on a particular day. I also do some work at home periodically.

Others, because of their interests and/or time limitations, prefer to be “specialists” – in interviewing, resume preparation, topical presentations, and the like. Bottom line: there’s room for all of us!

So, I guess it’s no secret that I am very enthusiastic about Jacob's Ladder and the outstanding work that it continues to do for the Charlotte community.


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 15, 2010

I have been with Jacob's Ladder for about two months and have thoroughly enjoyed my experience. The program is very well organized, and the staff is very committed to its goals. I have been able to do a variety of activities, including: reviewing job applications, preparing resumes, working in the "dress for success" boutique, and developing an assessment survey on health and safety issues. Jacob's Ladder is truly committed to job readiness!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the opportunity to provide direct service to the various clients of the organization and to see immediate results!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I volunteer to do practice interviewing--Steps1,2,3 and then the exit interview at the end of the month. I find that many of the clients at the beginning of the month- long program appear to be very down----meaning they appear knocked down by life experiences. It is remarkable, then, that at the end of the month and end of the program, these same clients appear surprisingly self-confident, have a real job focus and goal, and overall appear to be very hopeful and positive in outlook. That is the "magic" of Jacob's Ladder--giving people the tools they need to conduct a successful job search. Besides the resume development and the interview practice, the staff and the program engenders a positive feeling of self worth and a positive attitude regarding a job search. Most of the clients at Jacob's Ladder would not be able to achieve that positive attitude on their own. It's the spirit that prevails in this program that produces such excellent results.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Jacob's Ladder is an incredible organization that gives the unemployed and underemployed population in Charlotte the ability to learn life-changing skills that enable them to gain self-confidence and self-awareness which leads to a professional appearance and representation to the business community. This population of attendees would not otherwise have access to the level of professional volunteers that give them direct insight to the jobs they aspire to. I applaud the staff and volunteers at Jacob's Ladder for making the positive impact in the community!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I've worked with Jacobs Ladder Job Center to promote their organization to media. I've also provided feedback regarding overall communications strategy. In my opinion, Jacobs Ladder Job Center provides a valuable service to the city of Charlotte. They educate members of community and make them employable, which benefits the city's overall prosperity. I continue to support Jacobs Ladder Job Center, Inc., financially, as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

In-Office Volunteer Positions

Counselor/Interviewer
Tuesdays, Wednesdays or Thursdays from 9:15 until 11:30 a.m.
Tuesdays: Assess clients skills and obstacles to employment
Wednesdays and Thursdays: Conduct mock job interviews

A Perfect Fit Clothing Boutique Volunteers
Tuesdays, Wednesdays or Thursdays 9 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.

Assist Boutique Manager with:
Accepting donations, stocking/sorting clothing, folding, dressing manikins, etc.
OR light data entry

Administrative and Office Support
Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.
Assist office staff by answering phones, maintaining databases, and assisting with mailings.
Employment Recruiter

Start the conversation with Charlotte employers! Call local employers to develop relationships with them so a growing number of employers will support our program and hire our clients.

Special Events Committee Member

Help plan and execute special events including client dinners, fundraisers and more!

Resume Writer

Assist clients by typing resumes from completed work history sheets. We can provide training and templates.

Communications

Help us spread the word! Jacob’s Ladder needs copywriters, photographers,
public relations specialists and marketing personnel. Join our volunteer communications committee today.

Contact info@jacobsladdercharlotte.org or 704-332-5822 to get involved. Volunteer