Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.843755
Write A Review
January 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Ever since I've some in touch with Isha my life has transormed in so many different ways. Volunteering with Isha has brought a new sense on purpose into my life. I feel like I can actually make a differnce in this world by giving myself fully into every volunteering activity I've been a part of. I'm determined to continue my work with isha to bring this possibility into as many lives as possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 27, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 27, 2013

The place is serene and a heaven on earth. The people there are so selfless that you would automatically want to give in more than yourself. Everyone there goes out an extra mile to serve just one purpose "YOU". With this kind of an atmosphere, anyone stepping in there would want to give in themselves into any activity put out there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A little more organized way in terms of sign boards or info for new comers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 27, 2013

Over the past 3 years that I have been involved with the Isha Foundation my life has changed dramatically. The yoga and meditation programs have brought greater balance, peace and wellbeing to me. Working as a marketing consultant and in start-ups, the long hours and stressful work life left me very anxious, fearful and in seeking some sense of peace and joy. The yoga practices I've learned have fundamentally changed me into a more peaceful, joyful and vibrant individual.

The organization is of the highest quality, and run very professionally. Having worked in the event planning business I can attest to what it takes to put on a program. Everyone that I've been involved with has been well-thought through, no details overlooked, always putting the participants first. As an actively involved volunteer, I've had the opportunity to make grow immensely. Taking on new roles, being challenged to go above and beyond what I thought I was capable of. This has been an incredibly rewarding experience, and one that stays with me each and every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 21, 2013

more

November 21, 2013

I've always been about me, myself and moi, until I started volunteering at Isha. I've always volunteered at different NPOs, but it was because "I wanted to be helpful/useful". It was, for the first time, at Isha that I learnt that volunteering can be an opportunity to simply do something, not because I want to do it, I want to help, but because it needs to be done. So the work can be anything from phone calls, emails, or cutting vegetables in the kitchen or arranging flowers, but it's an entirely different elevating experience when you place your ego aside and simply do what is necessary! It's a good way to change the world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Communicate more

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 21, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 21, 2013

This place offers great techniques with which to to find more balance in one's life. I took their first program three years ago, and ever since I found such positive results that I went on to take advanced programs. I definitely recommend everyone to try this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 20, 2013

I don't like the word nonprofit anymore and I realized it after working for this organization. Everybody gets benefited immensely so how can we say it is nonprofit. The true meaning of volunteering and get awareness on what you do can be achieved without any attachment. I wanted to start a nonprofit being a social entrepreneur working with different nonprofits understanding the mission and goals doing volunteer work but nothing had a great impact like Isha foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I hope, Sadguru will say the same thing. It should be a for profit organization to transform more people to impact everyone in this world with the awareness of their own existence.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 20, 2013

I discovered how satisfying volunteering for a cause, when i started volunteering for Isha foundation. Volunteering weekends from Local Food bank to National park cleaning has proved more enriching and a satisfying experience for me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More frequent local programs to offer volunteering for various different causes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Psalm 82:6
"I have said, Ye are gods; and all of you are children of the most High."
John 1:12-13
"But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe on his name: Which were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of
the will of man, but of God."

I took the initial Isha program, and the thing is that I've been a christian all my life, hard core christian actually. I tried everything that Christianity prescribed, but always it never worked. I looked closely at what Christianity promises and says is the goal (see above). Nothing worked. Worse, almost everyone around me at church simply could not even make it LOOK like they wanted to be there.
Finally I saw that this is not it. I started to look at myself and inward to see what was even possible in this creation. I asked for guidance and it came, this was years before Isha.
After Isha came into my life (at just the right time) now I can see plainly that what the bible verses above says is 100% possible for me.
Sadhguru is the most capable person alive right now who can ASSIST people to realize what they, who they are. I say assist because I see clearly that it cannot be forced on you, you have to make it happen for yourself.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Isha Foundation offers meditation programs as well as social and educational programs. They have been founded by Sadhguru, a yogi, mystic, and humanitarian - who not only imparts yoga to all willing to learn but who is also a talented writer and poet, having spoken in numerous forums (TED, United Nations, World Economic Forum). The yoga programs run at Isha are held in the classical tradition - with teachers who have spent 5-7 years with Sadhguru, before being allowed to teach. Much care is taken to ensure that yoga is transmitted properly. Also, this is an organization run exclusively by volunteers - I am amazed above and beyond by their success and dedication and I highly recommend all of their programs. You can also visit the Isha Institute of Inner Sciences in Tennessee or the Isha Ashram in India, near Coimbatore.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

BEWARE. Isha foundation may be a cult. Their teachings are commendable (they are actually repackaged buddhist principles), but they operate as a cult. Before you join Isha, or if you are a member of Isha, please inform yourself about cults and the way the operate. It is VERY difficult to realize that you are in a cult, but remember, it if looks like a duck, walks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, it is probably a duck. Of course, Isha's first statement is that 'perhaps it is not really a duck' ... which is a classic strategy used by cults to avoid any labeling by confusing the issue with distractions and strawman arguments. Be very careful. If you are interested in Budhism, meditation, and yoga, it is better if you learn it directly, rather than through Isha.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers