Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
1234.970595
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

Island Friends Roatan's Day Care center serves low income children with the perfect blend of educational quality and emotional support. Bill and Judy Allred have hired locals, provided extraordinary professional development, and supported their efforts with equipment, books, games and other necessary instructional materials. In addition to this project, Island Friends serves as a clearinghouse for volunteer organizations on the island, and supports many of them with materials and funds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to my organization, partners in Education Roatan!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 3, 2012

I am a teacher in the United States and upon visiting Roatan recently was looking forward to visit the DCC. I arrived unannounced, hoping that it was an OK time to stop by. I was warmly welcomed by ... more

August 28, 2013

For many years the Roatan Daycare and Learning Center has been providing the Roatan community with a reliable, safe, caring, and secure haven. Not only do they provide a piece of mind for parents, it is an environment where daily learning is happening. As a teacher of more than 15 years, I am amazed every time I visit the Center. The children are always engaged in something. It might be a lesson that is being taught, an art project, or even just eating their lunch politely. The social and leaning skills that these children are acquiring are critical to their learning years to come. I can't help but think how lucky the children are that have the opportunity to attend the RDLC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 3, 2012

I am a teacher in the United States and upon visiting Roatan recently was looking forward to visit the DCC. I arrived unannounced, hoping that it was an OK time to stop by. I was warmly welcomed by one of the staff members and shown around. I was so overwhelmed at the serenity I felt --all the kids were quietly sitting in a circle playing some sort of Bingo. They stopped and turned their heads and gave me a HUGE smile. It was obvious that they were happy and were proud to show me their cooperation and teamwork. It literally brought tears to my eyes! What a special gift these children have been given. I had visited the DCC in the past and the positive changes in the behavior of these kids was absolutely amazing! I sure hope that the success of this wonderful establishment continues. Great work to all of you involved! Liz B.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 22, 2012

Where do I start? A couple of caring souls, big hope, some money and unending supporters began providing care to local children some years ago. That 'little engine that could' is still alive and well,... more

August 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Roatan Daycare Center has served local families for many years now. It has been a consistant and persistent vehicle for working parents who are needing a loving and educational environment for their children. The staff and directors all work very hard and the atmosphere is always bright and positive. I have the utmost respect for all involved in this valuable Roatan resource!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide a consistent income flow for needed operating expenses.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012

Where do I start? A couple of caring souls, big hope, some money and unending supporters began providing care to local children some years ago. That 'little engine that could' is still alive and well, providing love, safety, food, education and a life-long example of how a few can help the many. Parents can work to provide a better life for their family while their children are nurtured and educated on a daily basis in a bright and enriching environment. The great staff and the big hearts of people behind the scenes continue to keep the doors open, although it is a constant struggle financially. I have great respect for them!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

Being a teacher myself for many years, I truly enjoy my visits to the Day Care Center and am always so struck by the calmness and organization that goes on. The children are with their specific teachers and are fully engaged in the learning process. I always need to take a second look and remind myself these are young children that are behaving so well and showing great behavior and skills far superior than a lot of the older kids that I work with.

The accomplishments and social interactions that are learned at the Day Care Center are exactly what is needed for children to be confident and flourish in the learning years to come. Thanks to you all that are helping this process be so successful in so many ways. You're doing a fantastic job!

Elizabeth Anne

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

August 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

The Roatan Day Care Center provides a nurturing learning environment for kids who live in an environment devoid of intellectual stimulation as well as oppressive poverty. I take care of sick children ... more

August 18, 2013

Roatan Daycare Center in Coxen Hole (run by the NGO Island Friends) provides a much needed service to families and young children. But this is really more than a "daycare." It provides a stimulating nurturing environment for children who are devoid of such at home. This really gives these kids a jump start to success in school. They learn basic pre-K skills as well as the socialization skills needed for later success. I cannot emphasize how little of this sort of stimulation is available for the average pre-schooler on our island. This is one charity where I know every cent goes directly to the kids!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a big grant and expand this service throughout the island. This is not so much about daycare but rather nurturing young minds at a time when they are most vulnerable yet most receptive!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

The Roatan Day Care Center provides a nurturing learning environment for kids who live in an environment devoid of intellectual stimulation as well as oppressive poverty. I take care of sick children for a living. But I believe that in many ways the long term effect of this day care environment is more important than the medical care. I can treat a fever or sore throat and provide amelioration of some diseases in the short term. But the gift of learning is a life long treasure that we give these kids for the next 60,70, 80 years. The Allreds have carried this project for the last 7 years with devotion and hands on hard work. We all owe them a big congratulations and thank you!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

As a art teacher for many years I always saw the need for education to begin early to stimulate the creative and intellectual minds of young children. The Children's Center has done wonderful work to make an environment where students are stimulated and feel free to be creative. Cynthia Parchment

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Enjoy learning, teaching, interacting and gain personal knowledge with children from 2 to 7 years old. Use your talent and help the children become more aware.Plus get to know 5 Honduran staff members who qualify for the best teachers award on Roatan! Volunteer