Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

i lost my job and needed help finding work. the people at Irving cares helped me find a job, put food on my table until i could get steady money coming in. they helped me when need it the most. the people seemed to really care about me and just listened. this place saved my life

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for about 5 years. I do data entry of volunteer time. I have assumed the responsibility that it is "my job" to enter the volunteer time each month for monthly reporting. This has added to my satisfaction of volunteering. It has also given me the opportunity to use some of my technical skills which help to complete the monthly task.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like more money, food donations, and larger staff so many more people can be served.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer at Irving Cares for almost 5 years. I find it a very rewarding experience and enjoy working with the clients, the other volunteers and the staff. The time goes by very quickly as we work
together to do as much as possible for our many and varied clients. I hope to be
able to continue this
work well into the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want to have more money so we could do more for our clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Irving Cares provides temporary assistance that touches the lives of 20% of Irving residents. Teddie Story leads the staff and dedicated volunteers in providing financial assistance, food, employment services and referrals in a caring and professional way to people struggling with unexpected circumstances. It's a privilege for me to participate in helping people get their lives back on track.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I'm a voluteer in the Intake Department. I meet the people who are having to deal with the "speed bumps in the road of life". Irving Cares helps with their immediate needs by providing food, information, guidance and understanding without being judgemental.

It is a priviledge to play a
small part to help build people up and help them recognize their own strenght.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at Irving Cares for three years and have enjoyed every day spent there. I especially enjoy meeting the clients and being able to say "Yes! We can help you with that."
The atmosphere is warm and friendly, with a professional staff who really cares about the clients'
needs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Update the computer system

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Irving Cares is a great organization -- well organized with impressive services designed to help people get back on their feet. Under the direction of Teddie Story, the employees and volunteers are dedicated and organized. It's a joy to volunteer for this organization and to see great success stories with many clients. What a pleasure to give back to the community and to help others!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Teddie Story and the entire Irving Cares staff did a great job with the Great Harvest this year. All of our donors had a wonderful time and we raised a LOT of money for the agency! Irving Cares is a top notch organization that provides much needed services to residents in Irving. If you donate to Irving Cares, you know that your dollars are being spent wisely and effectively.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at Irving Cares for a few weeks and have been very impressed by the quality of the services provided and the dedication of the staff and volunteers. There is a genuine commitment to helping those in need and also directing them to other resources available in the community. It has been a rewarding and enjoyable experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It's all good!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 28, 2012

My involvement with Irving Cares started more than 15 years ago when my son was in Cub Scouts in Irving, Texas. We participated in the annual Scouting for Food program. Our fledgling den, based at our... more

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Working as a volunteer case manager as well as filling orders from the food pantry puts my own life in perspective. My family's worries seem trivial compared to the single mom who is looking for a job while caring for her teenage daughter and the daughter's new baby. You realize what a difference an organization such as Irving Cares makes in the lives of our clients. Irving Cares puts food on their table so that they can get by another week with a paycheck that may have been cut. IC also provides rent or utility assistance enabling a family to spend money on a needed car repair so they can get to work. In a community such as Irving where there is a high level of low income families, it is crucial that social service agencies respond to such basic needs. As our motto states, we are not a handout but a hand up. And clients do appreciate it. It is a rare day when one of them doesn't thank us for what we are doing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the budget so that we could provide more for our clients, especially fresh fruit and vegetables.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My involvement with Irving Cares started more than 15 years ago when my son was in Cub Scouts in Irving, Texas. We participated in the annual Scouting for Food program. Our fledgling den, based at our local elementary school, brought in a substantial number of cans collected throughout the neighborhood. Our cub scouts and later my daughter's girl scout troop adopted families through Irving Cares. Seeing the reactions of the adopted kids when we delivered the requested items made a huge impression on our kids. Now my kids are grown and I am a weekly volunteer in the Irving Cares food pantry. Like my scouts before me, being able to help these families in need is what it's all about and makes us all count our blessings.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Fill orders in the food pantry for hungry families; interview those in need and recommend services, answer phones and greet clients. Volunteer