Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

I am a Marine who was on active duty from 1980-1984 although this was before my time I think it is the greatest monument of all. The flag that is flying has 48 stars just like the original flag and sa... more

October 23, 2014

This is the best memorial in the country. It was built by the survivors and maintained by donations there is no federal or state money.The park and the events are the best I've ever been to. Even though it's a Marine Memorial it is open to all veterans. God Bless all the donors
Semper Fi!
November 15, 2012

I am a Marine who was on active duty from 1980-1984 although this was before my time I think it is the greatest monument of all. The flag that is flying has 48 stars just like the original flag and sand and stones from IWO JIMA. The most impressive thing is that is was built by the survivors. I visit this monument at least once a month and it brings tears to my eyes every time I'm there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

The Iwo Jima Memorial in Newington is a true gem. Gary Roy, the caretaker, does a wonderful job of maintaining the property for visitors. It is an exact replica of the original, and the only Iwo Jima memorial in the country to have been built entirely by the survivors of The Battle For Iwo Jima. Located adjacent to Rt 9, it is seen by thousands of commuters, every day.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

This is a beautiful monument that is well cared for by a group of dedicated volunteers. I first learned about them by seeing an announcement for an event in the newspaper. To learn that this monument was built by actual Iwo Jima survivors was astonishing! The ongoing care and maintenance, and numerous events held during each year, all done by volunteers and donations is spectacular- although many would assume that such a thing could not happen without government involvement- they are wrong! I suggest visiting the monument during one of their fine events, meet the veterans, hear their stories in their own words, admire their bravery, and most of all take note of how humble they are and what they accomplished after they returned home. Then, plan a return visit, when you are the only person there, examine the monument, read the inscriptions, walk the perimeter and read the plaques on each flag of the 100 Connecticut men who gave their lives on Iwo Jima, sit on a bench and listen to the flag in the wind, be thankful for those men who served, be thankful to live in the greatest country on the face of the earth.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

As the spouse of a Marine, it is very important to share the history and meaning of Marine Service to our country. Recently we had visitors from "across the pond" and this monument was a priority visit during their stay. They were especially impressed and acknowledged the importance of learning this piece of US Marine History.

While the location of this memorial in CT is an "easy visit", we all need to share with visitors from outside our state (and local community). The people who volunteer and give of their time and treasures are true believers in our Country and our Marines.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

It is such a pleasure to drive along Rt. 9 in Newington and see this beautiful monument. People don't have to go all the way to Washington, D.C. to see an authentic memorial to Iwo Jima. This monument is a lasting tribute to the brave Connecticut heroes who lost their lives in this battle. It has actual rocks from the very island they died on. I have an uncle who flew, and another who fought at that battle. This monument has wonderful events on it's grounds several times a year where the public can come and learn of the sacrifices and dedication of those from "the greatest generation" who paid for their freedom with their lives. Connecticut and New England have a true gem right in the center of this state.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

I am the widow of Major General Fred Haynes, author of THE LIONS OF IWO JIMA. He was the
Operations Officer of the 28th Regiment, the unit that raised the flags.

This charity was originally founded by Dr. George Gentile...in memory of the veterans.
We were there for the
original dedication.

The FOUNDATION has done a magnificent job of protecting and extending the legacy
so that these men, and their accomplishments, will never be forgotten forgotten..

The Veterans of World War II died to keep America free. We have the obligation
to keep it this way.

Bonnie Arnold Haynes
bonarn@aol.com
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

The greatness of the Iwo Jima Memorial on the Newington/New Britain line goes beyond the obvious quality of craftsmanship and impeccable maintenance. At the root of this fine memorial's distinction is a dedicated group of selfless volunteers whose entire lives are committed to ensuring the memory of Iwo Jima and those who perished there is justly honored. You can sense the meticulous care and respect from the very moment you enter the grounds. I have had the privilege of getting to know some of these folks, and I am impressed. I also have not hesitated in recommending this group in a professional capacity as a veterans charity worthy of support. This is a small-town, grass roots gem.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I am the daughter of an Iwo Jima survivor. I have so much respect for the greatest generation. This memorial represents all of those men and women. It is a great tribute to them, which they are so deserving. The park is beautifully maintained and is just a wonderful place to visit and reflect on those times. I love that it is the only memorial built by the survivors. The foundation does a great job with ceremonies and honoring those who fought in WWII. I know the Iwo Jima survivors love the recognition. Let us never forget them!
Valerie Parise
Massachusetts
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

The Iwo Jima Memorial is a place I spend a lot of time at with my girlfriend and our dog. At first, I was worried that it would come off as though we were being disrespectful by bringing our dog to the memorial, but I really think the men who served in WW2 and at Iwo Jima were doing their part to ensure that people like us could continue to live feely and enjoy time together without living in fear of a horrific government like the Nazis or the modern terrorists that the world is collectively threatened by. Their bravery, honor and sacrifice truly helped ensure that we could continue to live as free people and I think about it every time I'm there, which is what I feel the purpose of a memorial is. I'm very grateful to those who built and maintain this memorial, the people who served in the battle, and the families of those who served and/or lost a loved one as a result.
April 12, 2014

more

April 12, 2014

As a military veteran I found the memorial to be very moving and well done! However I was distressed to see the American Flag in poor condition being tattered and caught in the line on the flag pole. It is a discredit to the memory of one of the finest hours for our marines and the American flag to be in this condition. Does it need to wait until Memorial Day to be replaced? Remember, not only the residents of Connecticut see this monument but anyone traveling on that section of highway also sees the condition of the national ensign......

Jaquoline Legere, RM1 USN/Ret

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help inform others about the Iwo Jima Memorial and our Mission by manning an information table. Also help maintain the Monument by helping with projects at the park such as painting, raking or trimming. Edit videos or photos of park events and post them to the internet. Write a review of events at the park. Help setup and take down during park events and ceremonies. Volunteer