Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 27, 2014

more

September 27, 2014

A few years ago we lost "lady" the lab mix we had gotten at the pound. She got older and was in a lot of pain. At 15 we had to put her down. Recently I have been thinking of getting another dog. I wanted to find a smaller, older dog, that would not set off the mild allergies I have. I checked out the Italian Greyhound site and instantly fell in love with Duncan. He is 10 and blind in one eye. When I met him he was everything I had hoped for. He was a snuggle bunny, but still active enough for daily walks. He has brought so much joy into my life. The process was longer than at the Humaine Society with home visits and references. I am so glad they are thorough. The process has been good and they have answered my many questions. I would use them again. They have checked up on us regularly and that has been a comfort to know they care so much about him. Wonderful experience.
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

I have volunteered my time over the years for the Nebraska IG rescue. Throughout the many different ways that I have helped out nothing was more gratifying than fostering and being approved to adopt these wonderful little dogs. Just the fact that I have helped a little with being able to provide a stable loving home for them is humbling.

This organization is directed all by volunteer effort. A big thanks to all of the volunteers that donate their time, money, and love for the breed!
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I've been drawn to the idea of adopting a dog for over a decade. Over the last couple of years I've fallen in love with Italian Greyhounds and have researched their breed and dreamed about "some day." I have spent hours and hours online looking at adoptable IGs in several surrounding states and finally this summer decided the time was right. I filled out the adoption forms and enjoyed our home visit by one of the Lincoln IG rescue volunteers and met an older adoptable IG who we fell in love with. Our family was wanting a younger dog and I figured it'd be several months or maybe even a year before one was available. I was surprised to receive a call after only a couple of weeks saying that a young female was just received at a foster home. I went to visit her the very next day and my heart melted. I couldn't stop thinking about her! The foster family was amazing; very helpful and patient answering my questions and working with my schedule. The foster family took her to a vet who checked her health, cleaned her teeth and spayed her. Within only a week and a half or so of meeting her, we were able to bring our IG home with us to her 'forever home.' She has made the transition very well and we adore her!

My experience with the Lincoln IG Rescue has been extremely positive. The response time to my queries and application as well as the volunteer who conducted the home visit were all excellent. The foster family blew me away! Their care for our little IG as well as another foster dog in their home blessed me and inspired me.
I'm grateful to all the volunteers who make this possible for people like me to receive the benefit of a longed for forever friend!


September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I was at a another show in Lincoln, NE and noticed there was a Dog show next door. I decided to go over and see what was available. I had been wanting to adopt an Itilian Grayhound so wanted to see what was available.
I did find the one I wanted that day and was treated with the utmost
respect. All those at the booth took time to visit with me and answer all my questions and tell me how to get my application in. All thru the process, they were extremely polite and helpful making sure I knew what each step was.
I was so thrilled the day they came for the home inspection and was told they felt I would be a good match for the dog I had chosen.
The day I went to pick my new pet up was one of the best days for me. I was allowed plenty of time to get to know my dog and ask more questions. They provided me wil lots of information, contacts and have since kept in touch with me.
They invite me and my dog to monthy outings which have been fun. This has been a great experience and I highly recommend the Lincoln Rescue group of the Italian Greyhound.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I am very happy with the two Italian Greyhounds that I adopted through the Iowa/Nebraska rescue group. This will be the only rescue that I will get my dogs from in the future as I was so impressed with them.

The information and the photos of the dogs on the website is easy to access and
the adoption process was straightforward with help only a phone call away if needed.

The foster families of both my dogs are still in contact, always interested and able to give advice if there are problems of any kind. With my latest dog, Jack, there was there was the problem of him barking and lunging while we were out walking. It was so bad that I did not want to take him out. Thomas, the foster dad went to all kinds of lengths to find a solution, after talking to Scott at the rescue foundation, the pinch collar seemed to be the answer. Thomas bought a collar and sent it to me (how amazing is that?!) and Jack is a different dog out walking now!!! Thankfully....as it had been quite traumatic before.

I am very appreciative of the help and the thoughtfulness of everyone involved and I love my dogs.
I have told many people about this group and will continue to do so.

Thank you Iowa/Nebraska Italian Greyhound Rescue!!!

Nadine King----and---Vito and Jack

September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

We have previously had 2 IG's. Our second girl was adopted through Iowa/Nebraska Rescue. They were extremely helpful in that process. These people are very dedicated in finding forever homes for these amazing dogs. We are most grateful.!!
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

I saw a Italian Greyhound on petfinder and I was impressed by the completeness of the review process. It make me understand how much they want to connect the right owner with the right dog. The foster parent of our future dog did a site visit and I could see that they really cared about animals. We've had our dog for several months now and we couldn't be happier.
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

I have worked with both Nebraska and Colorado IG rescue. Both are absolutely amazing and they worked together so well. Very impressed with the application process. This is our second IG and I was pleased to find out that the process has not changed and is still very very thorough.
September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I began by adopting and Italian Greyhound. I found the personality phenomenal. After that I began fostering. This led to many, many fosters in my home and the adoption of two fosters. I have also transported IGs as well as other breeds to their "forever" homes. It is such a joy to witness from the people and animals when they meet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish there were more people that could help foster AND adopt these dogs and give them the loving homes they so deserve

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Five years ago I was on pet finders looking for a dog for my neighbor. As I was perusing the site this picture and story jumped out and I had to read about this wonderful Ialian Greyhound with special needs who was up for adoption. At the time I had 3 dogs and was not looking for another. This sweet boy had been lovingly cared for by the Lincoln NE Italian Greyhound Rescue organization. I filled out the application, talked on the phone and within a few weeks welcomed Tee into my home. The adoption was very smooth and I was impressed with the organization . I can't begin to express the love and care this organization gives to all of the I G's that come into its care. The staff and volunteers are very dedicated to educating people about the breed, taking in IGs from numerous states, finding suitable homes for foster care and adoption, and over all very professional.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything to change. It would be great if there were more funds and people to keep the organization viable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers