Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.96975
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was introduced to the ROATAN DAYCARE & LEARNING CENTER about 2 years ago through my good friend, Linda Hin. She gave me a tour of the facility and I got to meet the teachers and children. I was so sad to see the deplorable condition of the building itself, however, I was impressed with the gallant efforts of the community to make it better...i.e. paint, pictures, plaster, etc. I decided to become a volunteer...it was one of the most rewarding feelings! After just one week I became acutely aware of their need for funding and volunteers. I am SO impressed with the program...ROATAN DAYCARE is not your typical daycare....it IS a total learning center! It allows for parents who could not afford the typical daycare to be able to enroll their children and go to work to earn a living. The children are taught reading, math, art, georgraphy, history. Including english language. I was amazed to see 3 and four year olds adding and subtracting 3 digits! The children are fed, bathed and those that attend regular afternoon school, are sent off with clean, pressed uniforms. The teachers and volunteers are incredibly dedicated and the children are eager to learn! I view the center as an early learning experience, giving the families a way out of poverty and giving the children a solid foundation to make a change for the Island. I will continue to volunteer whenever I am on the Island and will continue to do whatever I can do to raise money for the center. Roatan is so fortunate to have Judy Allred, who started the daycare, and Linda Hin who oversees the operations. This is one center that is so deserving of monies to keep it running.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ultimately, build a brand new much larger center to accommodate more children and be able to hire more teachers. But on a smaller scale, air conditioners, more pay for the teachers, a nicer dining area and a play area that the children could go outside.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

The Roatan Daycare Center contributes in many ways to the community. It facilitates families with young children, that cannot afford a babysitter to go out and make a living. It provides a great and safe, home away from home, where children are stimulated to develop their social, creative, language and learning skills. The center has been blessed with an incredibly dedicated and caring staff that make the Daycare what it is under the stimulating leadership of Mrs. Judy Allred. It is wonderfully encouraging to see the continued development of both the children as well as the staff and the great start these children get for their future development and education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to have more Daycare Centers like this one so we could help more children get a good start in life and have more families being able to work knowing that their children are well being looked after and having a good time too.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

The Roatan Day Care Center provides a nurturing learning environment for kids who live in an environment devoid of intellectual stimulation as well as oppressive poverty. I take care of sick children ... more

August 18, 2013

Roatan Daycare Center in Coxen Hole (run by the NGO Island Friends) provides a much needed service to families and young children. But this is really more than a "daycare." It provides a stimulating nurturing environment for children who are devoid of such at home. This really gives these kids a jump start to success in school. They learn basic pre-K skills as well as the socialization skills needed for later success. I cannot emphasize how little of this sort of stimulation is available for the average pre-schooler on our island. This is one charity where I know every cent goes directly to the kids!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a big grant and expand this service throughout the island. This is not so much about daycare but rather nurturing young minds at a time when they are most vulnerable yet most receptive!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

The Roatan Day Care Center provides a nurturing learning environment for kids who live in an environment devoid of intellectual stimulation as well as oppressive poverty. I take care of sick children for a living. But I believe that in many ways the long term effect of this day care environment is more important than the medical care. I can treat a fever or sore throat and provide amelioration of some diseases in the short term. But the gift of learning is a life long treasure that we give these kids for the next 60,70, 80 years. The Allreds have carried this project for the last 7 years with devotion and hands on hard work. We all owe them a big congratulations and thank you!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

This center provides a much needed service to children in dire circumstances created by their being part of the results of seaport towns. It gives them someplace other than the street to grow & learn.... more

August 18, 2013

This is an amazing operation ~ amazing. The best part of it is how much the people who need the services for their children participate in creating the environment and providing the work and daily services. The day care center does much much more than get children off the street while parents try to earn a living while ships are in port. It helps maintain that spark so alive in children about the joy of living and learning. The beautiful First Lady Maduro initiated the beginning of the center many years ago and with the help of Islanders and expats it has not just maintained a presence but grown to be an operation that is a model from which others can be developed. The umbrella organization 'Island Friends' is also a model by which community outreach can be performed by focus on the outcome and not the control. LK.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More publicity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

This center provides a much needed service to children in dire circumstances created by their being part of the results of seaport towns. It gives them someplace other than the street to grow & learn. For some of them just a drink of fresh water is a saving grace. The volunteers that created and work in this center include local women as well as expats. The children are beautiful innocents always ready with a smile for those who look their way. This center was began at the behest of Honduran First Lady Maduro. Bless her heart.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

As a member of the board, I can never say enough what a joy it is to be able to direct the staff of the Roatan Daycare Center. What a pleasure to see these Honduran young woman learn skills that will enrich their confidence and their knowledge. A non-profit is run just like a regular business except for not having a profit which is reinvested or taken. So our teachers not only learn teaching skills but have become strong in running a business. These jobs mean the world to them as the unemployment rate on Roatan is around 40%. I've never seen a daycare run with such efficiency, while all the while, the children are being treated with such love. Their efforts have affected the surrounding community in numerous and positive ways.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

As a long-time executive in the non-profit sector - specifically for organizations that support the improvement of children's health and well-being - I am heartened to support an organization like the Roatan Daycare Center. The founders are passionate, dedicated, and smart - and know that the provision of such a center not only offers support and learning for dozens of children who need it the most, it also offers a safe place for these children while their parents are in pursuit of providing for their families. Such an organization did not exist in Roatan just a few years ago - and I am proud of their continued success.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Roatan Daycare Center's impact on the community is one I have watched for the last six years. The daycare educated children going into the public schools are far ahead of even the more affluent family's children. The parents of these children are also learning parenting, educational and social skills plus respect for the educational process. The support groups have learned the importance of early childhood education by seeing how well it works. I have observed that the skill and caring demonstrated with these underserved and families in need have radiated out into the community encouraging many others to do the same. These are all children, families and a surrounding community that might otherwise"fall through the cracks."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

My husband and I visited Roatan about five years ago and we were with Unity of Fairfax building beds for some of the children. I visited the child care center and was very impressed with the care and education the children were receiving. This care is so needed so the moms can work to help support the family. We continue to financially help support the Roatan day care center when we can and encourage others to do the same. Stephanie Johnson, Reston Virginia

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

November 26, 2012

more

Review from JustGive
1 previous review
December 20, 2011

What a wonderful opportunity for these young children to have access to things that without this organization would not be available. It is so much more than just a place for these kids to be during ... more

November 26, 2012

This daycare center means so much to the kids and their families as well as the staff. Everything is done with the well being of all those involved as the central focus for any decision . A donation to this wonderful organization expands the horizon for so many. Please help keep the doors open and donate today!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 20, 2011

What a wonderful opportunity for these young children to have access to things that without this organization would not be available. It is so much more than just a place for these kids to be during the day. As well donations support a wonderful local staff and all contributions go directly to the school so you can know that your donations are making the greatest impact.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

Being a teacher myself for many years, I truly enjoy my visits to the Day Care Center and am always so struck by the calmness and organization that goes on. The children are with their specific teachers and are fully engaged in the learning process. I always need to take a second look and remind myself these are young children that are behaving so well and showing great behavior and skills far superior than a lot of the older kids that I work with.

The accomplishments and social interactions that are learned at the Day Care Center are exactly what is needed for children to be confident and flourish in the learning years to come. Thanks to you all that are helping this process be so successful in so many ways. You're doing a fantastic job!

Elizabeth Anne

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Enjoy learning, teaching, interacting and gain personal knowledge with children from 2 to 7 years old. Use your talent and help the children become more aware.Plus get to know 5 Honduran staff members who qualify for the best teachers award on Roatan! Volunteer