Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

Irving Cares is a fantastic organization.As a single person of my age,I really felt uneasy about having to ask for any type of assistance for getting groceries.However, the staff was very friendly and treated me with respect.I am between jobs and simply did not have any groceries left and I was able to get enough food to last at least a week or two untill I start getting a regular paycheck.All the items I received were fresh and some were a better quality than what I buy when I am working.I appreciate and am thankful to all who volunteer,work,donate, or in whatever capacity they help. I am very pleased with my experince at Irving Cares.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

I began volunteering at Irving Cares when the arrival of Katrina survivors overwhelmed the ability of this agency to meet their emergency needs. But I have continued to volunteer there each week in the food pantry because of the truly dedicated staff and volunteers. Their commitment to improving the quality of life for Irving residents is outstanding. Each time I work, I am reminded that the opportunity to put good, nutritious food on the table is a blessing that many of us take for granted. I also want to recognize our vendor partners and individuals who donate excess food so that it can be redistributed to our neighbors in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 20, 2013

Working as a volunteer case manager as well as filling orders from the food pantry puts my own life in perspective. My family's worries seem trivial compared to the single mom who is looking for a job... more

July 31, 2014

Irving Cares lives up to its name. The agency truly does care about Irving. Founded in 1957 by Irving residents following a devastating tornado, the organization began as an all-volunteer entity. Today it is comprised of a 13-member staff assisted by 463 volunteers. It is a three-pronged organization consisting of the Emergency Assistance Program (EAP), the Employment Services Program (ESP) and the Patient Transportation Program (PTP). The largest component is EAP which includes the food pantry. Currently, Irving Cares provides food to about 50 families PER DAY! The food pantry is staffed entirely by volunteers who fill the food orders, meet with clients, and help with pickups and deliveries of food. The Employment Services Program helps families get back on their feet after the loss of a job. And the Patient Transportation Program allows chronically ill residents without transportation to keep their medical appointments.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure the food pantry always has fresh fruit and vegetables. (The agency is already working on this.)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Working as a volunteer case manager as well as filling orders from the food pantry puts my own life in perspective. My family's worries seem trivial compared to the single mom who is looking for a job while caring for her teenage daughter and the daughter's new baby. You realize what a difference an organization such as Irving Cares makes in the lives of our clients. Irving Cares puts food on their table so that they can get by another week with a paycheck that may have been cut. IC also provides rent or utility assistance enabling a family to spend money on a needed car repair so they can get to work. In a community such as Irving where there is a high level of low income families, it is crucial that social service agencies respond to such basic needs. As our motto states, we are not a handout but a hand up. And clients do appreciate it. It is a rare day when one of them doesn't thank us for what we are doing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the budget so that we could provide more for our clients, especially fresh fruit and vegetables.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My involvement with Irving Cares started more than 15 years ago when my son was in Cub Scouts in Irving, Texas. We participated in the annual Scouting for Food program. Our fledgling den, based at our local elementary school, brought in a substantial number of cans collected throughout the neighborhood. Our cub scouts and later my daughter's girl scout troop adopted families through Irving Cares. Seeing the reactions of the adopted kids when we delivered the requested items made a huge impression on our kids. Now my kids are grown and I am a weekly volunteer in the Irving Cares food pantry. Like my scouts before me, being able to help these families in need is what it's all about and makes us all count our blessings.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

Irving Cares provides emergency assistance to citizens of Irving, Texas who are experiencing a financial crisis in their lives. The Irving Cares food pantry has supplied 5 days worth of food for over 900 families within the past month, alone. Other services provided include vouchers for gasoline, payment of utility bills, job search assistance, and transportation to health care providers. The staff and volunteers of Irving Cares are committed to assisting our neighbors with care, compassion, and respect no matter what their circumstances. It is truly a joy to volunteer at Irving Cares each week.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make more space for the food pantry.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Irving Cares meets basic human needs with compassion, customer service and experience. Its long-tenured staff is rare compared to "revolving doors" @ most agencies. I applaud board and staff for making specific pantry/funding asks, diversifying revenue sources & board composition. Service delivery with a temporary crisis focus gets clients on track. I routinely refer clients, prospective employees or volunteers, corporate citizens and community leaders knowing they will enjoy the association. As a governance consultant, it's marvelous when 501c3s take process improvement and marketing goals seriously. I'm blessed to see this former client improve in key arenas since 2011 goal-setting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be more widely known and better supported by the entire Irving community

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

Irving Cares provides a beyond-vital service to the community - they truly make a difference, they are committed to their cause, they look for ways to reach beyond those they can serve directly. They... more

May 29, 2014

Irving Cares goal of "a hand up, not a hand out" says it all to me. They make amazing things happen with the thinnest of resources, and the biggest of hearts and heads from a very small staff and an expanding group of volunteers. Every dollar matters, every jar of peanut butter given matters, and they make sure of it. They are changing lives every single day in ways that restore dignity and trust and faith, and they bring about healing and hope because of it. The number of people living below the poverty level (or barely at it) isn't shrinking in our community. That weighs heavily on the hearts of the staff and volunteers that are Irving Cares every single day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them a stable and significant funding stream so that they could do even more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Irving Cares provides a beyond-vital service to the community - they truly make a difference, they are committed to their cause, they look for ways to reach beyond those they can serve directly. They truly preach and believe that it is a "hand up" and not a "hand out" and they are truly making a difference. The lives they touch, touch many other lives. It is amazing what they accomplish with such a small staff, but they make every hour and every penny count. Their volunteers are beyond committed. They truly are an extension of the staff's priorities, with the community's best interests at heart. All truly exemplify true servant leadership.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

i lost my job and needed help finding work. the people at Irving cares helped me find a job, put food on my table until i could get steady money coming in. they helped me when need it the most. the people seemed to really care about me and just listened. this place saved my life

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for about 5 years. I do data entry of volunteer time. I have assumed the responsibility that it is "my job" to enter the volunteer time each month for monthly reporting. This has added to my satisfaction of volunteering. It has also given me the opportunity to use some of my technical skills which help to complete the monthly task.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like more money, food donations, and larger staff so many more people can be served.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer at Irving Cares for almost 5 years. I find it a very rewarding experience and enjoy working with the clients, the other volunteers and the staff. The time goes by very quickly as we work
together to do as much as possible for our many and varied clients. I hope to be
able to continue this
work well into the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want to have more money so we could do more for our clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Irving Cares provides temporary assistance that touches the lives of 20% of Irving residents. Teddie Story leads the staff and dedicated volunteers in providing financial assistance, food, employment services and referrals in a caring and professional way to people struggling with unexpected circumstances. It's a privilege for me to participate in helping people get their lives back on track.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Fill orders in the food pantry for hungry families; interview those in need and recommend services, answer phones and greet clients. Volunteer