Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

There are many non-profits in our area, but few have touched as many as ISLES. Their commitment to Trenton and its residents does in fact build self-reliance...over and over again. ISLES should be on the donation list of every family and business in Mercer County.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 19, 2012

Isles has been a leader for over thirty years in providing pathways to better, more sustainable lives to many under served residents of Trenton. They create gardens, housing and jobs while also providing the necessary guidance to assure that folks will be able to sustain their stability.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I came to ISLES for BPI Energy Auditor and Installer training. I really enjoy and benefit from the knowledgeable instructors, resourceful labs and friendly and helpful staffs. Lessons were presented clearly, class exercises were carefully design to illustrate the essence, and instructors were well-qualified and prepared for the classes. This is a great place to learn and I highly recommend ISLES for anyone looking for energy efficiency training.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I am fortunate to be from the immediate area of the organizations concentrated geographic focus. Therefore I have seen several of the accomplishments and the impact on the community. When asked to be a member of the board I can trully say I was over joyed and humbled. I look to supporting isles organization for many years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 15, 2012

The training facility and the instructors were top notch. I had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend Isles to anyone who would like a chance to start or further a career in energy efficiency.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

It is hard to know who benefits more from an affiliation with Isles -- its clients, staff, board, community, partners, donors, advisors, city? Isles asks tough questions of itself, its clients, collaborators, others. It does not rest on its laurels and it tries not to "count" accomplishments or accept them them as reflective of success. The constant Isles question is "so what?" It is not a disrespectful question, but rather a way of honoring its mission and values, clients and donors, of gauging progress and keeping itself on its toes, humble, transparent, earthy, creative, hard-working and working-smart. Isles did not just choose a well-worded mission -- it lives by it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

The Bonner Center for Civic and Community Engagement at The College of New Jersey has worked with Isles for several years in different capacities. They are able to host a Bonner Team who works closely with their Youth Build Program. We've also worked with their Environment and Community Health program in different activities, from helping them with their garden, to Isles staff providing professional advice for our garden on campus. Just last week, the Marty, the Executive Director of Isles visited the campus and shared his experiences with a group of 30 students or so. Isles is comprehensive and an integral part of Trenton.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 15, 2012

Working with Isles was such a rewarding experience! The organization takes a very holistic approach to community development. They also don't impose on any of the community members, and the community members become involved in the organization by their own choosing, which helps make Isles' change long lasting. One of my favorite aspects of working with Isles was being able to work with the YouthBuild students. The students truly inspired me in their hard work and dedication, and their creativity and kindness. Another strong point about Isles is that it brings a broader awareness to the struggles of Trenton residents. Although Princeton is only 8 miles from the state capital, people so quickly forget the struggles of their neighbors when they don't see them first hand. Isles does a great job at raising awareness to the impact of poverty and food security, among other things, to this broader Mercer County community. I strongly believe in Isles' mission, and think that they have been able to bring about such positive impact on Trenton and its community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 14, 2012

My volunteer experience with Isles provides me with many opportunities to learn about the organization and the community served. Every staff person I have interacted with is committed to the mission, talented, and generous. It is a diverse group of really good people who know how to do their jobs, and that creates a dynamic environment. I feel like the work I do is recognized and that I am helping the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I've known about, watched and participated with Isles over decades and remain deeply impressed by the organization. Isles empowers families in this city through many different programs and in many ways. A single mother of four I worked with became a first-time homeowner through Isles, changing her life and that of her children. I've seen kids who never succeeded at much of anything graduate from YouthBuild with purpose and new confidence. I've visited gardens created out of abandoned stretches and seen what a difference they make to those who farm them. Isles has been a champion of fostering self-reliance in an urban environment where nurturing isn't the norm. Bless them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers