Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering in the food pantry for about a year and a half. I love it!!! It is so rewarding to be a part of providing a temporary help to someone in need. They always say thank you and I feel I should thank them for giving me the pleasure of doing something for them. They are very proud people and there but for the grace of God, I could be in their shoes. I try to always be pleasant with them. I love my job at Irving Cares, and although I'm a "newby" I hope I can do this for many years to come.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I began volunteering at Irving Cares when the arrival of Katrina survivors overwhelmed the ability of this agency to meet their emergency needs. But I have continued to volunteer there each week in the food pantry because of the truly dedicated staff and volunteers. Their commitment to improving the quality of life for Irving residents is outstanding. Each time I work, I am reminded that the opportunity to put good, nutritious food on the table is a blessing that many of us take for granted. I also want to recognize our vendor partners and individuals who donate excess food so that it can be redistributed to our neighbors in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 20, 2013

Working as a volunteer case manager as well as filling orders from the food pantry puts my own life in perspective. My family's worries seem trivial compared to the single mom who is looking for a job... more

July 31, 2014

Irving Cares lives up to its name. The agency truly does care about Irving. Founded in 1957 by Irving residents following a devastating tornado, the organization began as an all-volunteer entity. Today it is comprised of a 13-member staff assisted by 463 volunteers. It is a three-pronged organization consisting of the Emergency Assistance Program (EAP), the Employment Services Program (ESP) and the Patient Transportation Program (PTP). The largest component is EAP which includes the food pantry. Currently, Irving Cares provides food to about 50 families PER DAY! The food pantry is staffed entirely by volunteers who fill the food orders, meet with clients, and help with pickups and deliveries of food. The Employment Services Program helps families get back on their feet after the loss of a job. And the Patient Transportation Program allows chronically ill residents without transportation to keep their medical appointments.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure the food pantry always has fresh fruit and vegetables. (The agency is already working on this.)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Working as a volunteer case manager as well as filling orders from the food pantry puts my own life in perspective. My family's worries seem trivial compared to the single mom who is looking for a job while caring for her teenage daughter and the daughter's new baby. You realize what a difference an organization such as Irving Cares makes in the lives of our clients. Irving Cares puts food on their table so that they can get by another week with a paycheck that may have been cut. IC also provides rent or utility assistance enabling a family to spend money on a needed car repair so they can get to work. In a community such as Irving where there is a high level of low income families, it is crucial that social service agencies respond to such basic needs. As our motto states, we are not a handout but a hand up. And clients do appreciate it. It is a rare day when one of them doesn't thank us for what we are doing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the budget so that we could provide more for our clients, especially fresh fruit and vegetables.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My involvement with Irving Cares started more than 15 years ago when my son was in Cub Scouts in Irving, Texas. We participated in the annual Scouting for Food program. Our fledgling den, based at our local elementary school, brought in a substantial number of cans collected throughout the neighborhood. Our cub scouts and later my daughter's girl scout troop adopted families through Irving Cares. Seeing the reactions of the adopted kids when we delivered the requested items made a huge impression on our kids. Now my kids are grown and I am a weekly volunteer in the Irving Cares food pantry. Like my scouts before me, being able to help these families in need is what it's all about and makes us all count our blessings.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

Irving Cares provides emergency assistance to citizens of Irving, Texas who are experiencing a financial crisis in their lives. The Irving Cares food pantry has supplied 5 days worth of food for over 900 families within the past month, alone. Other services provided include vouchers for gasoline, payment of utility bills, job search assistance, and transportation to health care providers. The staff and volunteers of Irving Cares are committed to assisting our neighbors with care, compassion, and respect no matter what their circumstances. It is truly a joy to volunteer at Irving Cares each week.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make more space for the food pantry.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for about 5 years. I do data entry of volunteer time. I have assumed the responsibility that it is "my job" to enter the volunteer time each month for monthly reporting. This has added to my satisfaction of volunteering. It has also given me the opportunity to use some of my technical skills which help to complete the monthly task.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like more money, food donations, and larger staff so many more people can be served.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer at Irving Cares for almost 5 years. I find it a very rewarding experience and enjoy working with the clients, the other volunteers and the staff. The time goes by very quickly as we work
together to do as much as possible for our many and varied clients. I hope to be
able to continue this
work well into the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want to have more money so we could do more for our clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I'm a voluteer in the Intake Department. I meet the people who are having to deal with the "speed bumps in the road of life". Irving Cares helps with their immediate needs by providing food, information, guidance and understanding without being judgemental.

It is a priviledge to play a
small part to help build people up and help them recognize their own strenght.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at Irving Cares for three years and have enjoyed every day spent there. I especially enjoy meeting the clients and being able to say "Yes! We can help you with that."
The atmosphere is warm and friendly, with a professional staff who really cares about the clients'
needs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Update the computer system

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Irving Cares is a great organization -- well organized with impressive services designed to help people get back on their feet. Under the direction of Teddie Story, the employees and volunteers are dedicated and organized. It's a joy to volunteer for this organization and to see great success stories with many clients. What a pleasure to give back to the community and to help others!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Teddie Story and the entire Irving Cares staff did a great job with the Great Harvest this year. All of our donors had a wonderful time and we raised a LOT of money for the agency! Irving Cares is a top notch organization that provides much needed services to residents in Irving. If you donate to Irving Cares, you know that your dollars are being spent wisely and effectively.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Fill orders in the food pantry for hungry families; interview those in need and recommend services, answer phones and greet clients. Volunteer