Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.208335
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

There is a lot to love about this organization. It places veterans at the heart of its operations and never deviates. I have seen its programs work to provide mental health assistance as vets make the transition from combat to civilian life-- saving lives in the process. Their case management team acts with the utmost compassion and is responsible for the help vets receive when they return home. It also organizes veterans in ways that elevate their esteem and service nationwide. IAVA's innovative, one-of-a-kind New GI Bill Calculator serves as a simple yet instructive resource to help vets clearly understand the benefits for higher education-- benefits they have earned. Further, I've witnessed them on the front lines in Washington holding our government accountable, making sure vets are not left behind because of politics. The New GI Bill, the Hired Heroes Act, and national awareness over the shameful VA Backlog demonstrate its reach and success in keeping our leaders accountable and substance-oriented as we move deeper in the 21st Century. Altogether, there is no better organization that represents this generation's heroes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

There is a need for this organization because, let's face it, some of the other military organizations are not able to focus on the needs of this generation of veterans, whose views are often different from older veterans simply because of generational differences. However, when I see a headquarters in NYC and gala event invites with $500/ticket minimums (NYC gala) I become suspicious. Yes, the money will go toward lobbying etc in Washington DC but why would you HQ an organization in NYC with high costs and salaries unless there was something very vet-specific about NYC? Why not DC? I have seen too many nonprofits that seemed to be more about A-list parties (SLDN comes to mind) that funded more fundraising and salaries than provided actual services. IAVA is a needed voice in DC but they certainly weren't the only or strongest voices on recent legislative victories. Again, I think they're a much needed voice (my spouse served in Afghanistan) but explain to me why the NYC headquarters and, as another person noted, no elected officers of the organization to ensure it represents its membership views.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2011

more

October 20, 2011

IAVA has done so much great work for Iraq and Afghanistan veterans. From the New GI Bill to advanced funding for the VA to so much more, they are ahead of the pack by far!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 11, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

OK...let's be honest. What programs or services does IAVA provide? A website- That doesn't count in my book. Oh, ok, free tickets to ball games. Nice try. Pretty strong marketing and fundraising machine which lobbies quite a bit on capitol hill. Actually, thank you for the lobbying, but you all know quite well you don't do much more than that. Love to see IAVA step up and provide substantial programs to veterans. I give you 2 stars instead of one...mostly for the lobbying. However, lobbying shouldn't be the focus of a 501c3 nonprofit.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Media

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Develop programs and services or change the organization into a lobbying firm.

July 8, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 8, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

Wolf in sheeps clothing, true policitical operation with very little to offer in my opinion to the warriors. Give to real support organizations like Soldier's Angels or Wounded Warrior Project if you really want to help.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Every day through news media

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it actually help the vet.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help distribute information on using the new GI Bill to veterans at a local event.