Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
121 Reviews
1234.933885
| 1 2 3 4...12 |
Write A Review
March 11, 2013

more

March 11, 2013

I am a huge fan of the MAPS program. Providing students with ways to connect and feel valued and important is the goal of many programs, and MAPS stands out in the field because of its uniquely creative approaches to teaching real-world media skills to youth. Montana is fortunate to have this program and its clear that the students involved truly love the program and appreciate all that they gain from MAPS.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 11, 2013

more

March 11, 2013

The Irwin and Florence Rosten Foundation, which funds MAPS, is the creation of Peter Rosten. I am one of the few people who knew Irwin and Florence because they were the parents of my best pal growing up, that being Peter. For all those who are considering to contribute money and/or time in MAPS, rest assured that the person at the helm of the organization is very special. In addition to MAPS being a great idea, the people supporting this idea are top notch. I know Peter. I know what he has done in his life, I know what he did for me, I know his capabilities, and I am learning more and more about how he is contributing to the advancement of youngsters throughout the Bitterroot Valley who want to pursue the film production industry. MAPS is a breeding ground for expanding creativity in our youth. It’s all good!

John Marino

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 11, 2013

more

March 11, 2013

I became involved with MAPS by volunteering as an adult in the film project they were partnering with the Forest Services Trapper Creek Job Corps. From there I spent the better part of two years volunteering in the web design and graphic design classes. The work that MAPS does in an after school setting with local youth is trend setting. While much of High School is dull busy work, Peter Rosten's program gets youth involved in real world projects, forcing them to collaborate, break down social barriers, and dig deep for their creative process, work ethic, and due diligence. As an adult I learned skills and fostered relationships with area youth that benefit all as we learn to bridge gaps between ages and backgrounds. MAPS continues to be be fluid in response to an ever changing dynamic world of design, able to change curriculum to meet the needs of local businesses and the demand for creative design and film projects. Peter hires top notch real world people who actually work and are successful in their discipline which lends a much more real world feel to the classes and environment as these pros are constantly needing to adapt and learn new skills as they appear in the various disciplines. In the end MAPS acts more like a mentor to area youth and they gain so much more from learning that way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2013

more

March 11, 2013

I became conscious of the MAPS program via teens my son was attending school with, so decided to look into it. I was amazed at the program, the quality, the experience they were giving to local teens in film - to develop and experience at such a high skill level within each of their technology programs. This is an awesome program that the Bitterroot is fortunate to have for our kids to express their passion in for the arts. The staff is over and above the mark without question! To produce the film, commercials and product that they do is quite amazing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 11, 2013

more

March 11, 2013

The Montana Arts Council, the state arts agency of Montana, funds the Irwin and Florence Rosten Foundation with great pride. They are doing tremendous work with children and giving students top-notch video production training. Their work not only teaches students about the process and hones and expands children's creative abilities, but their work is focused on quality high enough that much of their work actually see on the air! As the state agency that provides seed funding for this work, the organization goes through a rigorous review as to how it approaches the work, what the students are learning and the quality of the training they receive. The Rosten Foundation consistenty gets highest marks on all counts, and we are very proud to be associated with the product of their efforts.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 10, 2013

more

March 10, 2013

I stumbled upon the MAPS crew by coincidence. In Bozeman to attend a conference at which I was speaking, I found their team set up in the living room of the guest house in which I was staying. The only thing that differentiated their process and dedication from seasoned professionals was their age. Later I again witnessed them hard at work, behind the scenes (they had been working on a brief documentary), and their enthusiasm was so apparent I drafted several of their member to help with a presentations of my own, which made my presentations that much more enjoyable for ME. I've nothing but good to say about the leadership I witnessed, as well as the dedication and spirit with which they embraced their efforts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 10, 2013

more

March 10, 2013

The Bitterroot Valley MAPS program is an outstanding program that gives youth an opportunity to pursue careers in the technological world. This programs allows youth, who are interested in pursuing technological careers, access to instructors and employees from the movie/TV industry. These instructors introduce the students to programs that are generally not found in local high schools. The expertise from these instructors, who share their skills and talents, is phenomenal and many of them are straight from Hollywood. MAPS students are learning real world skills by creating docudramas and PSA's. Many of these students would have dropped out of high school because they could not find their niche in a traditional high school. Some future Hollywood movie makers may come directly from the MAPS program.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 10, 2013

more

March 10, 2013

I joined MAPS to fulfill a school credit initially. But it turned out to be so much more than just another class! I learned so many skills from my year in MAPS that have enabled me to do many amazing things in my life today! I learned hard work, determination, creative writing skills, and so much more. I will always value my time in the MAPS program and hope that my children can one day have the opportunity to participate in such a wonderful program. I love you friends in MAPS. We are just one big happy family!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 10, 2013

more

March 10, 2013

Try this: When MAPS began in 2004, I honestly didn't think it would last. Our community is somewhat conservative and Peter Rosten came from that hated place, "California'. But here they are 10 years later and I've know a lot of the kids who went throuogh the program and came out of it as better people. You can't really ask for more from a school program, can you?

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 10, 2013

more

March 10, 2013

What started as one couple's vision to educate and facilitate career growth amongst our student population, has now grown to a full scale community effort of local, county and statewide participation. MAPS offers students the opportunity to learn and utilize real-world practicum for developing industry knowledge to move beyond High School in pursuit of college and professional careers. In a time when budget cuts and rising unemployment figures muddle the water for our graduating seniors, MAPS builds independence, creativity, business sense and confidence in our youth... all traits that will suit them well in their pursuit of productive and happy lives in the working world. By continuing to support MAPS, we are choosing to support and better future for all.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers