Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
1234.970595
Write A Review
July 31, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 26, 2012

This daycare center means so much to the kids and their families as well as the staff. Everything is done with the well being of all those involved as the central focus for any decision . A donation... more

July 31, 2014

Your donation to Island Friends go straight to the children and community of Roatan that it serves. A visit to the day care center last December was great to meet some staff and see the facility and first hand. Sorry I missed meeting the children as they were off for the holiday. An organization like this really gives the opportunity for the children as well as the staff to gain wonderful skills and knowledge but maybe most important is gaining self-esteem.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see a stable funding base as is the case with so many nonprofits.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 26, 2012

This daycare center means so much to the kids and their families as well as the staff. Everything is done with the well being of all those involved as the central focus for any decision . A donation to this wonderful organization expands the horizon for so many. Please help keep the doors open and donate today!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 20, 2011

What a wonderful opportunity for these young children to have access to things that without this organization would not be available. It is so much more than just a place for these kids to be during the day. As well donations support a wonderful local staff and all contributions go directly to the school so you can know that your donations are making the greatest impact.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a monthly supporter for this nonprofit for almost a couple of years now. I believe in it because it provides small children with a pre-school/day care environment while their parents work. Meals are provided along with education and love and fun.

It is well known that this
type of preschool development provides a child with a huge boost up in preparing them for school later on.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

The Roatan Day Care Center provides a nurturing learning environment for kids who live in an environment devoid of intellectual stimulation as well as oppressive poverty. I take care of sick children ... more

August 18, 2013

Roatan Daycare Center in Coxen Hole (run by the NGO Island Friends) provides a much needed service to families and young children. But this is really more than a "daycare." It provides a stimulating nurturing environment for children who are devoid of such at home. This really gives these kids a jump start to success in school. They learn basic pre-K skills as well as the socialization skills needed for later success. I cannot emphasize how little of this sort of stimulation is available for the average pre-schooler on our island. This is one charity where I know every cent goes directly to the kids!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a big grant and expand this service throughout the island. This is not so much about daycare but rather nurturing young minds at a time when they are most vulnerable yet most receptive!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

The Roatan Day Care Center provides a nurturing learning environment for kids who live in an environment devoid of intellectual stimulation as well as oppressive poverty. I take care of sick children for a living. But I believe that in many ways the long term effect of this day care environment is more important than the medical care. I can treat a fever or sore throat and provide amelioration of some diseases in the short term. But the gift of learning is a life long treasure that we give these kids for the next 60,70, 80 years. The Allreds have carried this project for the last 7 years with devotion and hands on hard work. We all owe them a big congratulations and thank you!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

This center provides a much needed service to children in dire circumstances created by their being part of the results of seaport towns. It gives them someplace other than the street to grow & learn.... more

August 18, 2013

This is an amazing operation ~ amazing. The best part of it is how much the people who need the services for their children participate in creating the environment and providing the work and daily services. The day care center does much much more than get children off the street while parents try to earn a living while ships are in port. It helps maintain that spark so alive in children about the joy of living and learning. The beautiful First Lady Maduro initiated the beginning of the center many years ago and with the help of Islanders and expats it has not just maintained a presence but grown to be an operation that is a model from which others can be developed. The umbrella organization 'Island Friends' is also a model by which community outreach can be performed by focus on the outcome and not the control. LK.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More publicity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

This center provides a much needed service to children in dire circumstances created by their being part of the results of seaport towns. It gives them someplace other than the street to grow & learn. For some of them just a drink of fresh water is a saving grace. The volunteers that created and work in this center include local women as well as expats. The children are beautiful innocents always ready with a smile for those who look their way. This center was began at the behest of Honduran First Lady Maduro. Bless her heart.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

As a long-time executive in the non-profit sector - specifically for organizations that support the improvement of children's health and well-being - I am heartened to support an organization like the Roatan Daycare Center. The founders are passionate, dedicated, and smart - and know that the provision of such a center not only offers support and learning for dozens of children who need it the most, it also offers a safe place for these children while their parents are in pursuit of providing for their families. Such an organization did not exist in Roatan just a few years ago - and I am proud of their continued success.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

My husband and I visited Roatan about five years ago and we were with Unity of Fairfax building beds for some of the children. I visited the child care center and was very impressed with the care and education the children were receiving. This care is so needed so the moms can work to help support the family. We continue to financially help support the Roatan day care center when we can and encourage others to do the same. Stephanie Johnson, Reston Virginia

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

January 25, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
January 25, 2012

Day care for children whose parents need to work outside of the home is important all over the world. And the quality and safety of day care is critical. Island Friends of Roatan is the only day care provider in Roatan and they are non profit. They provide this care for families who need to work and put food on the table who have only survival levels of income to begin with. These children would otherwise be staying at home with unsuitable or unsafe supervision. Giving these little children this kind of safe haven and instruction, activity and attention provides them with social and educational skills that really sets the stage for their future. In many instances it opens their world in a way their own parent cant provide. I love this organization and these children are so precious and loving and excited to be there.

Photos

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Enjoy learning, teaching, interacting and gain personal knowledge with children from 2 to 7 years old. Use your talent and help the children become more aware.Plus get to know 5 Honduran staff members who qualify for the best teachers award on Roatan! Volunteer