Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I am fortunate to be from the immediate area of the organizations concentrated geographic focus. Therefore I have seen several of the accomplishments and the impact on the community. When asked to be a member of the board I can trully say I was over joyed and humbled. I look to supporting isles organization for many years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Isles is an extraordinary organization. For more than 30 years Isles has shown steadfast commitment to its mission "to foster more self-reliant families in healthy, sustainable communities". All the while continously and innovatively evolving its services to respond to community needs. Today, Isles offers services that help people build tangible assets like a home, a job, and financial savings -- as well as intangible assets like education, a healthy environment, personal health, community leadership, and hope for the future. The staff of Isles are amazing. And their work is, I believe, deeply important -- now more than ever.


More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 21, 2010

more

January 21, 2010

I have been incredibly impressed with Isles. In everything they do, they are committed not only to helping people get on their feet, but in doing so by fostering in people the skills and resources that are needed to succeed over the long-term. This model of sustainable self-reliance is surprisingly radical, and incredibly effective.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

unbelievably smart, wholeheartedly caring, and fully engaged in the community.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 21, 2010

more

January 21, 2010

Before joining the Isles Board I heard of its great reputation and was very impressed by its long-term committment to the city of Trenton. I have been involved in Isles' Spirit Walk Intiative since its inception. Isles know how to bring out the best in people and institutions. The church I serve Westminster Presbyterian has been encouraged and inspired to particate faithfully in Spirit Walk because Isles had awarded us 3 times. I have witnessed first hand Isles committment to promoting sustainability and their cutting edge role in the expanding Green Economy.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

their "out of the box thinking" and envisioning. Their committment to having a staff that mirrors its diverse urban community.Their commitment to guard each persons dignity and self-worth.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 3, 2009

more

April 3, 2009

Isles works to build self-sufficient families in healthy and sustainble communities in Central New Jersey (mostly Trenton) with integrated programs ranging from green homes initiatives, to community gardens, to financial self-reliance. They are starting one of the largest green collar training programs in the country and are renovating an old mill into a LEED platinum showcase for sustainable urban living and working. It's hard to review one piece of Isles' work since it is so well integrated.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the range of programs, connecting distressed communities with their environment, thinking about green housing, giving young people a chance at employment.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Phenomenal, hard-working

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Complete the renovation of the Johnston Avenue project.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers