Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.96975
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 27, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

The Roatan Daycare Center is an amazing organization. It provides local children ( from underprivileged homes) with a safe and loving place to learn and as their parents earn a living. I have had the ... more

October 27, 2013

I've had the opportunity to work with the Roatan Daycare over the last 2 1/2 years. I've watched how the children have been able to learn and grow in this time. I've been privileged to provide these children with the opportunity to learn English. Its been an amazing experience to watch these children learn the Spanish and English are the primary languages spoken on Roatan, which is an island where almost all employment is linked to the tourism industry. The Roatan Daycare is truly providing these children with a bright future.

Mrs Judy and Mrs Linda both truly want the best for these children. The have poured their hearts and souls into the daycare centre. They have hand picked the instructors who work together to create a healthy and educational environment for the children. The donations received provide the children with learning ressorces that they wouldn't otherwise be able to come in contact with.

I feel honored to have had the opportunity to partake in these children's learning process and helping them build a strong love for learning. These children will grow to be strong members of their community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

The Roatan Daycare Center is an amazing organization. It provides local children ( from underprivileged homes) with a safe and loving place to learn and as their parents earn a living. I have had the privilege of working with this wonderful group of ladies for over a year now. The Daycare has 3 teachers, a teacher's assistant and a cook, all of these ladies are locals. They have reformed their parenting and teaching skills over the years greatly in part to our director Mrs. Judy's leadership.Over the last 14 months I have seen how this organization has benefited not only the children but the teachers as well. Mrs Judy is constantly providing us with new learning resources to provide us with new skills to ensure we provide the children with the best possible care and early childhood education. Not only do we teach the children how to be stronger, kinder and more understanding but in turn we teach each other the same. I have grown as a person and am truly grateful for this continuing experience. The Daycare provides the children with socialization skills that will help them as they grow, enter school and eventually the workforce. I have been providing the children with English Classes as we wish to provide these children with every opportunity possible to be strong students and residents of their community . I have seen the positive changes in these children. We have children who a year ago were shy and timid and who are now excelling in both English and Spanish. We have children who are overcoming behavioral problems greatly due to the consistent and caring environment in which they learn.They Daycare Center is not only a wonderful organization but it is a needed organization. These children need the care provided by myself and my fellow teachers. We work hard to provide the children with quality care, quality education and lots of love. Please help us continue this much needed help!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I have seen what a wonderful opportunity the Day Care is for the children and the parents of Roatan. It has positivly benefitted the Island community. When I was unable to give my financial support, I decided to give my baking expertise by maiking cupcakes for the children and staff once a month. I was very impressed every month with the teachings and loving care that the children were getting.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was introduced to the ROATAN DAYCARE & LEARNING CENTER about 2 years ago through my good friend, Linda Hin. She gave me a tour of the facility and I got to meet the teachers and children. I was so sad to see the deplorable condition of the building itself, however, I was impressed with the gallant efforts of the community to make it better...i.e. paint, pictures, plaster, etc. I decided to become a volunteer...it was one of the most rewarding feelings! After just one week I became acutely aware of their need for funding and volunteers. I am SO impressed with the program...ROATAN DAYCARE is not your typical daycare....it IS a total learning center! It allows for parents who could not afford the typical daycare to be able to enroll their children and go to work to earn a living. The children are taught reading, math, art, georgraphy, history. Including english language. I was amazed to see 3 and four year olds adding and subtracting 3 digits! The children are fed, bathed and those that attend regular afternoon school, are sent off with clean, pressed uniforms. The teachers and volunteers are incredibly dedicated and the children are eager to learn! I view the center as an early learning experience, giving the families a way out of poverty and giving the children a solid foundation to make a change for the Island. I will continue to volunteer whenever I am on the Island and will continue to do whatever I can do to raise money for the center. Roatan is so fortunate to have Judy Allred, who started the daycare, and Linda Hin who oversees the operations. This is one center that is so deserving of monies to keep it running.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ultimately, build a brand new much larger center to accommodate more children and be able to hire more teachers. But on a smaller scale, air conditioners, more pay for the teachers, a nicer dining area and a play area that the children could go outside.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Enjoy learning, teaching, interacting and gain personal knowledge with children from 2 to 7 years old. Use your talent and help the children become more aware.Plus get to know 5 Honduran staff members who qualify for the best teachers award on Roatan! Volunteer