Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.965
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

I’ve known Penny and been involved with Jacob’s House as a volunteer and donor since 2002, in Texas. Our family has been enriched by being part of the loving extended family that has always been Jacob’s House. Whether painting walls, delivering food, taking children to the zoo or the local park - it was a joy to support Penny in her dedication to give children a loving and permanent "normal" home. It taught my children how lucky they are and how much they have to offer to others. My daughter, who is now a special education teacher, holds Penny up as an example that motivated her in her career choice.

Even though Jacob's House moved to Missouri, we remain in contact and pick up wherever we left off last! I have over and over witnessed the deep faith, steadfast love and humble trust that are the bedrock of this ministry to children who deserved so much better than life handed them. And I have also been blessed to watch the ways in which these children grow and blossom and generously extend love to others. Jacob’s House inspires hope and is instrumental in changing the arc of lives from spiraling downward to reaching upward and outward. I am honored to be a friend and supporter.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

My husband and I are personal friends of Penny and Dan Koontz, their children, and the extended family they have of foster kids. We have seen the service and commitment of years and years, to the care of children and young adults in this devoted and tireless couple. They apply christian principles and love to all the kids! We have even ministered there for a season. Their hearts are wide open for those in need, or with a troubled history. I recommend Jacob's House as a place of refuge and restoration to those who have had troubled past, or are presently having difficulties negotiation life and people. Their goal is to help you be the best you can be, reach for your dreams! We love Penny and Dan dearly, and they do not tire in this endeavour of helping young people do well in life , in spite the hand they may have been dealt. They are my heroes, and continue to amaze me and others in their much needed service to the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

As a Registered Nurse who decided to become a full time volunteer and donor for the past year, I have had the PRIVILEGE of getting to know Jacob's House through personal experience. Many days I've been there as part of the team from daylight to dusk.....overseeing the chores and dishing out the rewards, working through tough times then celebrating their notable accomplishments, encouraging them to DREAM BIG and be the best that they could be, and always ALWAYS talking about our God who made this home possible. The atmosphere at Jacob's House is that of a normal home environment for the kids who come here, totally opposite of the institutional-style facilities governed by the State. As a nurse, I've been in those State facilities, and at the end of the day, my heart was always heavy for the kids who were placed there. I saw no improvements; I saw warehousing..... I saw no love; I saw staff going through the motions of putting in their shifts and going home. What I didn't see, but what I WANTED to see, was compassion and legitimate concern in providing these kids the kind of help they truly needed to succeed in life. That compassion, and legitimate concern is what I found at Jacob's House. Kids that live there are encouraged to strive for excellence, even when some of them are there for being far from perfect themselves. But perfect or not, these kids are loved unconditionally; they KNOW it, they FEEL it, and they RESPOND to it. The best example of this that I can personally give is that of a 13 year old boy who was placed there last year when all other State facility options had been exhausted. He failed to get help in every facility he was placed in....this was his last chance at a life of normalcy before his parents gave up on him. I watched this rebellious, defiant, beautiful kid try to find his way, try to fight through the sedating effects of the multiple psychiatric medications he was prescribed in order to "control" his behavior. While he provided many challenges during this past year, by the grace of God and the team at Jacob's House, this 14 year old boy has turned into a wonderful young man that any parent would be proud to call their own. He has learned responsibility, accountability, respect and love for others....without being on any prescribed medications. It's humbling to think that I was given the opportunity to be a part of helping him find his way. But he is only one of many kids still out there who need a place like this. Jacob's House is here today because the founder made a lifelong covenant with God to provide for these kids. Without the compassion, dedication and unrelenting persistence of Penny and her husband Dan, the Directors at Jacob's House, none of this would have been possible. Their character is above reproach, their hearts are bound to the Lord. Jacob's House is privately funded by donors who have the same love and concern for these lost kids as they do. They receive no State or Federal funding, so it's up to all of us to continue providing support so Jacob's House can continue to excel in it's mission. We are all responsible for children in need. "And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me" Mathew 25:40 KJV

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

Jacob's House is a unique private placement home for children. Unique in a way that whether a child is there for 1 day or 1 year they are part of Jacob's House family forever. Dan and Penny and all volunteer staff have made a committment to the children who live at the ranch. That committment is for a lifetime. Jacob's House is committed to giving love, respect, honesty, christian values and life training to all who enter their home. Jacob's house is a safe place for children who need hope and a safe place to learn and grow. Jacob's House teaches them to dream a dream and learn what it takes to see their dreams manifest.
If you are looking for a ministy to support, and have a heart for children, then this is your place.
It will not only change the lives of the children at Jacobs House, it will change your life too!




More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

You know the day you look back on and say "That was a perfect day!"....Well, yesterday was one of those days. I spent the day with about 15 kids from Jacob's House. I have three children of my own, so why would I take a day for someone else's kids??.....because every part of it was wonderful!
A little 2 year old seemed to latch onto me. She endured my hugs & fixing her hair. Her big brown eyes, soft and sweet. She is just one of many children that you meet at Jacob's House. I don't know her story, she may have been dropped off in the middle of the night, like many of the children there. Children that have so many stories of why they have been brought to a safe place....Jacob's House. Jacob's House is a top notch place where horse roam, dogs play, kittens, chickens & a log cabin. Penny & Dan love them all..... I am honored to be a part of such a great organization! I found out that they are NOT STATE FUNDED, but are funded by loving people who care about the ones who could slip through the cracks....Jacob's House.....Can't wait for the next great day!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bless them with more time & money. Seems like they could use another vehicle to drive all the kids around together.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I have known Dan Koontz for 10 years. He is a former employee of mine. He is a man of character who is a dedicated Christian. He worked with the "Big Brothers" Organization for many years, helping disadvan-taged youth. I have known Penny for 4 years & have complete confidence in her Vision for Jacob's House. Together they are proven, experienced professionals who have committed their life to the betterment of children. My Company, CounterTop Solutions, Inc. of Broken Arrow Ok. are proud to be sponsor's to this worthwhile & extremely beneficial organization. My intent is to be able to give even more in the years to come. This is good ground where children's lives are being changed forever. I recommend everyone take a serious look at contributing to this fine work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Generate more resources to them

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

Is Jacob’s House a paradise for children?
I am a volunteer at Jacob’s House but my role has been unique. Even though, I have on occasion cleaned, cooked and done laundry, my perspective is deeper. While at Jacob’s House, I have witnessed the children in all their charm, grace and normal
childhood, stubbornness, playfulness and orneriness. I have seen them dressed for church, and covered in mud from a fun day at the creek.
But, I say my perspective is deeper because I have come to know the directors, Penny and Dan Koontz at a heart level by helping Penny write her life story, I Thought You Had A Bigger Dream. I know their dreams, their goals and most importantly their motives. I know their heart cry for each child whose life they touch. I am very well acquainted with their adopted children, Jacob, Jeremiah and Haley, who I have known for eight years.
What stands out to me about this home, Jacob’s House, is that it is not just a roof over the kid’s heads, a warm meal in their tummies and a clean bed. It is so much more. These children, the ones who truly know it as home and the ones who may be at Jacob’s house for only a few weeks or a few months are given the opportunity to learn how to live life successfully.
How is that accomplished? It is taught minute by minute as they go through their day. It is taught with wisdom and patience. It is taught through perseverance. It is taught through example.
The children are taught respect:
They are taught to respect each other and their belongings. They are taught to show respect to all the volunteers who come and go through Jacob’s House, performing a myriad of tasks. They are taught to respect their Jacob’s House parents who know how to show firm correction when needed, always followed up by gentle affection and encouraging words. It is taught in hopes that the respect they practice at Jacob’s House will carry over to their natural parents, teachers, and all future relationships.
They are taught good communication skills:
Even the smallest voice is heard at Jacob’s House. Penny, Dan and the volunteers are very sensitive to the needs and personalities of each child. The children are encouraged to open up, share their feelings, and speak up for any concern they may have. They are taught to ask, not demand. They are taught to communicate with politeness and patience. Are they perfect in their efforts? No, they are normal kids. But the high standard is set and they are helped along the way each day.
They are taught responsibility:
Some of the volunteers like to take the kids on nature outings. If a child hasn’t been compliant with the basic rules like doing their chores, they are restricted from the activity in an attempt to teach them the consequences for poor choices. They are taught there is honor in duty and reward in cooperation and trustworthiness.
They are taught basic social skills and common courtesy:
They are taught to share and take turns. Sometimes, the children come from dysfunctional homes where good examples of common civility are not shown. At Jacob’s House, they learn by example, how to get along with their siblings, their friends and their whole, big world which they will soon have to face on their own.

They are taught to be honest:
Be honest and you win in the long-run is a rule of the house. Manipulation and lying will only lead to trouble and disappointment. Oh, that all adults would operate with that understanding.
They are taught to recognize and develop their God-given talents:
The children are encouraged to step out and try new things that they are interested in. Whether it be playing a musical instrument, cooking, baking, writing—nothing is beyond the reach of a child who applies themselves to the task.
They are taught to be industrious:
While school work and household chores are priority in that order, there is always plenty of time for them to just be kids. But, being couch potatoes is highly discouraged. They are taught to set and pursue goals and are aided in the development of every pursuit when possible. They have special programs to help nurture their ideas, learning how to make and handle money as well as other basic business principles.
They are taught to love:
The children are taught to love Jesus. They are taught to love themselves. They are taught to love each other. They are promised a “Forever Family” at Jacob’s House. Even when they move away, they know they will always be loved by their Jacob’s House family. Over the years, as these kids have matured and ventured out on their own, many have returned to their roots with messages of gratitude for the safe haven offered as well as the firm voice of correction which they eventually heeded. The proof is in the testimonies of those who have lived and loved at Jacob’s House. The truth speaks.
They are taught life:
Jacob’s house has farm animals and pets. They have a garden in the summer. They do carpentry projects. There are grounds to keep. Life is full and exciting at Jacob’s House. With each new child entering the door for the first time, the kids are taught to reach out to the new kid so they too can feel the love in their “Forever Home with their Forever Family”.
“Come on, I’ll show you my pet chickens,” Jacob offers.
“Here, try one of my cookies but be careful. They are still hot,” Haley giggles, her pet parrot, Emmy, perched on her shoulder.
Jeremiah pauses from his saxophone practice, making it a little easier to hear, and asks, “Have you ever ridden a horse? Come on, Jake and I will show you how,” he grins, showing his beautiful smile.
Is Jacob’s House a paradise for children? No—life still happens there. The children are not wrapped in a cocoon of perfect bliss. There are often hard choices and tough circumstances to deal with. They sometimes must be told no due to financial constraints or wise judgment. But regardless, they are led in the way they should go…in preparation to live a successful life: A life of good relationships. A life of direction and stability. A life which reaches out beyond themselves. A life which speaks of the love they received at Jacob’s House.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes in the mission or administration. I would like to find a way to help fund Jacob's House. I would encourage anyone looking for a deserving charity to consider Jacob's House. I can attest every dollar goes to the welfare of the children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

Penny and Dan are such awesome people. They took my son in without any problem. They have made a big difference in his life and our's to. They are caring and loving. And they really understand no matter what it is. They love each child the same and treat them the same to. They help us as a family to be strong and give us hope. They are wonderful people. They will always be in our hearts. We love them dearly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014

more

July 9, 2014

Jacob's House, Inc. -This place is owned and operated by Penny & Dan Koontz. I always knew Penny was someone special who does the work of the Lord and always had a special place in her heart for children. Dan is another person who loves Penny and children. together they are a special couple who welcomes everyone they meet to stop by Jacob's House anytime. They open their hearts and home to those in need, with a special emphasis on children that may be troubled, homeless or just in need of some special guidance. They show this through encouragement, LOVE, kindness and respect for yourself and others. I know a few of the children Penny and Dan have helped. I have seen AMAZING things done for these children and others. I was honored to meet the family at a book signing of Penny's. I was incredibly moved by how respectful these children were, how willing to help they were, and just all around Proud to say I got the chance to see the special work Dan & Penny do at Jacob's House. They make every child or person who is either at the house, volunteers or drops by to visit feel especially welcome and SPECIAL. Jacob has grown into a very special young man! They are to be commended for the time, energy, hard work and all of the love they put into this house. God has brought Dan & Penny together through his love and they share his work with others. This is one of the Best Non Profit Organizations I know of. I pray that someday there could be at least one of these Homes in each State to help children around the country. Children need the Guidance, Values, Lessons and Spiritual Guidance Jacob's House offers. These children will grow up to be very productive adults! Keep up the great work Dan & Penny!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 6, 2014

more

July 6, 2014

Penny and Dan are incredibly kind and loving with all the children. They take them where they are and bring them to the Lord. They teach responsible, kind behavior so that each child helps the others. They develop good character that turns the children into good citizens. Penny and Dan teach the children to believe in themselves, respect themselves and others and not be afraid of the future. They are proof that God still makes miracles happen through love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Clean, Cook, Repair, Mentor Volunteer