Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

Irving Cares provides a beyond-vital service to the community - they truly make a difference, they are committed to their cause, they look for ways to reach beyond those they can serve directly. They... more

May 29, 2014

Irving Cares goal of "a hand up, not a hand out" says it all to me. They make amazing things happen with the thinnest of resources, and the biggest of hearts and heads from a very small staff and an expanding group of volunteers. Every dollar matters, every jar of peanut butter given matters, and they make sure of it. They are changing lives every single day in ways that restore dignity and trust and faith, and they bring about healing and hope because of it. The number of people living below the poverty level (or barely at it) isn't shrinking in our community. That weighs heavily on the hearts of the staff and volunteers that are Irving Cares every single day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them a stable and significant funding stream so that they could do even more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Irving Cares provides a beyond-vital service to the community - they truly make a difference, they are committed to their cause, they look for ways to reach beyond those they can serve directly. They truly preach and believe that it is a "hand up" and not a "hand out" and they are truly making a difference. The lives they touch, touch many other lives. It is amazing what they accomplish with such a small staff, but they make every hour and every penny count. Their volunteers are beyond committed. They truly are an extension of the staff's priorities, with the community's best interests at heart. All truly exemplify true servant leadership.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have lived in Irving, TX for over 20 years;, about 6 years ago I heard about Irving Cares. From day one my family has donated to their food program (money, food, plastic bags). One day I was given the wonderful opportunity to take a tour. The whole time I was there I saw the respect Irving Cares demonstrates to the Citizens of Irving. I am proud to now be a contributor through my company's United Way program. My husband and I enjoy receiving their newsletter and being able to stay in touch with our community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a long supporter of Irving Cares. Their Vision, Misson and Values are exactly what we need in Irving. I love their moto. "It's a hand up, not a handout."

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Irving Cares has been around helping Irving residents for more than 50 years. Thousands of people have received assistance with rent, food, medical transportation, utility assistance and jobs, but much more. They are greeted from people that understand when hard-times happen and they do to all of us, they receive respect from all the staff at Irving Cares,and these people really care about what happens to the clients that come with many needs. They are given life tools to help them over come their challenges and guidance to avoid future similar circumstances. Irving Cares is respected throughout the community for the communications they maintain with other resources in city and county that can assist the clients when they are not able to and they hold fast to the commitment to provide references and other resources to all clients that need assistance. Strong staff and board of directors work together to maintain IC excellent status with financial expenditures, grants, donations and contributions. Excellent organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Fill orders in the food pantry for hungry families; interview those in need and recommend services, answer phones and greet clients. Volunteer