Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
1234.970595
Write A Review
October 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 26, 2012

In my two visits to the extraordinary Roatan Daycare Center, I was so impressed with what the staff has created amidst abject poverty. With creativity, vision and loving care, they have made a tremen... more

October 2, 2013

This wonderful asset to Roatan's needy children gets better and better. Not just baby-sitting
toddlers and preschoolers, this haven gives children a huge boost into their future years of
learning. What a difference this will make for these families and the future of Honduras.
The
Allreds are truly the island's angels.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

acquire more space.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2012

In my two visits to the extraordinary Roatan Daycare Center, I was so impressed with what the staff has created amidst abject poverty. With creativity, vision and loving care, they have made a tremendous difference in these children's lives—while continuing to improve the original ramshackle property. Credit goes to the devoted Director and the Island Friends' operation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The island of Roatan in the Western Caribbean is located in a country that has a poor public education system and many people who are unable to get jobs due to their lack of learned skills. The Roatan Day Care and Learning Center prepares young children for a life of learning, giving them the foundation and the desire to seek education as they progress in life. Having a safe and enlightened environment for their children enables the often-single mothers to earn money to support their families. I last visited the cheerful facility last month and I continue to be impressed with the wonderful work being done with these youngsters.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage people to donate to this wonderful facility

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013

more

September 22, 2013

I have lived on the Island of Roatan where the children are served by the Roatan Daycare and Learning Center, which is provided by this non-profit. So many kids and families are helped by this. So many moms are able to work that otherwise would not be able to because they would not have child care. The kids love it and are given good lunches and books to read that they would not get at home. It's such a win-win.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

can't think of a thing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Roatan Daycare Center's impact on the community is one I have watched for the last six years. The daycare educated children going into the public schools are far ahead of even the more affluent family's children. The parents of these children are also learning parenting, educational and social skills plus respect for the educational process. The support groups have learned the importance of early childhood education by seeing how well it works. I have observed that the skill and caring demonstrated with these underserved and families in need have radiated out into the community encouraging many others to do the same. These are all children, families and a surrounding community that might otherwise"fall through the cracks."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012

more

November 25, 2012

It was so wonderful to see all those happy faces in the day care center. The women that teach here are doing such a good job and the children are learning so much more than most day schools. I am sure they will advance faster in school. This is certainly a positive and hopeful facility for Roatan. The care, work and love that went into starting this daycare was enormous. I hope it continues for the sake of the families in Roatan. We were happy to help when we were there in some small way. Fondly, Sally Zamarin

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

The moment you enter Roatan Day Care Center, you feel the warmth of the nurturing local women who work there and the contentment of the tiny souls they care for. It’s really a treat to pay a visit! Working parents pay only $1 per day for one or more children but what they receive in return is priceless – quality education, healthy meals and thoughtful care in a clean, secure environment, all so desperately needed on this small island. Through the generosity of Bill & Judith Allred and a handful of volunteers, I've watched RDCC evolve from a small ramshackle facility to a lively, inviting center for early learning and development. "Mrs. Judy," a part-time island resident and former educator from the US, guides not only the learning path of the children, at the same time she teaches the island staff new skills and encourages them to grow with knowledge too. A brighter future for all!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 14, 2012

As a mother and grandmother, I have observed throughout the years what an impact and difference a quality preschool experience can make in a child's life and future. While first visiting Roatan Island, Honduras in 2007, and returning often since then, I learned of a group of dedicated people who are providing this experience. From a drab and sunless empty store front space much in need of repair, the Roatan Day Care Center has become a clean, colorful, and welcoming place for young island children to come to and learn. This was not done overnight, but gradually, with mostly volunteer labor and donated materials. These children are from extreme economic and educationally disadvantaged families who must work and have no child care available. Parents pay only $1 US per day to have one, or as many in family who want to attend. Local women have been trained as teachers, helpers, and needed kitchen staff under the highly capable direction of island resident Judith Allred, an educator originally from the U.S. She, and others are working tirelessly, and without pay, to offer life changing lessons to the young children of these very poor island people. The center introduces much needed skills in manners, listening, following directions, sharing, and respect for others and their property. When visiting, it is apparent that they have been taught above skills well, and are a happy and loving group full of curiosity and affection. As a guest, I have been overwhelmed with the way I've been greeted. One has to brace oneself for the onslaught of long lasting big hugs and squeezes from a small army of bright smiling faces that seem so sincere! In addition to the important social skills, the children are exposed to story reading, games, the arts such as painting, crafts, music, singing and dancing, and so much more. This quality of preschool education now being offered on this small island is bound to have an influence on its people for generations thanks to this group of hard working people giving so much of their talents. Joan P.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 31, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 26, 2012

This daycare center means so much to the kids and their families as well as the staff. Everything is done with the well being of all those involved as the central focus for any decision . A donation... more

July 31, 2014

Your donation to Island Friends go straight to the children and community of Roatan that it serves. A visit to the day care center last December was great to meet some staff and see the facility and first hand. Sorry I missed meeting the children as they were off for the holiday. An organization like this really gives the opportunity for the children as well as the staff to gain wonderful skills and knowledge but maybe most important is gaining self-esteem.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see a stable funding base as is the case with so many nonprofits.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 26, 2012

This daycare center means so much to the kids and their families as well as the staff. Everything is done with the well being of all those involved as the central focus for any decision . A donation to this wonderful organization expands the horizon for so many. Please help keep the doors open and donate today!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 20, 2011

What a wonderful opportunity for these young children to have access to things that without this organization would not be available. It is so much more than just a place for these kids to be during the day. As well donations support a wonderful local staff and all contributions go directly to the school so you can know that your donations are making the greatest impact.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Enjoy learning, teaching, interacting and gain personal knowledge with children from 2 to 7 years old. Use your talent and help the children become more aware.Plus get to know 5 Honduran staff members who qualify for the best teachers award on Roatan! Volunteer