Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

This park is a tribute to The Greatest Generation! A visit to this well-kept park is inspiring; a look at history and a fitting tribute to all those who served on Iwo Jima and all WWII veterans. It has an influence on current day veterans as well - a Commissioning of a new Marine Corps Lieutenant happen on one visit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I was deeply moved to find this memorial in Connecticut when I moved here because my uncle was KIA on Iwo Jima. We cannot easily travel to Detroit to visit his grave. My father and sisters and I donated to have a brick installed in his memory, so we now have a nearby memorial site to visit. The inscriptions and engraved pictures on the monuments give a very moving tribute to those who served. The monument park is beautifully manicured and maintained -- this shows the love and care of the volunteers who work on it. The numerous moving ceremonies for veterans help the survivors and their families meet each other and keep the memories alive. I hope it will remain this way into the future, so that our children and grandchildren will understand, too.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I attended an Veteran's event at the Iwo Jima Memorial this year. It was a very moving, well presented program that honored the Iwo Jima veterans and all veterans that have served our nation. This Iwo Jima Memorial in Newington CT is unique and deserves wider recognition and support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

This is a very beautiful, tasteful, and easily accessible memorial. The perpetual flame and the inscribed information on the sculpture are especially appropriate, adding to the emotional impact of the site. My uncle, whom I never met, gave his life at Iwo Jima, and is now memorialized on one of the engraved bricks. We brought our 94-year old father here, and he was deeply moved. Thank you to all who made it possible and who continue to maintain this important historic site.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Iwo Jima Memorial is a very suiting tribute to an important part of our American History. I have attended many of the well organized events here and listened to the moving stories of the brave men who fought in this battle. As this generation is lost, it is vital that we have something to remind us of the brave men who fought for our freedom and that we have a special place to reflect and give thanks.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

This is a great memorial. A lot of information at the site. Beautiful sculpture. Easy to get to, right off the highway.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

My dad was an Iwo Vet and this memorial was important to him. History of WWII is being lost. It is not taught in schools and is not considered "real" to today's kids. This memorial helps history come alive. It is important to the few remaining Iwo Vets and to their families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

We are volunteers because we became friends with the Iwo Jima Survivors 17 years ago. Once you get to know them, you develop a deep respect and admiration for them and all our WWII veterans. This is why we have voluntered for so long and continue to do so. We want to continue on with the legacy of these veterans to ensure they and their sacrifices are never forgotten. If they are forgotten, what is to keep today's Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans from being forgotten 60 years from now? Think about it. Someone once said, “The character of a nation can be measured by the way that nation treats its veterans.” Our Organization's Mission is to Maintain the National Iwo Jima Memorial, pay tribute to and honr the men who fought and died there and to educate others about World War II and the the Battle of Iwo Jima. We do this through fundraisers and events that bring about awareness of the Survivors, monument and park. We hold annual ceremonies for the Flag Raising Anniversary, Memorial Day, Veterans Day, Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day. We organize and put on events such as the Iwo Jima Survivors Victory Ride, Flag Day Open House and VJ Day Candlelight Ceremony of Remembrance. We give organized tours of the park, hold Armed Forces Commissioning Ceremonies and Memorial Ceremonies for Veterans who have passed away. We are presently raising funds by selling engraved bricks which will be placed around the memorial and by selling flag sponsorships for the 100 men who were KIA. Volunteers are always needed. There is so much more we would like to do to honor our Veterans but are short on help to get it done. Come visit the park and email us if you would like to know more. SOSIwoJima@yahoo.com. Thank You.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

We are so lucky to have this beautiful and inspiring memorial in CT. My son is 14 and an avid history fan and we have been there many times, once to witness an Iwo Jima survivor receive the Purple Heart, finally, at almost 90 years of age. The monument itself is an amazing work of art, and there is so much to learn by reading the inscriptions. The work this group does is extremely important and valuable to keep the memory of this battle and the soldiers who fought there alive, and to teach the new generation about our history.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I BROUGHT MY MOM WHO IS 94 (A ROSIE THE RIVETEER) TO VISIT AND SHE LOVED IT!! - WE LOVED SEEING THE HISTORICAL SITE AND ESPECIALLY ENJOYED TALKING TO THE WONDERFUL PATRIOTS WHO LIVED THE HISTORY - IT IS AN OUTSTANDING SLICE OF HISTORY AND AS AN AMERICAN TEACHER I WILL GIVE IT AN A+! GAIL WHITRIGHT

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help inform others about the Iwo Jima Memorial and our Mission by manning an information table. Also help maintain the Monument by helping with projects at the park such as painting, raking or trimming. Edit videos or photos of park events and post them to the internet. Write a review of events at the park. Help setup and take down during park events and ceremonies. Volunteer