Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Irving Cares meets basic human needs with compassion, customer service and experience. Its long-tenured staff is rare compared to "revolving doors" @ most agencies. I applaud board and staff for making specific pantry/funding asks, diversifying revenue sources & board composition. Service delivery with a temporary crisis focus gets clients on track. I routinely refer clients, prospective employees or volunteers, corporate citizens and community leaders knowing they will enjoy the association. As a governance consultant, it's marvelous when 501c3s take process improvement and marketing goals seriously. I'm blessed to see this former client improve in key arenas since 2011 goal-setting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be more widely known and better supported by the entire Irving community

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

Irving Cares provides a beyond-vital service to the community - they truly make a difference, they are committed to their cause, they look for ways to reach beyond those they can serve directly. They... more

May 29, 2014

Irving Cares goal of "a hand up, not a hand out" says it all to me. They make amazing things happen with the thinnest of resources, and the biggest of hearts and heads from a very small staff and an expanding group of volunteers. Every dollar matters, every jar of peanut butter given matters, and they make sure of it. They are changing lives every single day in ways that restore dignity and trust and faith, and they bring about healing and hope because of it. The number of people living below the poverty level (or barely at it) isn't shrinking in our community. That weighs heavily on the hearts of the staff and volunteers that are Irving Cares every single day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them a stable and significant funding stream so that they could do even more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Irving Cares provides a beyond-vital service to the community - they truly make a difference, they are committed to their cause, they look for ways to reach beyond those they can serve directly. They truly preach and believe that it is a "hand up" and not a "hand out" and they are truly making a difference. The lives they touch, touch many other lives. It is amazing what they accomplish with such a small staff, but they make every hour and every penny count. Their volunteers are beyond committed. They truly are an extension of the staff's priorities, with the community's best interests at heart. All truly exemplify true servant leadership.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

i lost my job and needed help finding work. the people at Irving cares helped me find a job, put food on my table until i could get steady money coming in. they helped me when need it the most. the people seemed to really care about me and just listened. this place saved my life

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for about 5 years. I do data entry of volunteer time. I have assumed the responsibility that it is "my job" to enter the volunteer time each month for monthly reporting. This has added to my satisfaction of volunteering. It has also given me the opportunity to use some of my technical skills which help to complete the monthly task.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like more money, food donations, and larger staff so many more people can be served.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer at Irving Cares for almost 5 years. I find it a very rewarding experience and enjoy working with the clients, the other volunteers and the staff. The time goes by very quickly as we work
together to do as much as possible for our many and varied clients. I hope to be
able to continue this
work well into the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want to have more money so we could do more for our clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Irving Cares provides temporary assistance that touches the lives of 20% of Irving residents. Teddie Story leads the staff and dedicated volunteers in providing financial assistance, food, employment services and referrals in a caring and professional way to people struggling with unexpected circumstances. It's a privilege for me to participate in helping people get their lives back on track.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I'm a voluteer in the Intake Department. I meet the people who are having to deal with the "speed bumps in the road of life". Irving Cares helps with their immediate needs by providing food, information, guidance and understanding without being judgemental.

It is a priviledge to play a
small part to help build people up and help them recognize their own strenght.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at Irving Cares for three years and have enjoyed every day spent there. I especially enjoy meeting the clients and being able to say "Yes! We can help you with that."
The atmosphere is warm and friendly, with a professional staff who really cares about the clients'
needs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Update the computer system

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Irving Cares is a great organization -- well organized with impressive services designed to help people get back on their feet. Under the direction of Teddie Story, the employees and volunteers are dedicated and organized. It's a joy to volunteer for this organization and to see great success stories with many clients. What a pleasure to give back to the community and to help others!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Teddie Story and the entire Irving Cares staff did a great job with the Great Harvest this year. All of our donors had a wonderful time and we raised a LOT of money for the agency! Irving Cares is a top notch organization that provides much needed services to residents in Irving. If you donate to Irving Cares, you know that your dollars are being spent wisely and effectively.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Fill orders in the food pantry for hungry families; interview those in need and recommend services, answer phones and greet clients. Volunteer