Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
121 Reviews
1234.933885
| 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
March 14, 2013

more

March 14, 2013

I had the pleasure to see the MAPS project grow from its inception. Peter Roster started this idea at Corvallis High School where I had a front row seat to watch him develop it and guide it to where it is at today. The unique opportunity he provided to so many students filled a niche that was much needed in our community. The MAPS program gives countless high school students experience in the film industry in the remote mountains of Montana. Without MAPS, those students would never have had the opportunity to be exposed to a career that many have since pursued.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 13, 2013

more

March 13, 2013

I own a product design company and was introduced to MAPS through the HATCH festival in Bozeman, Montana. I was influenced to pursue a career in design and engineering through a very similar program growing up in Fairbanks, Alaska. Seeing these youth embrace the latest in production techniques for web, sound, and film/video makes me so thankful for the Rostens and the MAPS media institute. You can be sure that not only are valuable skills being taught and learned, but--more importantly--the young people in the program realize they have talents and abilities that they never thought they possessed. Way to go MAPS!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 12, 2013

more

March 12, 2013

It is a please seing kids come alive with creativity. The work these kids produce is amazing and the community and entire state has benefited from their work. If only there were more programs like MAPS.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 12, 2013

more

March 12, 2013

I first developed my love of film in 2004. As immature as I felt at that age,there is one thing that has never left me from that year: how much MAPS helped me develop my skills, strategy and an ever growing love for the motion picture, and Media Arts in general. I then graduated from high school and managed to attend Montana State University, Bozeman to further pursue my love of film. My freshman year, I was granted the opportunity to teach Media Arts classes at the Bozeman Boys and Girls Club. It was there that I got to interact and share what knowledge I had of film and social media with the youth of Bozeman. It was there that I learned that MAPS and institutions like it have a vital role in informing our youth of the secrets and motives of media as well as film. In life, there are always going to be stories told, whether they are made up or true. However, by teaching young individuals to tell the difference and decipher for themselves what they think to be true and false is both a blessing a curse. A person should always be given the option to choose for themselves, which is what I was taught to do. What I loved about MAPS the most was the creative skyline- the opportunity to make a story into reality and to work together as a team to ultimately approach an entertaining and liberating product for all to enjoy. What I wish I had done differently when involved with MAPS was work harder to make it a more statewide and recognized facility, and perhaps try harder for more funding because it would have been worth it in the town of Bozeman and probably all of Montana. Having said that, I would like to share a more personal story that I don't think many can say they have had the honor of experiencing. I was 18 years old when I came to Bozeman and first started teaching classes. If teaching is a word I can use loosely, I will, simply because I myself was quite inexperienced on instructing others how to splice Final Cut Pro frames. In all of my mediocre, and stumbled through lessons, there was one person who seemed to have an affinity to film, just like myself. He was a great artist, loved to laugh, and overall enjoyed the sheer company of those who loved to make movies. However, he and the other kids did not share something in common- the rest of them did not have autism. He was one of the only kids who ever came on time, came every time, and put forth all of his effort EVERY TIME. He was dedicated, he was challenged, and he persevered because he was so passionate and so enamored with making films that even his own mental disability could not stop him. I share this story simply because I would like to see most of us in our normal mind even try to make our dreams come true, even if we think we can not. And with MAPS, I think it could be possible, and with MAPS, it is possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 12, 2013

more

March 12, 2013

I first joined MAPS to tryout their website design class, because I wanted to have a career in web design. The class was engaging and fun, full of a variety of programs to use and get to know and the instructor of the class was witty and had a great sense of humor. After helping design the MAPS website I joined the film group. I learned more from that film class than I would have ever acquired reading a book. MAPS is wonderful institution that gives its students the tools and knowledge to Find Their Voice.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 12, 2013

more

March 12, 2013

I had the pleasure of observing MAPS in action when it was in its early days in 2004. It was apparent even then that MAPS engaged students, and empowered them with a sense of ownership over what they were producing. Since that time, I have watched as MAPS has grown its reach and impact. MAPS continues its important work of empowering students with the sense that they can make a difference in the world through a productive pursuit of their interests and passions. I hope MAPS continues to flourish for years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

March 12, 2013

more

March 12, 2013

As an exchange student from Russia who was lucky to spend a year in Montana, I have to say that my experience wouldn't be complete without MAPS Media Institute. I couldn't be more grateful for all the amazing opportunities that opened to me there. I've learnt so much from the amazing classes. Made so many new friends. Had a great time working with them on projects such as our "Big Movie" that was later shown in the local movie theater! Even coming from a pretty big city I have to say that I have never come across anything that could be compared to MAPS. That's why I believe that MAPS Media Institute is the treasure of the Bitterroot Valley that lets teenagers get together, socialize, learn and have fun all at the same time!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 12, 2013

more

March 12, 2013

My son was in this program for 3 years. This was an amazing experience for him. I was the school nurse at a local high school and was amazed at the difference this program made in some of the students I knew. Some of the shyest students really excelled in this program. MAPS "Find Your Voice", is a very appropriate statement for this organization. It also served as a great after school activity for our county high school students who weren't athletes. This was great for a small community that doesn't have many programs for that age group.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 12, 2013

more

March 12, 2013

I remember way back when Peter Rosten came to our school with this crazy idea. He proposed having a class during the school day where kids could learn about all aspects of making movies.
It turned out to be a great idea and allowed kids another outlet for their creativity. Many
have gone on after high school and pursued careers in the movie industry.
The MAPS program has made several PSAs for different groups in Montana and beyond. These public service announcements and involved the students in the planning, implementation and editing portions as active participants in the entire process. MAPS gives students skills, experience, and contacts to continue in this field of study. What a great hands-on experience for young adults to be involved with!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 12, 2013

more

March 12, 2013

I was introduced to MAPs while attending a conference in Bozeman where I was speaking. The MAPs students participated in the conference, did filmed interviews of the participants and had a draft of their production ready for us to view in just four days. Their professionalism, skills and clear enthusiasm for the program was phenomenal. Peter and the rest of the MAPs staff have created an inclusive program that demands excellence from the students who are clearly thriving. I am happy to support MAPs and the Foundation -- there are so few programs that actually deliver a transformational experience for students as MAPs has done.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers