Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.965525
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

The JT Townsend Foundation truly changed my son's life. After denial after denial from our Insurance Company, (BCBS), we had given up on getting Caleb the adaptive stroller and adaptive car seat that he needed. You see, My son has Cerebral Palsy. His Dad and I provide all of his daily needs, as he is unable to do anything for himself. You can imagine our frustration when we couldn't get the supplies/equipment that our son so desperately deserves. Enter the JT Townsend Foundation. No questions asked, except, HOW CAN WE HELP and WHAT DO YOU NEED? 3 weeks after applying, we were approved! We were overjoyed! FINALLY our son was going to get 2 very important pieces of equipment we could not have afforded on our own. :( We have been welcomed with open arms into the JT TOWNSEND FAMILY, and we couldn't be happier to be here. We are forever in their debt. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR LOVING OUR SON!
Jessica, Jeff, Jacob and Caleb Finch

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any. :) They go above and BEYOND!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

JT has been my friend since High School and I am so proud of everything that he has done. A heart of gold and now an Angel.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 19, 2013

more

April 19, 2013

During a recent One Spark event I had the pleasure of meeting J.T and his mother as well as his group of volunteers. JT's life and his story has truly been life changing for me. He has given me sucha positive outlook on life. He is sweet, loving , genuine and always seems to have a smile on his face. What he is doing in our community and how he took such a trajedy in his life and turned it around for the good has truly impacted me on so many levels. JT I want to say Thank You to you personally from the bottom of my heart. After meeting you for the first time yesterday here at my place of employment The Everbank Center and literally have not been able to keep my mouth shut about you. You and I are the same age and graduated the same year and I know that in your mind at times you think life should have been different for you but God had different plans, but what you have done has truly been extraordinary and I cant say thank you enough. I have a 4 year old son who was diagnosed with Autism in May 2012, it has truly been challenging and I cannot wait for you to one day meet my little angel! I will be seeing a lot more of you as I feel I have been lead to volunteer where my time is needed. There is no greater joy than to help those in need and that is my passion! Lastly I will say congrats and Enjoy your graduation next week you are so deserving and have worked so hard!!! Much love and respect Sincerly Victoria Distefano

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2013

more

March 11, 2013

My son Aijalon is 6 years old, with CP, microcephaly, trach, gtube, etc. He is total care and requires 24hr care. Our issue was that I bought my home which is a townhouse, prior to me even considering adopting my son. Well the problem is all of our bedrooms are upstairs. I'm a single adoptive parent and all of the carrying my son up and down the stairs fall primarily on me. My son is growing and getting bigger and that task is becoming more difficult.

We were referred to the JTTF and I told our story and requested a stairlift to help me with getting my son up and down the stairs. I was contacted immediately by Mrs. Judith and after a couple of conversations the process begun and within a two week time period I was informed we would be "Blessed" with the stairlift and it was installed.

I can't say enough good things about the JTTF foundation, not only what they did for us, but what they have done for so many others in the community. Many others heard my problem and either had or offered any solutions. JTTF stepped right in and became our hero!! If there is ever anything I can ever do to help or spread the word about this wonderful foundation, I will definitely do it without a moments hesitation. They were truly a God send for us!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 12, 2013

more

February 12, 2013

My 3 year old son, Jonas, has Sensory Processing disorder and autistic-like behaviors at times. His occupational therapist suggested a therapeutic listening system to help him with his behavior. She said the JT Townsend Foundation may be able to help with paying for it, as we were stressed at the time for funds getting ready for our daughter's medical trip to Colorado and a possible strike with my husband's work. The JT Townsend Foundation paid for the therapeutic listening headphones, CDs, and other items needed for the therapy. Not only that, but when the board members met later in the month to discuss the cases they had helped, they decided to give us money to help my daughter and I travel to Colorado for her medical treatment. We are so thankful for the JT Townsend Foundation family!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

A co-worker shared this foundation with me last week as i had been searching for financial assitance for my patients; babies with synostosis, who require custom molded helmets following cranial surgery. Most insurance companies do not cover these helmets and they are quite expensive. When i looked into JT's foundation i was so elated to find out that these precious lives and thier families could be helped. It is such a beautiful thing to give back and JT you are amazing. Thanks for being open to helping those in need. I pray for miracles to continue in your life. Suzanne B.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

I had the pleasure of volunteering with JTTF in December 2011 for a toy drop at Nemours Children's Hospital. It was also the first time I was be to interact with JT and his mother, both very inspiring! It was so uplifting to see sick children have joy from receiving toys and seeing JT give with such a huge heart! The JTTF is doing great things for in Jacksonville and I look forward to working with them in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 5, 2012

more

October 5, 2012

Working as a volunteer for the JT Townsend Foundation (JTTF) since its inception has been an incredible experience. I've witnessed firsthand that when JTTF assists a disabled individual here on the First Coast, they don't view or treat them as a client, but as family. The support that JTTF provides for disabled individuals and their families goes beyond financial and/or equipment support, but largely provides moral support to these families that face struggles that many of us can't even begin to imagine. JT himself is the heart and soul of this foundation and his loving, selfless and caring nature embodies everything that the Foundation is about. While the equipment that JTTF provides for these individuals brings a great sense of relief, it barely seems to match the reassurance of having the support of this extended family behind them. I look forward to continue working with this great non-profit in the future and encourage those looking to make an impact on the First Coast Community to donate or get involved in this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2012

more

October 5, 2012

I have known JT a few years after meeting him briefly at UNF. I heard about him and wanted to meet him since we have similar injuries. My mother heard of his foundation and contacted JT about applying for an FES bike for me, which I never would have been able to afford and insurance didn't cover it. She submitted the application and sure enough JT helped get it for me. This special bike works my muscles with electrodes and is the therapy I need to keep my body moving. I am so, so thankful for the JT foundation and what they did for me. JT and everyone on his staff are amazing! :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2012

more

October 5, 2012

This spring we went to the medical supply store to inquire about cost of a lift for the van; there was no way we could afford it and insurance does not cover those things. Am thinking it was a divine appointment because there was a precious lady there picking up supplies when I told the man we could NOT afford it. She asked about the item and we explained it to her. She was a board member of the JT Townsend Foundation and asked me to fill out an application and submit it. We did and the glide n go lift was installed in our van. J T helps so many folks in so many different ways. And he is so loving and kind; has faced some insurmountable odds himself and yet he does not give up. What an inspiration!! Our Emily had a wheelchair race with him at his house when we had the lift installed. May God continue to bless this awesome Foundation and the folks they help.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They supplied the lift for our van. I am 72 and can no longer lift my daughter in and out of the van.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More folks need to know about J T Townsend Foundation. They are such a joy to work with and make getting much needed help easy. I wish I had lots of funds -- would give it all to this foundation. They do not pay any salaries or expenses of their board members. Tis a truly volunteer foundation and they want to make life easier for those they serve.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

I met a board member in the lobby of the medical supply store when we went to pick up supplies.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

My back does not hurt any more and it is easier getting emily in and out of the car now. She loves to go to church, school, shopping and for recreational activities. The lift makes it possible!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Attend a scheduled event from our calendar and help where needed. Volunteer