Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Irving Cares provides temporary assistance that touches the lives of 20% of Irving residents. Teddie Story leads the staff and dedicated volunteers in providing financial assistance, food, employment services and referrals in a caring and professional way to people struggling with unexpected circumstances. It's a privilege for me to participate in helping people get their lives back on track.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a board member of Irving Cares for 3 years. Serving on the board has been an awesome and life changing experience. CEO, Teddie Story, and the dedicated staff do an excellent job at serving the community. Even though the staff may be small in number, they serve as if they are a team of 100. This is a great organization that has made a wonderful impact on the Irving community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

So proud of what the Irving Cares staff and volunteers are able to accomplish year after year. I'm not only a proud volunteer/board member, but I live in Irving and I see first hand the difference that Irving Cares makes in our community. Great organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 11, 2012

I have been a board member since 2004 and have witnessed the great work and support that Irving Cares provides to the greater Irving community. Over the past 8 years this charity has been consistent... more

April 8, 2013

I have been honored to serve on the board of Irving Cares for 9 years. The CEO, Teddie Story, and the small yet effective staff at IRving Cares are doing yeoman's work serving the community. The organization is run professionally and efficiently, but the clients always receive a dignified and personal touch relative to their specific and unique needs from the staff and volunteers. Irving Cares truly makes a positive impact to the residents of Irving, TX who need a lifeline or some temporary assistance.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a board member since 2004 and have witnessed the great work and support that Irving Cares provides to the greater Irving community. Over the past 8 years this charity has been consistent and laser focused in its mission to provide residents with temporary financial assistance and training that ultimately allows families to get back on their feet and on a road to self sufficiency. It truly is a lifeline for families that are in need of timely and immediate help; whether that includes healthy nutritious food received via the food pantry, job search assistance through the jobs program, or taking a money management class prior to receiving funds to help pay rent and/or utilities. I am proud to serve on the board of Irving Cares and work with an extremely dedicated and caring staff as well as committed volunteers!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 11, 2012

Irving Cares has been helping Irving residents in need for decades. Their caring approach help clients feel at ease and able to maintain their sense of self-dignity. Teddie and the entire staff geni... more

April 8, 2013

I have been a member of the board for over3 years and must say this is one of the best run organizations I've encountered. Teddie Story and her team does an exceptional job of serving their client's needs. They always have the client's best interest at heart and go to great lengths to make sure they are treated with the most upmost respect and dignity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 11, 2012

Irving Cares has been helping Irving residents in need for decades. Their caring approach help clients feel at ease and able to maintain their sense of self-dignity. Teddie and the entire staff genially care for the individuals that need their help and treat them with the upmost respect. This organization is highly respected in the Irving community as a caring organization that truly serves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

If you're looking for a non-profit organization that has great leadership, transparency, uses financial and other resources very efficiently, and holds itself accountable by reporting key metrics, then Irving Cares is it! Irving Cares provides Irving residents with temporary assistance and training to promote self-sufficency. They are a small organization that does great things! In addition to the food pantry, they provide rent and utility assistance, employment services, and patient transportation. For clients that receive rent or mortgage assistance, it's not just a one-month fix. To truly help clients and use donor funds wisely, they want at least 85% of clients to not be evicted within 90 days. They're exceeding that objective at 94%. Check out their website or stop by Irving Cares and see first hand how they help the Irving community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer and board member off and on since 1999. I have seen this agency grow along with the need in the community. The dedicated volunteers and amazing staff make Irving Cares an extremely effective yet personal agency. The mission has remained constant over time, and families are being helped every day, thanks to their commitment and skills.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Irving Cares is an organization that treats every person who walks through the door with dignity. irving Cares offers Emergency Financial Assistance for rent, utility assistance gasoline vouchers bus passes and we help families purchase medical prescitions. Through our food pantry over 650 families recieve much needed groceries every month. Our money management classes which are available in english and spanish can be taken online or in our offices. The gasoline vochers help those that are seeking employment or need to get to a medical appointment. Our vision is to improve the quality of life for our clients through education and self help. When our clients were ask "were you treated with dignity and respect by the staff and volunteers" 100% said yes. It's not a handout at Irving Cares but rather it's a hand up.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a proud volunteer and board member of Irving Cares for several years, and I'm thoroughly impressed with the quality of service our staff and volunteers provide our community. As an Irving resident, a corporate donor and personal donor, I'm fully aware of the needs that Irving Cares meets for the residents of our community. The tremendous reputation that Irving Cares has in the social service arena is hands down as a result of the strong leadership in place throughout the organization. I'm proud to help and serve Irving Cares.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Fill orders in the food pantry for hungry families; interview those in need and recommend services, answer phones and greet clients. Volunteer