Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
473 Reviews
1234.976745
Previous | 1 2 3...47 |
Write A Review
June 9, 2014

I have read the book "Birthing The Miraculous" by Heidi Baker of Iris Ministries and discovered the beautiful secret to this outreach: Taking time to feel the love of God, and then letting Him give love through themselves to others. They specifically reached out to the "throwaway" children, orphans who had to beg and sell themselves to eat, and now these adult children are, 20 years later, the most desirable, educated workers in the country. I believe they feed daily more than 1,000 orphans, and school them. in an incredibly short period of time churches over 10,000 in number have been established in village after village. Through stonings, beatings, life threatening diseases like Malaria, false slander, hunger, cold, homelessness, arrests for no crime, injustices, Roland and Heidi Baker have been bringing forth wonderful "diamonds in the rough" out of the dirt, out of villages built at the sites of the garbage dumps. The people there learn the truth of their worth as creations of God and desired by God, which makes them aware of their beauty. They have grown to be young men and women able to work and they do wonderful things. They are sought after as top workers in their country. They have become a stable base of citizens. Colleges and university have been established through Iris Ministries, schools for the young orphaned children, food for all the orphans, AIDS children cared for. Iris has returned love upon love to all who misunderstood the true goodness of heart, the good motives behind this ministry. This ministry is a mega accomplishment in a country in the aftermath of war and recurring natural disasters and the successes really only could have been accomplished by miracle interventions and mercies of God in addition to the lay-down-their-life devotion of those of Iris Ministries.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bless them with more of everything they need. Would love to see someone restructure the ecosystem and make a way for flooding to drain from the land so that housing is not destroyed. Would love to see water systems for the people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 2, 2014

Iris Global , under the leadership of Rolland and Heidi baker is changing the world through their various ministry outreaches around the world going where few dare to go . I have seen first hand the impact of iris global. I urge all to support their humanitarian efforts around the world . Your life will be enriched and impacted . Iris global is an organization of integrity that has stood the test of time , help keep them strong .

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 16, 2014

Iris' work with the poor of Mozambique is literally changing a nation. Orphans are being given a home, family and education and finding that they are no-longer orphans but children with a hope and a future. Widows are looked after, business start-ups are funded and supported, schools built and staffed, medical centres and hospitals are rising out of hopeless situations to serve these precious people. Farms are springing up which feed multitudes. And on and on and on the list goes.
If Christianity was ever meant to be anything it is this, love in action.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 16, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 16, 2014

Iris ministry is beyond incredible! Changing lives daily! Saving lives! I am honored to get to team up with them this summer in Cambodia!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 15, 2014

My wife and I and our infant son volunteered in the summer of 2005 with Iris in Pemba, Mozambique. Although the conditions were challenging (my son briefly caught malaria), work that the Iris staff was doing was extraordinary. We were able to see the positive transformation of the people and the communities there unfolding before our eyes, with the humble service of the Iris people making this possible. As I have followed and financially supported Iris Ministries in the years since (with my wife volunteering for a few weeks in Pemba several years later), I have been impressed with their great commitment to the well-being of the poor. What began as a primary spiritual/religious endeavor in Mozambique (which I wholeheartedly endorse), has retained those spiritual strengths while becoming a full orbed expression of sustainable, holistic transformation of communities. This including their relief work, provision of wells for clean water, training in skills for micro business, formation of schools accessible to the poor, and more. Now government officials at local and national levels are recognizing the excellent educational and humanitarian work that Iris has been doing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing comes to mind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 12, 2013

Just got back from 2 and 1/2 weeks with Iris Ministeries in Pemba Mozambique. I am trying not to be speechless! This is my 3 rd visit. I'm learning from the most precious group of people in the world... more

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

A week ago, I came back from my 4th visit to the Pemba Mozambique Base of Iris, in 16 months.
Whilst I was there, a severe cyclone hit the area, with devastating consequences, to the local people. But, Heidi and Rolland didn't waste time. They sent us out into the local villages, to invite the
villagers to a Party. There was joyful dancing and singing, a short viewing of the Jesus Film, and then the fun began: large platefuls of spaghetti and tuna, with a dollop of mayonnaise, and cold drink was handed out. Such a demonstration of the Father's heart, abundance.
The widows were invited, with their little kiddies, to sleep in the large shed like structure used for church meetings, and were given food, daily.
I saw Iris people pouring out their lives, to help the villagers who had lost everything, I am so humbled by their example. As volunteers, we were invited to join in, so graciously.
My friend and I were also able to visit people of another faith, tell our stories, and us hear theirs, and pray with these lovely people, what a privilege.
I also did medical volunteer work: what I loved was that the motto is 'stop for the one': I was able to engage in a medical capacity, but also, to take time out to take the people I was treating, to the beach, for a cold drink, and swim for the first time, for them, in the sea: this is an indelible memory, the joy, the fun: Iris is about relationship, I SO appreciate this aspect.
I reflect on my 17 days, I have learnt that the poor know how to give, and to serve, in a way that I have not begun to comprehend, but, I want to learn.
As Mama Heidi says, it's 'low and slow'.
I am so so grateful that Heidi and Rolland have allowed us to be involved in their Charity, I am grateful, and so Humbled.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2013

Just got back from 2 and 1/2 weeks with Iris Ministeries in Pemba Mozambique. I am trying not to be speechless! This is my 3 rd visit. I'm learning from the most precious group of people in the world, what love looks like. I learnt, get your love on, before you serve, and if your love isn't on, go find God, drench yourself in Him and His love, and then come and serve. Serving has never been so easy, truly and honestly. I've also learnt, that when we all share, there is always enough and more, for everyone. There was a GTM (Global Team Meeting of Iris leaders from around the world): wow, I looked at this Iris family, and thought, this is what heaven must look like. I saw people who carry the Iris DNA of love, unconditional, uncomplicated LOVE. The more I get to know the Iris organization, and the people who are part of it, the more I realise, these are ordinary people, loving with extra- ordinary love. I've tried to put my thoughts in words, but, they are so inadequate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything in this beautiful extra- ordinary love of this amazing Iris family

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2013

I had the immense privilege of helping as a volunteer, in November 2012, and March 2013. I am a physiotherapist. Iris is about LOVE. iris is about 'the ONE', see their 'STOP for the ONE'. I was able to help a 5 year old girl who has neur developmental problems. I took her to the beach every day, for 2 weeks, she loved the freedom of the water, God provided beautiful water at body temperature right across the road from the Pemba Mozambique Base. We had so much fun :). I was able to teach the Mammas how to carry through with a Rehab program. I was also able to help a young 17 year old lad, who had a stroke; I took a pedal cycle out, and he SO enjoyed this. I was given so much support by the Iris team.
Friday nights, we went into the village, and loved on the young ladies. Iris had bought a small hut, which was amongst the beer halls, a safe haven for these young ladies aged about 10 to 20; we painted their nails, washed their feet with wet wipes, made them feel special and loved. We hugged them, they hugged us, sometimes we thought they would never let go. This was one of the most emotional things I have been ever able to do: to hug these young ladies, some of whom we knew would have to go out and sell their bodies for food: to be Jesus' hands and arms, hugging them, I will never get over thie experience.
Iris has taught me a much deeper level of love, it has changed my perception and my outlook and my life!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Honestly, I would not make any changes. Iris is ALL about LOVE, and I have realized that this is what life is ALL about, LOVE.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 14, 2014

Iris Ministries is a ministry that is touching the hearts of people in and out of their "headquarters" in Mozambique. The heart of the ministry is God's heart, and it is healing. The love shown through these devoted believers is inspiring and provoking. Iris Ministries has challenged me towards love and taught me things about my Daddy, I hope all will know. I am so thankful, and I am positive many more are as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 14, 2014

An outsider's thoughts: Iris ministries is a refreshing perspective of what it means to follow Jesus. This organization has been an inspiration to me on what it means to 'love your neighbor.' Even though they do much of their work in 3rd world nations, their values have impacted me in a first world nation - the USA.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 14, 2014

I had followed Heidi Baker and Iris Ministries for many years before actually meeting her or attending one of their events. Their history of selfless efforts and personal sacrifice that can be readily seen and verified influenced my decision to be a donor. Listening to Heidi's teachings and attending a conference where she spoke to specific situations in my life, empowered me with the confidence and insight to make critical decisions concerning business and spiritual growth.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 14, 2014

As a donor and a person who has heard the Bakers speak at several conferences I have attended, I am constantly amazed at the work they do and the stories I have heard them tell. They are doing phenomenal work to aid the poor and orphaned children of the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...47 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers