Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
121 Reviews
1234.933885
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 21, 2013

more

March 21, 2013

I, Robert Chase- Program Director The Trail 103.3, a nearly 35 year broadcast veteran, remember how important hands on experience was to launching what would be a lifelong career. I began my experience, my Jr. year in high school., in Springfield, Illinois at the area vocational center. Those two years of prep on how to write, use professional gear, and understand real life broadcast situations, gave me a clear advantage when I entered the broadcast/entertainment market place. MAPS does that in Montana. MAPS is important.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 12, 2013

more

March 12, 2013

I first developed my love of film in 2004. As immature as I felt at that age,there is one thing that has never left me from that year: how much MAPS helped me develop my skills, strategy and an ever growing love for the motion picture, and Media Arts in general. I then graduated from high school and managed to attend Montana State University, Bozeman to further pursue my love of film. My freshman year, I was granted the opportunity to teach Media Arts classes at the Bozeman Boys and Girls Club. It was there that I got to interact and share what knowledge I had of film and social media with the youth of Bozeman. It was there that I learned that MAPS and institutions like it have a vital role in informing our youth of the secrets and motives of media as well as film. In life, there are always going to be stories told, whether they are made up or true. However, by teaching young individuals to tell the difference and decipher for themselves what they think to be true and false is both a blessing a curse. A person should always be given the option to choose for themselves, which is what I was taught to do. What I loved about MAPS the most was the creative skyline- the opportunity to make a story into reality and to work together as a team to ultimately approach an entertaining and liberating product for all to enjoy. What I wish I had done differently when involved with MAPS was work harder to make it a more statewide and recognized facility, and perhaps try harder for more funding because it would have been worth it in the town of Bozeman and probably all of Montana. Having said that, I would like to share a more personal story that I don't think many can say they have had the honor of experiencing. I was 18 years old when I came to Bozeman and first started teaching classes. If teaching is a word I can use loosely, I will, simply because I myself was quite inexperienced on instructing others how to splice Final Cut Pro frames. In all of my mediocre, and stumbled through lessons, there was one person who seemed to have an affinity to film, just like myself. He was a great artist, loved to laugh, and overall enjoyed the sheer company of those who loved to make movies. However, he and the other kids did not share something in common- the rest of them did not have autism. He was one of the only kids who ever came on time, came every time, and put forth all of his effort EVERY TIME. He was dedicated, he was challenged, and he persevered because he was so passionate and so enamored with making films that even his own mental disability could not stop him. I share this story simply because I would like to see most of us in our normal mind even try to make our dreams come true, even if we think we can not. And with MAPS, I think it could be possible, and with MAPS, it is possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 11, 2013

more

March 11, 2013

I became involved with MAPS by volunteering as an adult in the film project they were partnering with the Forest Services Trapper Creek Job Corps. From there I spent the better part of two years volunteering in the web design and graphic design classes. The work that MAPS does in an after school setting with local youth is trend setting. While much of High School is dull busy work, Peter Rosten's program gets youth involved in real world projects, forcing them to collaborate, break down social barriers, and dig deep for their creative process, work ethic, and due diligence. As an adult I learned skills and fostered relationships with area youth that benefit all as we learn to bridge gaps between ages and backgrounds. MAPS continues to be be fluid in response to an ever changing dynamic world of design, able to change curriculum to meet the needs of local businesses and the demand for creative design and film projects. Peter hires top notch real world people who actually work and are successful in their discipline which lends a much more real world feel to the classes and environment as these pros are constantly needing to adapt and learn new skills as they appear in the various disciplines. In the end MAPS acts more like a mentor to area youth and they gain so much more from learning that way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 10, 2013

more

March 10, 2013

I joined MAPS to fulfill a school credit initially. But it turned out to be so much more than just another class! I learned so many skills from my year in MAPS that have enabled me to do many amazing things in my life today! I learned hard work, determination, creative writing skills, and so much more. I will always value my time in the MAPS program and hope that my children can one day have the opportunity to participate in such a wonderful program. I love you friends in MAPS. We are just one big happy family!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 2, 2013

more

March 2, 2013

I was personally blessed to be one of the first in the maps program, taking part in some commercials, a movie and of course the wonderboy music video (=. The way this program opens the minds and doors for youngins is truly amazing. Peter Rosten you are the man, keep it up boss man.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

March 1, 2013

more

March 1, 2013

I volunteered for MAPS from September to the end of January and was incredibly impressed with everything. I really wish there was a similar program when I was in high school and, given the chance, I would be more than happy to volunteer at MAPS again in the future. It is a great environment for the students and the staff is very knowledgeable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 25, 2013

more

February 25, 2013

My name is Elysha and I am proud to be a former MAPS student of the Irwin and Florence Rosten Foundation. In my 3 years of being in the program I learned everything from camera angles to stage lines, editing, how to hold a boom, a camera, writing scripts and much more. I have become a more social and a brighter thinker . I am so grateful for my teachers for creating such a phenomenal hands on well rounded program. I developed such a strong work ethic from working with fellow students, clients and also well known professionals in the field of media arts. One of my proudest moments of MAPS was helping create a commercial for federal financial aid. Our class took on the project start to finish. The news interviewed us and we later saw our commercial on TV which was so rewarding. I loved being able to write and read scripts and bring them to life. We went on locations to shoot our short and films. We each took on different roles directing, producing and everything in between. I feel so proud to have been a part of a program that has inspired an amazing creative process that turns hard work into a finished project that we can all share forever. MAPS brings students together to work as a team and create beautiful movies, activities, and more for the community. Peter Rosten & the MAPS team goes up and beyond for every student in that program. In our small town there are absolutely no other programs like MAPS!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 25, 2013

more

February 25, 2013

I've worked with the crew from this foundation, specifically the MAPS program and there's no substitute for the training and the creative support that has been provided for rural Montana kids!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

February 24, 2013

more

February 24, 2013

The Irwin and Florence Rosten Foundation, along with its support for the MAPS Media Institute, offers a unique and essential service for youth and the community. The platform inspires youth to be proactive in assisting the community, a great bridge for them to expand in higher education after high school, and a milestone in job creation. In an area where little to nothing is to offer for this young generation, the Rosten Foundation and the Media Institute is a much needed platform for inspiring youth in creativity, team efforts, and hard work. Having been once enrolled in this service myself as a young man, the Foundation's service continues to inspire me on a path in expanding my career and achieving my goals. Please consider this great non-profit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 24, 2013

more

February 24, 2013

I was one of the first students involved with the program when it began at Corvallis High School, and I cannot express my gratitude at creating the opportunity to embrace my dream. They don't sugarcoat the inner workings of hollywood, they provide the tools that the Pro's use and show us how they work. We learned to write scripts from actual pro's from the industry and we worked on the many roles on set. It's exciting, and enriching to work with kids your own age who share the same interests. We were excited to come to school for once, just because we loved the opportunities the class provided,

Now it's become a large after school program for all of the bitterroot valley, and it's helping kids be more than they can be, and I would love to see it get the support it deserves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers