Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
223 Reviews
1234.717495
Write A Review
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

Best Muslim charity by far. I just ready some stupid review of Financial fraud. How stupid can people be mistaking transparency with fraud. Tired of Muslims only criticizing good Muslims do. May Allah guide them

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 26, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

Obviously most of the reviews here are written by Islamic Relief themselves to boost their rating or status. I on the other hand am not a member anymore and regretted giving them so much in donation over a ten year period until I discovered their financial deception. I have made several requests to talk to someone at Islamic Relief to explain their deception but no one has ever returned my calls. Every time I call their office I get the same answer that no one was in the office and they are travelling.
I am not making up a story here. Please check out their tax forms, it is all in black and white and do your math. They are only giving out about 60% of donated money to the poor and the rest is admin fees, salaries, travel expenses and reserve as assets. I am outraged to learn that the money I was giving out to the poor ended up fattening IRUSA wallets and paid over $250K in CEO salaries and benefits. It is charity for God sake not a business.
IRUSA need to come clean and explain their position, otherwise they will be losing many donors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change management, lower CEO salary to a reasonable rate, and explain past shortcomings.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 25, 2014

more

July 25, 2014

I love the work you guys do in all the countries you work. God Bless you guys on the hard work you do. You guys are the only organization I trust and the only organization I will donate to. Your financials are transparent and you guy do everything you say which I commend. Please keep it up

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Mobile site would make things easier

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 25, 2014

more

July 25, 2014

I love the work you do and how you help countries around the world. I love you mission on helping anyone regardless of Religion or Color or ethnicity. You make me proud to be Muslim and I am honored to be associated with you guys. you are doing great work and great relations with the government.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 25, 2014

more

July 25, 2014

I just had an event for the birth of my child. They have an amazing peer to peer on their site. I managed to tell people not to bring gifts but instead help the people of Gaza. Their staff where very helpful in getting it set up for me and I tracked all the donations for my event surprisingly I actually doubled what I thought I would receive. Keep up the great work IRUSA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I like the work you do in America if you could communicate those programs more so we can help would be great

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 25, 2014

more

July 25, 2014

I have dealt with many charities in the past. Honestly I haven't seen one run as good as Islamic Relief USA. I stopped by the office to drop of a donation and was impressed of the professionalism. They run it better then non Muslim charities in my opinion.

Keep up the great work guys
you deserve the top charity award

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 10, 2011

I have been a donor to Islamic Relief for over 10 years. My overall impression of the organization has been one of professionalism, kindness, and a clear mission to help those less fortunate. They hav... more

July 25, 2014

I have donated to many charities in the past but I have not seen people who work as hard as the people do in Islamic Relief USA. Even at 18% overhead they still do great work in doubling their donations. When the crisis hit in Palestine they are the only organization I trust that is getting the work and necessities to the people.

They are very transparent and when I contact them they are very responsive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish they would visit my Masjid more

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2011

I have been a donor to Islamic Relief for over 10 years. My overall impression of the organization has been one of professionalism, kindness, and a clear mission to help those less fortunate. They have spanned the globe with their relief efforts and work quickly and effectively to get to the sites of tragedy and need. I have never had to donate with another organization, as IR has always been in the right places when needed and are highly trustworthy.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the changes that they've made in the lives of the Orphans through the Orphan Sponsorship Program. We've received letters from our sponsored orphans that were truly touching a great to share with my kids as an example on how to offer ourselves to those less fortunate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe a newsletter to regular donors displaying what their donations are contributing. This may already exist, I just haven't received it yet.

July 25, 2014

more

July 25, 2014

I LOVE ISLAMIC RELIEF. I have been a volunteer for well over 5 years now, i have traveled for Islamic relief, been trained with IR , as well as worked with the CEO first hand and have to say he is the most humble, and down to earth humanitarian I have met in my life. After meeting him, I was confident that the money is going to the right place. I am always skeptical about sending money for causes, and the ONLY organization i trust, and request everyone to trust and donate to is Islamic relief. They are in so many parts of the world providing aid, and everyone knows who they are for their amazing efforts in emergency aid, medical aid/ supplies, shelter operations, psychological, and first aid, as well as funding, and sending supplies to those in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

I have stopped donating to IRUSA after discovering their massive accounting fraud. I have been donating to them for almost 10 years and have giving them well over $100K and have recommended it to all my friends and relatives, but now, I have told everyone not to support them because of their accounting fraud. They used to inflate the value of the donated medicine they received to help its rating and to lower their administration fees. I have spent almost two days recently sifting through their taxes and financial reports and concluded that they only give out about 60% of what they collect from donation and the rest goes to fees, salaries and expenses. Their CEO compensation is about $250k a year and it increases at a higher rate than inflation. I have donated to other well established larger organizations and their CEOs makes a lot less. They are treating the organization as a business not as a charity. My only regret is not finding out this fraud earlier.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

apologies to all donors and come out clean. Admit previous mistakes and lower administrators compensation to a reasonable rate.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 15, 2014

more

May 15, 2014

I've been a member of this org as a donor for sometime now and I've witnessed first hand the difference they make on the ground. They've been quite instrumental in delivering timely support and assistance to those in need and I thank them immensely. HB, Australia

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

visit one of our 5 office locations and use their talent within a department, help at a special event (such as a concert, fundraising dinner, charity fair), get trained to respond to a U.S. based natural disaster and be on our separate list of disaster relief volunteers, help out at a "Day of Dignity" event distibuting food and supplies to the needy, help sell tickets to one of our events, spread the word about our Orphans and other projects!