Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.96975
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 27, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

The Roatan Daycare Center is an amazing organization. It provides local children ( from underprivileged homes) with a safe and loving place to learn and as their parents earn a living. I have had the ... more

October 27, 2013

I've had the opportunity to work with the Roatan Daycare over the last 2 1/2 years. I've watched how the children have been able to learn and grow in this time. I've been privileged to provide these children with the opportunity to learn English. Its been an amazing experience to watch these children learn the Spanish and English are the primary languages spoken on Roatan, which is an island where almost all employment is linked to the tourism industry. The Roatan Daycare is truly providing these children with a bright future.

Mrs Judy and Mrs Linda both truly want the best for these children. The have poured their hearts and souls into the daycare centre. They have hand picked the instructors who work together to create a healthy and educational environment for the children. The donations received provide the children with learning ressorces that they wouldn't otherwise be able to come in contact with.

I feel honored to have had the opportunity to partake in these children's learning process and helping them build a strong love for learning. These children will grow to be strong members of their community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

The Roatan Daycare Center is an amazing organization. It provides local children ( from underprivileged homes) with a safe and loving place to learn and as their parents earn a living. I have had the privilege of working with this wonderful group of ladies for over a year now. The Daycare has 3 teachers, a teacher's assistant and a cook, all of these ladies are locals. They have reformed their parenting and teaching skills over the years greatly in part to our director Mrs. Judy's leadership.Over the last 14 months I have seen how this organization has benefited not only the children but the teachers as well. Mrs Judy is constantly providing us with new learning resources to provide us with new skills to ensure we provide the children with the best possible care and early childhood education. Not only do we teach the children how to be stronger, kinder and more understanding but in turn we teach each other the same. I have grown as a person and am truly grateful for this continuing experience. The Daycare provides the children with socialization skills that will help them as they grow, enter school and eventually the workforce. I have been providing the children with English Classes as we wish to provide these children with every opportunity possible to be strong students and residents of their community . I have seen the positive changes in these children. We have children who a year ago were shy and timid and who are now excelling in both English and Spanish. We have children who are overcoming behavioral problems greatly due to the consistent and caring environment in which they learn.They Daycare Center is not only a wonderful organization but it is a needed organization. These children need the care provided by myself and my fellow teachers. We work hard to provide the children with quality care, quality education and lots of love. Please help us continue this much needed help!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 26, 2012

In my two visits to the extraordinary Roatan Daycare Center, I was so impressed with what the staff has created amidst abject poverty. With creativity, vision and loving care, they have made a tremen... more

October 2, 2013

This wonderful asset to Roatan's needy children gets better and better. Not just baby-sitting
toddlers and preschoolers, this haven gives children a huge boost into their future years of
learning. What a difference this will make for these families and the future of Honduras.
The
Allreds are truly the island's angels.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

acquire more space.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2012

In my two visits to the extraordinary Roatan Daycare Center, I was so impressed with what the staff has created amidst abject poverty. With creativity, vision and loving care, they have made a tremendous difference in these children's lives—while continuing to improve the original ramshackle property. Credit goes to the devoted Director and the Island Friends' operation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

Island Friends Roatan's Day Care center serves low income children with the perfect blend of educational quality and emotional support. Bill and Judy Allred have hired locals, provided extraordinary professional development, and supported their efforts with equipment, books, games and other necessary instructional materials. In addition to this project, Island Friends serves as a clearinghouse for volunteer organizations on the island, and supports many of them with materials and funds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to my organization, partners in Education Roatan!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I have seen what a wonderful opportunity the Day Care is for the children and the parents of Roatan. It has positivly benefitted the Island community. When I was unable to give my financial support, I decided to give my baking expertise by maiking cupcakes for the children and staff once a month. I was very impressed every month with the teachings and loving care that the children were getting.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The island of Roatan in the Western Caribbean is located in a country that has a poor public education system and many people who are unable to get jobs due to their lack of learned skills. The Roatan Day Care and Learning Center prepares young children for a life of learning, giving them the foundation and the desire to seek education as they progress in life. Having a safe and enlightened environment for their children enables the often-single mothers to earn money to support their families. I last visited the cheerful facility last month and I continue to be impressed with the wonderful work being done with these youngsters.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage people to donate to this wonderful facility

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013

more

September 22, 2013

I have lived on the Island of Roatan where the children are served by the Roatan Daycare and Learning Center, which is provided by this non-profit. So many kids and families are helped by this. So many moms are able to work that otherwise would not be able to because they would not have child care. The kids love it and are given good lunches and books to read that they would not get at home. It's such a win-win.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

can't think of a thing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a monthly supporter for this nonprofit for almost a couple of years now. I believe in it because it provides small children with a pre-school/day care environment while their parents work. Meals are provided along with education and love and fun.

It is well known that this
type of preschool development provides a child with a huge boost up in preparing them for school later on.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 3, 2012

I am a teacher in the United States and upon visiting Roatan recently was looking forward to visit the DCC. I arrived unannounced, hoping that it was an OK time to stop by. I was warmly welcomed by ... more

August 28, 2013

For many years the Roatan Daycare and Learning Center has been providing the Roatan community with a reliable, safe, caring, and secure haven. Not only do they provide a piece of mind for parents, it is an environment where daily learning is happening. As a teacher of more than 15 years, I am amazed every time I visit the Center. The children are always engaged in something. It might be a lesson that is being taught, an art project, or even just eating their lunch politely. The social and leaning skills that these children are acquiring are critical to their learning years to come. I can't help but think how lucky the children are that have the opportunity to attend the RDLC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 3, 2012

I am a teacher in the United States and upon visiting Roatan recently was looking forward to visit the DCC. I arrived unannounced, hoping that it was an OK time to stop by. I was warmly welcomed by one of the staff members and shown around. I was so overwhelmed at the serenity I felt --all the kids were quietly sitting in a circle playing some sort of Bingo. They stopped and turned their heads and gave me a HUGE smile. It was obvious that they were happy and were proud to show me their cooperation and teamwork. It literally brought tears to my eyes! What a special gift these children have been given. I had visited the DCC in the past and the positive changes in the behavior of these kids was absolutely amazing! I sure hope that the success of this wonderful establishment continues. Great work to all of you involved! Liz B.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 22, 2012

Where do I start? A couple of caring souls, big hope, some money and unending supporters began providing care to local children some years ago. That 'little engine that could' is still alive and well,... more

August 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Roatan Daycare Center has served local families for many years now. It has been a consistant and persistent vehicle for working parents who are needing a loving and educational environment for their children. The staff and directors all work very hard and the atmosphere is always bright and positive. I have the utmost respect for all involved in this valuable Roatan resource!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide a consistent income flow for needed operating expenses.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012

Where do I start? A couple of caring souls, big hope, some money and unending supporters began providing care to local children some years ago. That 'little engine that could' is still alive and well, providing love, safety, food, education and a life-long example of how a few can help the many. Parents can work to provide a better life for their family while their children are nurtured and educated on a daily basis in a bright and enriching environment. The great staff and the big hearts of people behind the scenes continue to keep the doors open, although it is a constant struggle financially. I have great respect for them!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Here on Roatan the need is great. Roatan Island Friends and Roatan Daycare Center are two organizations that provide excellent assistance to the people who otherwise would not have it. The founders and people involved in creating, running, supporting, fund raising, and improving these two groups are wise, compassionate and selfless volunteers who for years have continued to provide a safe and holistic day care center and an organization that promotes and brings together the many Non-profit and NGO organizations so they can be centralized, work together, raise funding, and have donations and volunteers coordinated so they are more effective.
I highly recommend both both of these choices as a perfect place to volunteer time, talent, or funding

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more ways to raise awareness; educate Rotary Clubs and other charitable organizations about the crucial needs and therefore increase funding so more good works can be accomplished.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Enjoy learning, teaching, interacting and gain personal knowledge with children from 2 to 7 years old. Use your talent and help the children become more aware.Plus get to know 5 Honduran staff members who qualify for the best teachers award on Roatan! Volunteer