Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
121 Reviews
1234.933885
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
March 14, 2013

more

March 14, 2013

As the former principal of Corvallis High School, the original host of MAPS, I have witnessed the positive impact the MAPS program can have on students from every level of the educational spectrum. I can list numerous facts and figures in regards to the reduction in dropouts, increase in GPA, increase in credits attained, and the overall engagement of MAPS students, but in the end, one major impact of MAPS resonates the most - creativity.

Educators can often times get wrapped up in levels of proficiency, standards, learning targets and demonstration of mastery. We hold up A-level products from students who graduated the year before and say, "This is an exemplar." Although sound practice, the beauty of MAPS is that the there really is no traditional A-level. Therefore, students are asked/challenged to be creative and imagine limitless possibilities while learning technical skills. A simple, but rare concept.

I have followed the progress of MAPS since I left Corvallis High School and can think of only a few examples of such high-impact, high-skill, and high-creativity programs.

Thank you to the Irwin and Florence Rosten Foundation for your incredible impact on the students of the Bitterroot Valley.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 25, 2013

more

March 25, 2013

What MAPS achieves at a level that I've rarely seen; is to connect kids with real-world mentors and solid, legitimate career experience in creative arts. It gives the kids a sense of what it's really like behind the curtain. They can learn about a field from the inside and more importantly, actually CREATE real art. It's learning at its finest... education that means something beyond the narrow metrics that govern our system. MAPS is an extraordinary organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 17, 2013

more

March 17, 2013

My name is Monica Cambell and I am a parent of two teens
that have been in the MAPS program over the years. What a great after school program
this is and a great team of teachers. Although my kids may not work
In the industry at least they got to expierence what it would be like.

I highly recommend this program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 12, 2013

more

March 12, 2013

I first joined MAPS to tryout their website design class, because I wanted to have a career in web design. The class was engaging and fun, full of a variety of programs to use and get to know and the instructor of the class was witty and had a great sense of humor. After helping design the MAPS website I joined the film group. I learned more from that film class than I would have ever acquired reading a book. MAPS is wonderful institution that gives its students the tools and knowledge to Find Their Voice.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 12, 2013

more

March 12, 2013

As an exchange student from Russia who was lucky to spend a year in Montana, I have to say that my experience wouldn't be complete without MAPS Media Institute. I couldn't be more grateful for all the amazing opportunities that opened to me there. I've learnt so much from the amazing classes. Made so many new friends. Had a great time working with them on projects such as our "Big Movie" that was later shown in the local movie theater! Even coming from a pretty big city I have to say that I have never come across anything that could be compared to MAPS. That's why I believe that MAPS Media Institute is the treasure of the Bitterroot Valley that lets teenagers get together, socialize, learn and have fun all at the same time!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 7, 2013

more

March 7, 2013

Working with MAPS was an incredible experience for the Bitterroot Youth Home staff and residents. Not only were our experiences professional and timely but they were fun and exciting as well. MAPS provides an amazing experience to the community for both kids and adults. We greatly appreciate the support and creativity MAPS gives to our kids as well as staff! We all have learned so much from the experience.
I also want to say that the staff -- particularly Erin -- was so amazing with our kids. Her patience and kindness really added to our overall experience. That's not to say that Laura H., Christian, and the rest weren't great too! You all are amazing folks! Thank you to all of you truly. We had an amazing experience and greatly appreciate the service you give our community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 7, 2013

more

March 7, 2013

Thank you to all the staff at the MAPS program for their awesome energy and input into our kiddos! I have seen not only the general computer literacy of our two kids increase but also their focus on music and composition. Looking forward to see where these skills and friendships take the kids

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 7, 2013

more

March 7, 2013

We first found out about MAPS via a friend. My son was so excited he was not sure which program to choose. He is in the design class and loving it. The projects he shares with us are great. This program offers so many different skills that can he carry on throughout his life. Thank you to all the instructors and volunteers! He is already thinking of trying a different program next year.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2013

more

March 6, 2013

Having now seen MAPS both from the inside (as an assistant instructor,) and the outside (as a client,) I have nothing but praise for the organization. The kids see, to enjoy being there, and they pick up skills that can help them in the difficult job market. The staff are all great to work with, and really passionate about getting the next generation interested in the various forms of media production.

As a client I have been very satisfied with the more 'business' side of the operation as well. The people at MAPS have made sure everyone involved has regular communication, client-side concerns are taken seriously and addressed appropriately, and most of all they really want the client to be satisfied with the finished product. Excellent service and business practices are being modeled for the kids in this program!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2013

more

March 6, 2013

The MAPS program, along with it's mentors, has had a tremendously positive impact on both of our children's (ages 15 & 16) technical skills, motivation and self-esteem. Both of our children are very different in their learning styles and interests, yet it effectively serves all of their needs in different capacities. I've been so impressed with the mentor's abilities to recognize their needs and teach them accordingly, not bad considering how many children they're dealing with! It has opened up an entire new world to both of children and helped them realize possibilities that none of us knew existed. The mentors are also great at helping find resources beyond the program that pertain to our children's talents and interests. This is our first year with the program and we look forward to several more. We highly recommend other homeschool and traditionally schooled teens to check out this valuable program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers