Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.965525
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

The JT Townsend Foundation truly changed my son's life. After denial after denial from our Insurance Company, (BCBS), we had given up on getting Caleb the adaptive stroller and adaptive car seat that he needed. You see, My son has Cerebral Palsy. His Dad and I provide all of his daily needs, as he is unable to do anything for himself. You can imagine our frustration when we couldn't get the supplies/equipment that our son so desperately deserves. Enter the JT Townsend Foundation. No questions asked, except, HOW CAN WE HELP and WHAT DO YOU NEED? 3 weeks after applying, we were approved! We were overjoyed! FINALLY our son was going to get 2 very important pieces of equipment we could not have afforded on our own. :( We have been welcomed with open arms into the JT TOWNSEND FAMILY, and we couldn't be happier to be here. We are forever in their debt. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR LOVING OUR SON!
Jessica, Jeff, Jacob and Caleb Finch

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any. :) They go above and BEYOND!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2013

more

March 11, 2013

My son Aijalon is 6 years old, with CP, microcephaly, trach, gtube, etc. He is total care and requires 24hr care. Our issue was that I bought my home which is a townhouse, prior to me even considering adopting my son. Well the problem is all of our bedrooms are upstairs. I'm a single adoptive parent and all of the carrying my son up and down the stairs fall primarily on me. My son is growing and getting bigger and that task is becoming more difficult.

We were referred to the JTTF and I told our story and requested a stairlift to help me with getting my son up and down the stairs. I was contacted immediately by Mrs. Judith and after a couple of conversations the process begun and within a two week time period I was informed we would be "Blessed" with the stairlift and it was installed.

I can't say enough good things about the JTTF foundation, not only what they did for us, but what they have done for so many others in the community. Many others heard my problem and either had or offered any solutions. JTTF stepped right in and became our hero!! If there is ever anything I can ever do to help or spread the word about this wonderful foundation, I will definitely do it without a moments hesitation. They were truly a God send for us!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 12, 2013

more

February 12, 2013

My 3 year old son, Jonas, has Sensory Processing disorder and autistic-like behaviors at times. His occupational therapist suggested a therapeutic listening system to help him with his behavior. She said the JT Townsend Foundation may be able to help with paying for it, as we were stressed at the time for funds getting ready for our daughter's medical trip to Colorado and a possible strike with my husband's work. The JT Townsend Foundation paid for the therapeutic listening headphones, CDs, and other items needed for the therapy. Not only that, but when the board members met later in the month to discuss the cases they had helped, they decided to give us money to help my daughter and I travel to Colorado for her medical treatment. We are so thankful for the JT Townsend Foundation family!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2012

more

October 5, 2012

I have known JT a few years after meeting him briefly at UNF. I heard about him and wanted to meet him since we have similar injuries. My mother heard of his foundation and contacted JT about applying for an FES bike for me, which I never would have been able to afford and insurance didn't cover it. She submitted the application and sure enough JT helped get it for me. This special bike works my muscles with electrodes and is the therapy I need to keep my body moving. I am so, so thankful for the JT foundation and what they did for me. JT and everyone on his staff are amazing! :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2012

more

October 5, 2012

This spring we went to the medical supply store to inquire about cost of a lift for the van; there was no way we could afford it and insurance does not cover those things. Am thinking it was a divine appointment because there was a precious lady there picking up supplies when I told the man we could NOT afford it. She asked about the item and we explained it to her. She was a board member of the JT Townsend Foundation and asked me to fill out an application and submit it. We did and the glide n go lift was installed in our van. J T helps so many folks in so many different ways. And he is so loving and kind; has faced some insurmountable odds himself and yet he does not give up. What an inspiration!! Our Emily had a wheelchair race with him at his house when we had the lift installed. May God continue to bless this awesome Foundation and the folks they help.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They supplied the lift for our van. I am 72 and can no longer lift my daughter in and out of the van.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More folks need to know about J T Townsend Foundation. They are such a joy to work with and make getting much needed help easy. I wish I had lots of funds -- would give it all to this foundation. They do not pay any salaries or expenses of their board members. Tis a truly volunteer foundation and they want to make life easier for those they serve.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

I met a board member in the lobby of the medical supply store when we went to pick up supplies.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

My back does not hurt any more and it is easier getting emily in and out of the car now. She loves to go to church, school, shopping and for recreational activities. The lift makes it possible!

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

I am the mother of twin boys who both have cerebral palsy and are confined to wheelchairs. My one son, Zachary, suffers from severe spasticity and suffers terrible pain. One of the few things that helped Zach was to be in a heated pool. When Zach is in a heated pool he is able to do things with his body that he could never do on land. in addition, the heated water reduces his spasticity and his pain for the whole day. When our pool heater died and we could not afford to fix it, the JT Towsend Foundation was there to help. I heard about the JT Towsend Foundation through my son's physical therapist and the experience with them was wonderful from the very beginning. I wont say from beginning to the end because our relationship with the foundation is ongoing and they will be our friends forever. The help was immediate and given with love. My hope is that more people with special needs will be able to benefit from such a wonderful organization. Thanks JT!!!!!!!! xoxo

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 14, 2012

more

September 14, 2012

I want to thank JT Townsend Foundation for helping my 3 year old son with the addition "Intense Therapy" he will be receiving in October 2012. My little guy has Spina Bifida and uses a wheelchair to get around for long distance and a walker for short distance. This intense therapy will help work weak muscles and make a world of difference in his physical abilities. We feel SO BLESSED that we found JT Townsend Foundation to help us with the cost of this therapy. Insurance will be paying very little if any for this very expense therapy. The whole process was a wonderful experience with JTTF and I look forward to returning a favor one day. Once again Thank you, you have no idea how much this has meant to our family. The Alvarez

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 12, 2012

more

September 12, 2012

Our 4 year old son needed a piece of adaptive equipment to help him with daily personal care needs. Our insurance company would not cover it, calling it "cosmetic." If anyone knows my little boy, you know that his profound physical disability requires a lot of physically supportive equipment none of which is "cosmetic." Thanks to JTTF who got us what we needed with NO hassle. They were prompt and friendly and we are so blessed by their gift that helps our little boy. They have helped so many and I pray that they will continue!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 2, 2012

more

September 2, 2012

I would like to say thank you to JT and his foundation for helping my daughter Makayla with here suspended walker. Our family tried every avenue to get this equipment with no success. Makayla's physical therapist suggested we reach out to JTTF. I was so amazed at the pleasant response from the staff and how helpful they were. But what I love the most is that JT is so involved and such a big heart. He is truly special. People like JT, his family, and his foundation make this world a better place to live in when you have special needs. Thank you for all you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 29, 2012

more

August 29, 2012

My son, Nate, works daily on conquering cerebral palsy's effects on his body. He was in need of a new stander to give him support while weight bearing. We were told of JT's Foundation by Nate's physical therapist so we decided to apply and wait to see what happened. What happened was nothing like typically when asking for help with getting a piece of equipment! They contacted us within 2 hours for further information about what Nate's needs were and went into action. Days later they called and said they had not only purchased the piece of equipment, but that JT, his family and members of JT's Foundation would be bringing the piece to Nate directly! Their compassion for others is heartwarming. I can tell you first hand that once you have been on the receiving end of JT Townsend Foundation, it doesn't stop. You become part of something bigger. JT's spirit and those around him are infectious. We are so thankful for the generosityand compassion they demonstrate to those they meet.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Attend a scheduled event from our calendar and help where needed. Volunteer