Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.866675
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

As an outpatient mental health practice, we have many clients in need of employment development assistance. We have worked with several different employment development agencies is the past but now we only refer to Jacob's Ladder. In comparison, this organization brings far more to the table than any other employment readiness/ development programs! Jacob's Ladder works with individuals from the inside out: meaning their curriculum starts with the person and personal development then incorporates employable skills while equipping each participant with tangible tools that help them find and land fulfilling employment. Their efforts to help individuals find jobs are unmatched in this community. No other agency goes above and beyond employment development like Jacob's Ladder. The after care, education, advocacy and linking is amazing. We do not refer our clients that are in need of employment to any other agency. Thank you Jacob's Ladder!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

No, but our clients have and the outcome has been 100% successful in comparison to any other employment development agency. Every client that was referred to Jacob's Ladder were able to obtain employment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more income so that they may add a week in to their curriculum that focuses on personal development.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

It is not a 'cookie-cutter' program with apathetic instructors. The instructors and all staff are fully committed to helping each person that walks in their organization!

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I volunteer to do practice interviewing--Steps1,2,3 and then the exit interview at the end of the month. I find that many of the clients at the beginning of the month- long program appear to be very down----meaning they appear knocked down by life experiences. It is remarkable, then, that at the end of the month and end of the program, these same clients appear surprisingly self-confident, have a real job focus and goal, and overall appear to be very hopeful and positive in outlook. That is the "magic" of Jacob's Ladder--giving people the tools they need to conduct a successful job search. Besides the resume development and the interview practice, the staff and the program engenders a positive feeling of self worth and a positive attitude regarding a job search. Most of the clients at Jacob's Ladder would not be able to achieve that positive attitude on their own. It's the spirit that prevails in this program that produces such excellent results.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

My name is Gary E. Ligon & Jacob's Ladder Job readiness program certainly helped me get back on my feet. Prior to Jacob's Ladder I was in despair with no where to turn & then I heard about this non-profit organization through DSS/Work First program that assist with your Resumes, References, Cover letters, teach you how to load your information from the computer onto a flash drive, I learned how to attach a Resume to an email & send it out to a potential Employee & so much more. I especially enjoyed the mock interviews because it certainly helped me to develope my interviewing skills as well as all of the applications we filled out everyday & because of that I have full confidence as to how to fill out an application successfully. Thanks alot to Ms. Shenna Bossie & Ms. Susan Pierson because they both have had a huge influence in my life over the past year from 2010-2011 & on into the future. I plan to enroll in one of the Graduate programs at Jacobs Ladder & I'd also like to be able to give back by volunteering at the main location or the West location. Thanks for allowing me to express my pleasure with Jacob's Ladder & I wish them much funding & success on into the future & for always. Sincerely, Gary E. Ligon.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Jacob's Ladder is an incredible organization that gives the unemployed and underemployed population in Charlotte the ability to learn life-changing skills that enable them to gain self-confidence and self-awareness which leads to a professional appearance and representation to the business community. This population of attendees would not otherwise have access to the level of professional volunteers that give them direct insight to the jobs they aspire to. I applaud the staff and volunteers at Jacob's Ladder for making the positive impact in the community!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I've worked with Jacobs Ladder Job Center to promote their organization to media. I've also provided feedback regarding overall communications strategy. In my opinion, Jacobs Ladder Job Center provides a valuable service to the city of Charlotte. They educate members of community and make them employable, which benefits the city's overall prosperity. I continue to support Jacobs Ladder Job Center, Inc., financially, as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 29, 2012

more

January 29, 2012

Discussions with the participants in the Jacob's Ladder program have affirmed that it is having a significant impact on their efforts to gain meaningful employment. Rather than remaining discouraged by their circumstances, they are engaging energetically in all that Jacob's Ladder has to offer. I attribute this not only to the well conceived curriculum and resource materials, but even more so to how positively the staff instructs and interacts with each individual. I truly appreciate the opportunity to contribute as a volunteer to the successes that arise from Jacob's Ladder.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 28, 2012

more

January 28, 2012

I have volunteered with Jacob's Ladder for about one and one half years and am particularly impressed by how this organization tries seriously to help clients who have a history of a non-voluntery termination or some kind of conviction record. Our training and support seems to give them the confidence to overcome these obstacles and get a second chance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After going to Jacobs Ladder Job Center for a month, i got a job. I had not worked in almost two year before getting this job.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

I'm a volunteer interviewer at Jacobs Ladder. I've got over 40 year's experience in personnel and human resources and can attest to the quality and dedication of the staff and volunteers at the job center. Everyone with whom I've come into contact is committed to making each client as prepared as possible to reenter gainful employment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

I learned a lot. I am looking forward to entering in the workforce. I know that i am qualified for greatness. And Jacob's Ladder helped me realized it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

In-Office Volunteer Positions

Counselor/Interviewer
Tuesdays, Wednesdays or Thursdays from 9:15 until 11:30 a.m.
Tuesdays: Assess clients skills and obstacles to employment
Wednesdays and Thursdays: Conduct mock job interviews

A Perfect Fit Clothing Boutique Volunteers
Tuesdays, Wednesdays or Thursdays 9 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.

Assist Boutique Manager with:
Accepting donations, stocking/sorting clothing, folding, dressing manikins, etc.
OR light data entry

Administrative and Office Support
Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.
Assist office staff by answering phones, maintaining databases, and assisting with mailings.
Employment Recruiter

Start the conversation with Charlotte employers! Call local employers to develop relationships with them so a growing number of employers will support our program and hire our clients.

Special Events Committee Member

Help plan and execute special events including client dinners, fundraisers and more!

Resume Writer

Assist clients by typing resumes from completed work history sheets. We can provide training and templates.

Communications

Help us spread the word! Jacob’s Ladder needs copywriters, photographers,
public relations specialists and marketing personnel. Join our volunteer communications committee today.

Contact info@jacobsladdercharlotte.org or 704-332-5822 to get involved. Volunteer