Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.866675
Write A Review
January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

Great organization, that clearly helps job seekers with the needed soft skill to be successful.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I enjoyed Jacob's ladder. They gave me the skills to get a job. Not only am I working in a part time job but I am interning in several places afterwords based on what I learned from Jacob's ladder. My internship now requires me to look for work for other people and get employers to work with us at the staffing agency. I am blessed to have such an opportunity.This is from Renemary DuBois

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

Hello everyone! I am here to tell you that Jacobs Ladder Job Center is a awesome center to go to. The voluteers are very helpful and understanding and they are to get you to that next step to getting employment and I would recommend this center to anyone who needs help in getting employment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2012

more

January 23, 2012

I work for the most wonderful Job Readiness organization in Charlotte, NC. I am the Volunteer Coordinator/Program Assistant for Jacob's Ladder Job Center. Everyday that I come to work is a great day. The clients we serve come from different backgrounds and have many barriers. We seem to be more than a job readiness program, but a life skill center also. I come with the expectation of maybe helping one person everyday. I have a years of background in non-profit but this is more than a job it's a career. For me to watch the transformation from our clients first coming to us and then seeing then again the third week is simply amazing. If I was not an employee of this organization, I would still give Jacob's Ladder the biggest hats off.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2012

more

January 23, 2012

I conduct mock interviews for clients at Jacobs Ladder. I find this to be a rewarding experience because I come away from each session realizing that I have learned something - sometimes about interviewing techniques, but many times I'm made to realize the really tough challenges that the clients of Jacobs Ladder face in today's job market. I can only hope that I might have helped them some in their pursuit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 20, 2012

more

January 20, 2012

I am currently unemployed and was looking to volunteer some time in the perspective field that I wish to work. Since my background is Human Resources, Cross-Training and Development, it was highly recommended that I volunteer with Jacob's Ladder working in the capacity of a Recruiter. In this position, I conduct mock interviews for clients and coach them in how various areas that may prohibit them from becoming their "Personal Best!" The wonderful thing about this program is that the information and technology used to empower the individuals is considered state of the art and the lessons learned are second to none. I blessed in that I have been awarded the opportunity to empower and be empowered on a daily basis. Jacob's Ladder is a blessed institution simply because they bless others.....fortunately I'm one of them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 19, 2012

more

January 19, 2012

I found Jacob's Ladder this summer. Immediately I was surprised by the passion and dedication of the staff. Their passion for the mission of getting the community back to work is rivalled by none other. Their dedication to each individual that comes through their doors can not be matched.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012

more

January 19, 2012

I am a Human Services student who volunteers at Jacob's ladder for my co-op experience. The job readiness program that they offer provides an extraordinary experience for many people! I have encountered people with various backgrounds and experience levels and Jacobs Ladder has something to offer even the highest ranked professional. They donate business attire to anyone who goes through the program and are in need of clothing for the workplace. Jacob's Ladder not only provides skills to prepare people for their quest in the job market, but they equip people with the self-esteem that is needed to help them remain successful! I could not have found a better non-profit organization in which to gain hands on experience in my field of study! Thanks Jacobs Ladder; keep up the good work!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

i started as a client over 3yrs ago..i enjoyed the program so well that i wanted 2 come back & show the other clients that the program is great & it not only gives clients the skills they need 2 b in the work force,it also gives them a lesson in confidence & self awareness..love the program..have recommended more clients for the program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 10, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 10, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

From the very moment of meeting with Jane Norman ( Volunteer Coordinator at the time) who is so amazing to me, I knew that I was in a place that sincerly wanted to help people, but more importantly they wanted to help them in a way that taught them to help themselves. I wanted to do anything and everything that I could to support their mission, but I also wanted to do more than just volunteer my own personal time I wanted to involve the company I work for. So, I got the owner of New Horizons Computer Learning Centers to come visit Jacob's Ladder and after meeting with Jane Norman we provided free computer training to Jacob's ladder clients and started a scholarship program in which 4 Jacob's Ladder clients are pursuing Microsoft Computer certifications. The only reason I mention the scholarhip and free training is to encourage and urge any volunteer who is employeed to look for opportunities to involve the companies that they work for as well. Jacob's Ladder is unique and meets needs that are not being met by anyone else. The staff are beautiful and dedicated people who day in and day out do a job that few others could do and even fewer still would want to do. I appreciate, admire, and envy them all. Certainly they are blessed beyond measure by God to be able to have a career that touches the lives of so many people in ways that I'm sure that even they aren't fully aware of. Thank you God for Jacob's Ladder and the staff and all the volunteers that make it a success!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing success in the lives of clients.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The opportunity to be a small part of the wonderful and absolutley necessary service they provide.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Dedicated, hard working, always looking for ways to do things better.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Literally change the face of the community it serves.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

In-Office Volunteer Positions

Counselor/Interviewer
Tuesdays, Wednesdays or Thursdays from 9:15 until 11:30 a.m.
Tuesdays: Assess clients skills and obstacles to employment
Wednesdays and Thursdays: Conduct mock job interviews

A Perfect Fit Clothing Boutique Volunteers
Tuesdays, Wednesdays or Thursdays 9 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.

Assist Boutique Manager with:
Accepting donations, stocking/sorting clothing, folding, dressing manikins, etc.
OR light data entry

Administrative and Office Support
Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.
Assist office staff by answering phones, maintaining databases, and assisting with mailings.
Employment Recruiter

Start the conversation with Charlotte employers! Call local employers to develop relationships with them so a growing number of employers will support our program and hire our clients.

Special Events Committee Member

Help plan and execute special events including client dinners, fundraisers and more!

Resume Writer

Assist clients by typing resumes from completed work history sheets. We can provide training and templates.

Communications

Help us spread the word! Jacob’s Ladder needs copywriters, photographers,
public relations specialists and marketing personnel. Join our volunteer communications committee today.

Contact info@jacobsladdercharlotte.org or 704-332-5822 to get involved. Volunteer