Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
223 Reviews
1234.717495
Write A Review
October 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was a regular donor to IRUSA...not anymore.
After reading some of the comments on this website and Googled reviews and info about IRUSA, I have concluded they are not the organization for me.
Clearly, form their responses to negative reviews they have not been forthcoming to donor's
concerns and questions and in my opinion they are hiding their shortcomings.
September 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have just read the long editorial written by "ButterFlyWings" presumably of IRUSA responding to negative reviews posted here by myself and other readers/donors.

I find the editorial, In my opinion, full of fluff and lacks substance. The writer/editor goes on about studies and research
justifying higher overhead, expenses and I am assuming cash reserve, but never reference the few very successful and may I add noble charitable organizations that refuses to follow the example of majority of corrupt, deceiving money hungry organizations that have been exposed over and over. The editor never directly answer any of the questions and concerns I and few others had posted about their massive accounting fraud and the deception they have committed for years until exposed by the media, but rather writes about some non functioning computers and some old office furniture and garbage like that. Tell that to your donors and see how far it will get you.


My wife and I used to be donors and have giving IRUSA tens of thousands, we were deceived when told that 93% of our donation reaches the needy. It was a lie and we are very angry about it.


IRUSA need to directly answer the following and not beat around the bushes with long editorials:


- What percentage of donation reaches the needy?

- What percentage is saved for cash reserve and why?

- Why are they keeping well over $42 million in cash reserve when there are so many hungry people in the world?

- What percentage is used for admin fee and expenses?

- How much is their CEO salary and benefits?

- Did IRUSA overstate the value of donated medicine and why?

- Why wouldn't they answer donors call or return calls when explanation to the so called accounting fraud is demanded.


And finally would they admit and apologize for past mistakes?


Until IRUSA answers the above, anything they writes is a fluff.
August 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

They have been engaged in massive accounting fraud and have deceived donors for years. They have actually changed CPA's every year to avoid getting caught, and in the past at least 2 CPA firms have refused to sign off on their financial statements and disengaged from them. They overstated the value of drugs received by them in "donations" (gifts in kind), showing receipts of $140,000,000 when the actual market value of the drugs was about $500,000. Between 2007 and 2009, they were advised repeatedly by their former controller to change their accounting standards, and they refused to do so. Read about the scandal at http://www.forbes.com/sites/williampbarrett/2011/11/04/scandal-erupts-over-inflated-drug-values-used-by-charities/

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be honest with my donors, telling them how much is actually going to the needy.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 15, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

What's the point of having $41million in cash reserve when there are starving children around the world? I tend to agree with the reviewer in this forum that Islamic Relief is keeping it to ensure their salaries stays in place when donations are low. I am sure donors such as myself would not approve of such thing if they become aware of it. Why don't Islamic Relief publish this fact in their annual brochure or newsletter they normally send to their donors, tell the truth or give a valid reason why such large amount should be reserved. If its for a rainy day then there is no better rainy days than now. Donors wants to see their donations reach the needy now, not later.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not keep large cash reserve for nothing...lower overhead, be more transparent as where every penny is going and not twist the truth especially with accounting.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 15, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Just because XYZ charity's CEO pays himself half a million $ doesn't mean Islamic Relief CEO should do the same. Why are you (IRUSA) emulating morally corrupt CEO's instead of the good ones? Take for example JAL (Japan Airline) a well respected billion of dollars for profit corporation...its CEO makes only about $90K a year. Same goes for most Japanese corporation CEOs if not all. Just because Islamic Relief is based in US does not mean its CEO should pay himself high salary. You need to set an example for the rest of society.

I am angry and not sure if I want to donate anymore.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Reorganize and consolidate operation with other Islamic charities for bigger and lower overhead. No high salary CEO.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 15, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

$250K a year salary for a charitable organization CEO is outrageous!

Are you running a for profit business or a charity? I don't see the justification for such high salary. Donors are trusting you with their zakat, sadaqua and so on and you are paying yourself high salary...fear God.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure everyone is volunteering their service or paid reasonable wage for their services..This is a Charity not a business.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have been reading some reviews here recently and found out that Islamic Relief CEO annual compensation is about $250K!!! that seems excessive for a charitable organization.

Please do not tell me this is in line with other CEO's compensation, we all know that most are corrupt and are
doing it to benefit themselves not the needy.

I expect Islamic Relief director or CEO (if he prefers this western title) to follow the example of prophet Mohammed and the four righteous caliphs (Rashidun) instead of following the example of greedy CEOs.

I want to see most of my donation money go to the needy. I will have to rethink about sending in my donation if this is going to continue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

lower CEO compensation to a modest level.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 13, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

It seemed that every time there is a negative review about IRUSA on this website, there is a sudden surge of good reviews (presumably from IRUSA) to mask the bad review. Let me explain to everyone that I used to donate to IRUSA for many years, and I considered myself a major contributor since my wife and I have giving them tens of thousands of dollars. We were convinced it was a great organization since they have promoted themselves as a low overhead and 93% of all donations goes to the needy. It was only recently we've discovered that 93% were an accounting trick to make the organization look very efficient and to convince people to give out more. The story was first reported by Forbes magazine some two years ago or so and I started doing my own research by looking at IRUSA tax forms filed with the United States Internal Revenue Services. For those that do not know it, tax filings are public information and anyone can look at and examine anytime, so I am not making up anything here, I am just reporting what is on IRUSA taxes.

I did my own calculation and have concluded (as did Forbes magazine earlier) that IRUSA were really cooking the books to make their overhead look low. Reality is the opposite, and according to my own calculation only about 60-64% of donations end up going to the needy in a form of wire transfer to third world countries. Once its wired to destination X no one really know for sure how much is really going to the needy as there may be other fees deducted such as logistics and who knows what else. But I will give them the benefit of the doubt and assume that it is still between 60-64%, a far cry from the 93% they used to advertise.

The way IRUSA managed to fool everyone is by obtaining cheap medicine in the form of (antibiotics and/or anti diarrhea pills) that literally cost pennies but they have inflated their values hundreds if not thousands of times in their accounting books. This trick is used by several dishonest charitable organizations to make them look more efficient. I find it hard to believe that IRUSA did not know about it since it went on for years and had paid someone well over $500,000 a year in consultant fees to manage such a trick.

Since the trick was first discovered and reported by Forbes magazine, Charity Navigator has dropped IRUSA rating from 4 stars to low 3 stars and because the Internal Revenue Services is cracking down on charitable organization for using such accounting trick, IRUSA stopped inflating medicine prices and consequently the advertising of its 93% efficiency thing. That's when I and few others became alarmed and did our own investigation. I have since stopped donating to them and have called their office several times to speak to someone to find out the truth and giving them a chance to explain what's been reported, but I only got the runaround. I would love to have a transparent and a meaningful dialogue with their CEO anytime.

IRUSA need to come clean and admit past mistakes. They have managed to fool donors for years but it finally caught up with them. I am taking this matter very personally and feel my money did not reach the needy as IRUSA promised. They have failed me as well as others. I will be watching them and will be writing about them periodically. They do not realize the power of the internet, twitter and the persistence of people such as myself in finding out the truth. IRUSA can keep masking all the negative reviews they wish but they are going to be all over the internet unless they come clean and apologize for past shortcomings.

IRUSA need to explain why its CEO is being paid about $250,000 in annual salary and benefits while hundreds of others in the fields are getting nothing. It seems that only the few and privileged at IRUSA office are getting paid really well and the rest in third world countries are considered volunteers and get nothing. When you work for a charity you are supposed to do it from the heart not to benefit your wallet.

I would also like to know why IRUSA is keeping well over $41 million in cash reserve and assets (as of 12/2012 and growing) instead of distributing it to the needy especially at this time when there are so many destitute around the world. The only reason I can think of is they are keeping the assets to ensure their salaries are not diminished when donations are dwindled.

IRUSA, I will be watching you. Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Admit past mistakes or deception and apologize to the every donor for them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

Best Muslim charity by far. I just ready some stupid review of Financial fraud. How stupid can people be mistaking transparency with fraud. Tired of Muslims only criticizing good Muslims do. May Allah guide them

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 26, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

Obviously most of the reviews here are written by Islamic Relief themselves to boost their rating or status. I on the other hand am not a member anymore and regretted giving them so much in donation over a ten year period until I discovered their financial deception. I have made several requests to talk to someone at Islamic Relief to explain their deception but no one has ever returned my calls. Every time I call their office I get the same answer that no one was in the office and they are travelling.
I am not making up a story here. Please check out their tax forms, it is all in black and white and do your math. They are only giving out about 60% of donated money to the poor and the rest is admin fees, salaries, travel expenses and reserve as assets. I am outraged to learn that the money I was giving out to the poor ended up fattening IRUSA wallets and paid over $250K in CEO salaries and benefits. It is charity for God sake not a business.
IRUSA need to come clean and explain their position, otherwise they will be losing many donors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change management, lower CEO salary to a reasonable rate, and explain past shortcomings.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

visit one of our 5 office locations and use their talent within a department, help at a special event (such as a concert, fundraising dinner, charity fair), get trained to respond to a U.S. based natural disaster and be on our separate list of disaster relief volunteers, help out at a "Day of Dignity" event distibuting food and supplies to the needy, help sell tickets to one of our events, spread the word about our Orphans and other projects!