Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

I am a Marine who was on active duty from 1980-1984 although this was before my time I think it is the greatest monument of all. The flag that is flying has 48 stars just like the original flag and sa... more

October 23, 2014

This is the best memorial in the country. It was built by the survivors and maintained by donations there is no federal or state money.The park and the events are the best I've ever been to. Even though it's a Marine Memorial it is open to all veterans. God Bless all the donors
Semper Fi!
November 15, 2012

I am a Marine who was on active duty from 1980-1984 although this was before my time I think it is the greatest monument of all. The flag that is flying has 48 stars just like the original flag and sand and stones from IWO JIMA. The most impressive thing is that is was built by the survivors. I visit this monument at least once a month and it brings tears to my eyes every time I'm there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

The greatness of the Iwo Jima Memorial on the Newington/New Britain line goes beyond the obvious quality of craftsmanship and impeccable maintenance. At the root of this fine memorial's distinction is a dedicated group of selfless volunteers whose entire lives are committed to ensuring the memory of Iwo Jima and those who perished there is justly honored. You can sense the meticulous care and respect from the very moment you enter the grounds. I have had the privilege of getting to know some of these folks, and I am impressed. I also have not hesitated in recommending this group in a professional capacity as a veterans charity worthy of support. This is a small-town, grass roots gem.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I am the daughter of an Iwo Jima survivor. I have so much respect for the greatest generation. This memorial represents all of those men and women. It is a great tribute to them, which they are so deserving. The park is beautifully maintained and is just a wonderful place to visit and reflect on those times. I love that it is the only memorial built by the survivors. The foundation does a great job with ceremonies and honoring those who fought in WWII. I know the Iwo Jima survivors love the recognition. Let us never forget them!
Valerie Parise
Massachusetts
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

The Iwo Jima Memorial is a place I spend a lot of time at with my girlfriend and our dog. At first, I was worried that it would come off as though we were being disrespectful by bringing our dog to the memorial, but I really think the men who served in WW2 and at Iwo Jima were doing their part to ensure that people like us could continue to live feely and enjoy time together without living in fear of a horrific government like the Nazis or the modern terrorists that the world is collectively threatened by. Their bravery, honor and sacrifice truly helped ensure that we could continue to live as free people and I think about it every time I'm there, which is what I feel the purpose of a memorial is. I'm very grateful to those who built and maintain this memorial, the people who served in the battle, and the families of those who served and/or lost a loved one as a result.
April 12, 2014

more

April 12, 2014

As a military veteran I found the memorial to be very moving and well done! However I was distressed to see the American Flag in poor condition being tattered and caught in the line on the flag pole. It is a discredit to the memory of one of the finest hours for our marines and the American flag to be in this condition. Does it need to wait until Memorial Day to be replaced? Remember, not only the residents of Connecticut see this monument but anyone traveling on that section of highway also sees the condition of the national ensign......

Jaquoline Legere, RM1 USN/Ret

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

This park is a tribute to The Greatest Generation! A visit to this well-kept park is inspiring; a look at history and a fitting tribute to all those who served on Iwo Jima and all WWII veterans. It has an influence on current day veterans as well - a Commissioning of a new Marine Corps Lieutenant happen on one visit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I was deeply moved to find this memorial in Connecticut when I moved here because my uncle was KIA on Iwo Jima. We cannot easily travel to Detroit to visit his grave. My father and sisters and I donated to have a brick installed in his memory, so we now have a nearby memorial site to visit. The inscriptions and engraved pictures on the monuments give a very moving tribute to those who served. The monument park is beautifully manicured and maintained -- this shows the love and care of the volunteers who work on it. The numerous moving ceremonies for veterans help the survivors and their families meet each other and keep the memories alive. I hope it will remain this way into the future, so that our children and grandchildren will understand, too.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I attended an Veteran's event at the Iwo Jima Memorial this year. It was a very moving, well presented program that honored the Iwo Jima veterans and all veterans that have served our nation. This Iwo Jima Memorial in Newington CT is unique and deserves wider recognition and support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

This is a very beautiful, tasteful, and easily accessible memorial. The perpetual flame and the inscribed information on the sculpture are especially appropriate, adding to the emotional impact of the site. My uncle, whom I never met, gave his life at Iwo Jima, and is now memorialized on one of the engraved bricks. We brought our 94-year old father here, and he was deeply moved. Thank you to all who made it possible and who continue to maintain this important historic site.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Iwo Jima Memorial is a very suiting tribute to an important part of our American History. I have attended many of the well organized events here and listened to the moving stories of the brave men who fought in this battle. As this generation is lost, it is vital that we have something to remind us of the brave men who fought for our freedom and that we have a special place to reflect and give thanks.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help inform others about the Iwo Jima Memorial and our Mission by manning an information table. Also help maintain the Monument by helping with projects at the park such as painting, raking or trimming. Edit videos or photos of park events and post them to the internet. Write a review of events at the park. Help setup and take down during park events and ceremonies. Volunteer