Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at Irving Cares for a few weeks and have been very impressed by the quality of the services provided and the dedication of the staff and volunteers. There is a genuine commitment to helping those in need and also directing them to other resources available in the community. It has been a rewarding and enjoyable experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It's all good!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 28, 2012

My involvement with Irving Cares started more than 15 years ago when my son was in Cub Scouts in Irving, Texas. We participated in the annual Scouting for Food program. Our fledgling den, based at our... more

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Working as a volunteer case manager as well as filling orders from the food pantry puts my own life in perspective. My family's worries seem trivial compared to the single mom who is looking for a job while caring for her teenage daughter and the daughter's new baby. You realize what a difference an organization such as Irving Cares makes in the lives of our clients. Irving Cares puts food on their table so that they can get by another week with a paycheck that may have been cut. IC also provides rent or utility assistance enabling a family to spend money on a needed car repair so they can get to work. In a community such as Irving where there is a high level of low income families, it is crucial that social service agencies respond to such basic needs. As our motto states, we are not a handout but a hand up. And clients do appreciate it. It is a rare day when one of them doesn't thank us for what we are doing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the budget so that we could provide more for our clients, especially fresh fruit and vegetables.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My involvement with Irving Cares started more than 15 years ago when my son was in Cub Scouts in Irving, Texas. We participated in the annual Scouting for Food program. Our fledgling den, based at our local elementary school, brought in a substantial number of cans collected throughout the neighborhood. Our cub scouts and later my daughter's girl scout troop adopted families through Irving Cares. Seeing the reactions of the adopted kids when we delivered the requested items made a huge impression on our kids. Now my kids are grown and I am a weekly volunteer in the Irving Cares food pantry. Like my scouts before me, being able to help these families in need is what it's all about and makes us all count our blessings.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a board member of Irving Cares for 3 years. Serving on the board has been an awesome and life changing experience. CEO, Teddie Story, and the dedicated staff do an excellent job at serving the community. Even though the staff may be small in number, they serve as if they are a team of 100. This is a great organization that has made a wonderful impact on the Irving community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have lived in Irving, TX for over 20 years;, about 6 years ago I heard about Irving Cares. From day one my family has donated to their food program (money, food, plastic bags). One day I was given the wonderful opportunity to take a tour. The whole time I was there I saw the respect Irving Cares demonstrates to the Citizens of Irving. I am proud to now be a contributor through my company's United Way program. My husband and I enjoy receiving their newsletter and being able to stay in touch with our community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My company has worked with Irving Cares fo rthe last 5 years and I think the work they do is amazing. I love that it's "a hand up not a hand out" and they really work to enrich recipients lives. I always look forward to our food drives at work, because I get to talk to the kind people at Irving Cares. Teddie does an amzing job with limited resources!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

So proud of what the Irving Cares staff and volunteers are able to accomplish year after year. I'm not only a proud volunteer/board member, but I live in Irving and I see first hand the difference that Irving Cares makes in our community. Great organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 11, 2012

I have been a board member since 2004 and have witnessed the great work and support that Irving Cares provides to the greater Irving community. Over the past 8 years this charity has been consistent... more

April 8, 2013

I have been honored to serve on the board of Irving Cares for 9 years. The CEO, Teddie Story, and the small yet effective staff at IRving Cares are doing yeoman's work serving the community. The organization is run professionally and efficiently, but the clients always receive a dignified and personal touch relative to their specific and unique needs from the staff and volunteers. Irving Cares truly makes a positive impact to the residents of Irving, TX who need a lifeline or some temporary assistance.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a board member since 2004 and have witnessed the great work and support that Irving Cares provides to the greater Irving community. Over the past 8 years this charity has been consistent and laser focused in its mission to provide residents with temporary financial assistance and training that ultimately allows families to get back on their feet and on a road to self sufficiency. It truly is a lifeline for families that are in need of timely and immediate help; whether that includes healthy nutritious food received via the food pantry, job search assistance through the jobs program, or taking a money management class prior to receiving funds to help pay rent and/or utilities. I am proud to serve on the board of Irving Cares and work with an extremely dedicated and caring staff as well as committed volunteers!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 22, 2012

I have been a volunteer and board member for Irving Cares for several years. Teddie Story and her staff do a great job in trying to meet the needs of Irving residents. And the need is great and cont... more

April 8, 2013

I have been on the board for Irving Cares for over 10 years. Teddie Story (CEO) and her staff do such a great job. Even though Teddie has a limited staff, she has lots of volunteers and together they are able to help so many Irving residents. There is so much need in Irving and Irving Cares is able to help those in need with rental and utility assistance, a food pantry and employment assistance. All of the clients at Irving Cares are treated with dignity and respect. And many of Irving Cares' volunteers and employees have been there for many years - another testament to Teddie's great leadership. Irving would not be the same without Teddie and Irving Cares.
Mary Ann Burns
Board Secretary

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer and board member for Irving Cares for several years. Teddie Story and her staff do a great job in trying to meet the needs of Irving residents. And the need is great and continues to grow every year! It is not easy to ask for help and when a client asks for help from Irving Cares, they are treated with dignity and respect. Irving Cares gives them a hand up not a hand out and teaches them how to be self sufficient. Irving Cares is a great resource for the Irving Community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 11, 2012

Irving Cares has been helping Irving residents in need for decades. Their caring approach help clients feel at ease and able to maintain their sense of self-dignity. Teddie and the entire staff geni... more

April 8, 2013

I have been a member of the board for over3 years and must say this is one of the best run organizations I've encountered. Teddie Story and her team does an exceptional job of serving their client's needs. They always have the client's best interest at heart and go to great lengths to make sure they are treated with the most upmost respect and dignity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 11, 2012

Irving Cares has been helping Irving residents in need for decades. Their caring approach help clients feel at ease and able to maintain their sense of self-dignity. Teddie and the entire staff genially care for the individuals that need their help and treat them with the upmost respect. This organization is highly respected in the Irving community as a caring organization that truly serves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I have been involved with Irving Cares for several years. This organization really has a big heart that reaches out to anyone that comes through their door. The staff is wonderful. It is a volunteer driven organization of Irving people helping Irving people. It is a true example of a community helping each other. This place changes and makes Irving a better place. I am proud to be associated with a place like this.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Fill orders in the food pantry for hungry families; interview those in need and recommend services, answer phones and greet clients. Volunteer