Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
121 Reviews
1234.933885
Write A Review
April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

This organization is so beneficial to many young people. I have seen it send students on a career path that could otherwise been out of their reach. I wish this had been available when I was young. Not only is it a great program for the individual but also benefits the community as a whole.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 18, 2013

more

March 18, 2013

My Name is Logan Triplett. I am a Cinematographer at the Helio Collective. I had the privilege of working with Montana Maps, and The Rosten Foundation a couple of years ago when i was asked to help them with a project they were working on. It was at this moment when i became familiar of what MAPS was. The students I worked with were very professional, and were wise beyond their years. When i asked many of them of what they thought of MAPS, most of them said the same thing: it inspired them. By the end of my experience, I was envious of the students for the amazing resource that they had. Not only is there no program like it within the state of Montana, but I venture to say that few programs do what MAPS does on a national level. I have had the privilege of seeing some of the MAPS kids grow over the last couple of year, while also being introduced to new ones: They continue to impress me. All in all, this is quite an amazing program that I would gladly tell anyone about.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 15, 2013

more

March 15, 2013

As an digital media expert and college instructor, MAPS is nothing short of inspirational. The opportunity that this organization provides for young people to explore their creative potential through video and digital arts is phenomenal. It is important that MAPS continue to provide these important services for youth who might not otherwise have this type of opportunity.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 14, 2013

more

March 14, 2013

I'm a Montana native living a long way from home. I run the investigative unit at CNBC in NYC but every year I get to head back to Bozeman for Hatchfest where I've worked with high school and college journalism and film students for the past 9 years. Two years ago I met Peter Rosten when he brought a group of his MAPS kids to Hatch. These kids were so dedicated, so mature, and so talented. - I walked away truly inspired. They showed such tremendous promise and it's clear that MAPS is guiding them to a great great place.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 13, 2013

more

March 13, 2013

I own a product design company and was introduced to MAPS through the HATCH festival in Bozeman, Montana. I was influenced to pursue a career in design and engineering through a very similar program growing up in Fairbanks, Alaska. Seeing these youth embrace the latest in production techniques for web, sound, and film/video makes me so thankful for the Rostens and the MAPS media institute. You can be sure that not only are valuable skills being taught and learned, but--more importantly--the young people in the program realize they have talents and abilities that they never thought they possessed. Way to go MAPS!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2013

more

March 11, 2013

I am a huge fan of the MAPS program. Providing students with ways to connect and feel valued and important is the goal of many programs, and MAPS stands out in the field because of its uniquely creative approaches to teaching real-world media skills to youth. Montana is fortunate to have this program and its clear that the students involved truly love the program and appreciate all that they gain from MAPS.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 10, 2013

more

March 10, 2013

I stumbled upon the MAPS crew by coincidence. In Bozeman to attend a conference at which I was speaking, I found their team set up in the living room of the guest house in which I was staying. The only thing that differentiated their process and dedication from seasoned professionals was their age. Later I again witnessed them hard at work, behind the scenes (they had been working on a brief documentary), and their enthusiasm was so apparent I drafted several of their member to help with a presentations of my own, which made my presentations that much more enjoyable for ME. I've nothing but good to say about the leadership I witnessed, as well as the dedication and spirit with which they embraced their efforts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 10, 2013

more

March 10, 2013

The Bitterroot Valley MAPS program is an outstanding program that gives youth an opportunity to pursue careers in the technological world. This programs allows youth, who are interested in pursuing technological careers, access to instructors and employees from the movie/TV industry. These instructors introduce the students to programs that are generally not found in local high schools. The expertise from these instructors, who share their skills and talents, is phenomenal and many of them are straight from Hollywood. MAPS students are learning real world skills by creating docudramas and PSA's. Many of these students would have dropped out of high school because they could not find their niche in a traditional high school. Some future Hollywood movie makers may come directly from the MAPS program.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 10, 2013

more

March 10, 2013

Try this: When MAPS began in 2004, I honestly didn't think it would last. Our community is somewhat conservative and Peter Rosten came from that hated place, "California'. But here they are 10 years later and I've know a lot of the kids who went throuogh the program and came out of it as better people. You can't really ask for more from a school program, can you?

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 26, 2013

more

February 26, 2013

Thanks to the Irwin & Florence Rosten Foundation and it's support of the MAPS Media Institute, the youth of Montana have an incredibly special and rare resource for creativity and knowledge not easily found in the wild west.

It's hard to imagine such a beneficial program with direct
contact to the professional film world could be found in rural Montana. I have seen first hand the intimate understanding of film technique and craft the kids are exposed to, and then challenged to put to use, creating commercials for real world clients, music videos, and films.

I was first made aware of the program by a friend in a college film class, a MAPS graduate and star in her own right at film school. She put us in contact and soon, we were head first producing a statewide commercial, written, cast, and dreamt up by the kids, for the Governor's office! It was such a rewarding experience working with their quality content, and getting to teach them one on one about professional film set practices, working with green screen, and child actors...also a dog actor.

Several years later, the kids came to a local film festival, packed with Hollywood power hitters, and in a few days time and many late nights, crafted an amazing documentary short on the untamed power and importance of mentorship, of which I was humbled to partake. The beauty of this program is allowing the kids to get dirty, get their hands on the gear, and get creating. In this business, you must have firm, unbridled creativity, and the technical knowledge of the craft to bring your vision to life. Giving the kids the opportunity to learn and practice at a young age and fostering a relationship with top established film professionals to mentor them provides a level of skill and confidence I've never seen before. But with these bright minds, the mentor street certainly isn't a one-way.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers