Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
222 Reviews
1234.734235
| 1 ... 16 17 18...22 |
Write A Review
February 28, 2012

more

February 28, 2012

Every time there is a disaster somewhere I see Islamic Relief in the front lines trying to get aid for those who need it. When in my locality a flood came and many houses where damaged Islamic Relief was one of the only organization that I was contacted by to help out.They did a phenomenal job helping people in NJ with the 2011 flood.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2012

more

February 26, 2012

These guys have a great sense of responisbility to their communities both domestic and abroad. They offered me a great number of causes to which I can contribute my money too and I already feel as if I am making a difference. Thank you and God bless.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 17, 2012

more

February 17, 2012

I use Islamic Relief to donate all the time - mashAllah they are great! Keep up the great work IRW!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 17, 2012

more

February 17, 2012

I always donate through Islamic Relief. I am a student and do not really have much money. However, atleast once in every month I try donating as much as I can. It feels great that we can make difference in the lives of those unfortunate people. Lately, I got letter from Islamic Relief where I read about one month old baby who died in Afghanistan due to cold. It made me donate money and also be thankful to God for all of his blessings. Thank you Islamic Relief!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 16, 2012

more

February 16, 2012

Using this charity has been the best experience in donating I have ever encountered. There are many options as to where I would like to donate and I especially enjoy receiving newsletters in the mail about the various unfortunate people who have been helped by this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 11, 2012

more

February 11, 2012

I am a student so I'm not always able to donate a lot. However, I have the option to donate as much as I'm able to, whenever I want and I really do believe that this organization is doing a great job in getting funds to the people that need them the most. May everyone be blessed enough to eradicate poverty and to help those who need them the most. Ameen.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

Great group that I strongly support! They have always shown great support for all people regardless of religion, nationality, or what region of the world they are from.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 30, 2011

more

December 30, 2011

I want to respond to abumonzer in that many Islamic organizations are unfairly scrutinized in the USA due to Islamophobia, especially charitable organizations. If you visit Israel related pages they have links to even donate for illegal settlements which are against the UN and human rights standards of the world. That means that the money will be used against international law, but it is lawful in the USA. Also, USAID is allowed to give money to some organizations in Palestine that people in the US are tried for having terrorist links or lending terrorist support. Now with the laws the way they are, we are lucky if we are discriminatorily tried. Islamic Relief is yet another one on the hit list of the biggest, just to knock it out. Such actions infringe on our rights as Muslims to give charitable zakat. I agree that at times Muslim run organizations engage in intentional fraud, but also sloppy bookkeeping errors and that causes problems for organizations, sometimes allowing them to be shut down and other times such corruption and mistakes make the Muslim community afraid to give. I am not sure that slandering Islamic Relief on this forum is the best way to solve the accounting problems you speak of, especially when you seem to use words indicating that you would fire the CEO and replace the accounting company with the old one. It just sounds like a falling out more than genuine concern. By all means if you or any brothers and sisters are aware of mistakes or corruption, go together and try to fix these issues with the organization, rather than hurt them further. Also, if you have proof bring it forward. In the end, it is better not to have a divisive community and also “Part of a person’s being a good Muslim is his leaving alone that which does not concern him” (narrated by al-Tirmidhi, 2317).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

They have been engaged in massive accounting fraud and have deceived donors for years. They have actually changed CPA's every year to avoid getting caught, and in the past at least 2 CPA firms have refused to sign off on their financial statements and disengaged from them. They overstated the value of drugs received by them in "donations" (gifts in kind), showing receipts of $140,000,000 when the actual market value of the drugs was less than $506,000. Between 2007 and 2009, they were advised repeatedly by their former controller to change their accounting standards, and they refused to do so. Read about the scandal at http://www.forbes.com/sites/williampbarrett/2011/11/04/scandal-erupts-over-inflated-drug-values-used-by-charities/

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing how they committed fraud.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

fire the board and CEO, and bring in the former Controller as CEO and put in place a robust audit mechanism.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

personal relation

November 4, 2011

more

November 4, 2011

Islamic Relief has done an outstanding job in taking care of hundreds of emergencies around the world. They have been the most trustworthy and business like Charity organization I have come across. They acknowledge donations professionally and quickly and provide receipts at the end of the years in a consolidated manner.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Pakistan

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Become involved more in health care issues such as HIV and sickle cell disease.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

visit one of our 5 office locations and use their talent within a department, help at a special event (such as a concert, fundraising dinner, charity fair), get trained to respond to a U.S. based natural disaster and be on our separate list of disaster relief volunteers, help out at a "Day of Dignity" event distibuting food and supplies to the needy, help sell tickets to one of our events, spread the word about our Orphans and other projects!