Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.208335
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

I have been a long standing Member of this Great Org. They have help me in so many way, from helping me write and resume, given me advise and just being there to listen when i need and ear. The rucksack is also wonderful I recieve a free suit and a few other thing I need to make life a little eazyer.
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

IAVA was instrumental in improving the education benefits for all service members and veterans. I was able to take advantage of the post-9/11 GI bill to complete my bachelors program. Without the superior tuition reimbursement and BAH stipend, I would not have been able to attend school and support my wife and children. IAVA is also supporting our Veteran Student Organization at San Jose State by sponsoring events and sending free promotional materials. They also help me with leadership training and individual mentoring. I am excited to be part of such a passionate organization that is perfectly aligned with my career goal of supporting our nation's Veterans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand this organization to California where 2.2 million Veterans would be able to unite and make positive policy changes to the State's laws.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

IAVA has really worked to help the student veterans at my school, UC Berkeley. They do so much to help us understand the GI BILL, have passed along great job opportunities and are currently helping us promote community service events.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see a larger IAVA presence in the San Francisco area.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

There is a lot to love about this organization. It places veterans at the heart of its operations and never deviates. I have seen its programs work to provide mental health assistance as vets make the transition from combat to civilian life-- saving lives in the process. Their case management team acts with the utmost compassion and is responsible for the help vets receive when they return home. It also organizes veterans in ways that elevate their esteem and service nationwide. IAVA's innovative, one-of-a-kind New GI Bill Calculator serves as a simple yet instructive resource to help vets clearly understand the benefits for higher education-- benefits they have earned. Further, I've witnessed them on the front lines in Washington holding our government accountable, making sure vets are not left behind because of politics. The New GI Bill, the Hired Heroes Act, and national awareness over the shameful VA Backlog demonstrate its reach and success in keeping our leaders accountable and substance-oriented as we move deeper in the 21st Century. Altogether, there is no better organization that represents this generation's heroes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 28, 2013

Passionate organization that is always fighting for the rights of our veterans. There are very few organizations out there dedicated specifically to the needs of this generation of veterans and I am proud to work closely with them. They survey their membership each year to make sure they are meeting their needs and it helps them figure out what programs and services are really needed. Two thumbs up!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 6, 2013

more

March 6, 2013

IAVA is a veterans’ educational organization that happens to provide the most relevant and valuable services to the current generation of veterans and the public: a. the television and radio ad program that was the first to impact the general public and educate them on the issue of veteran isolation; b. effective advocacy for the current veterans that lead the traditional veteran service organizations in “airing the dirty laundry about the poor capacity and performance of our military transitions process, the claims process, and veterans mental health care programs” resulting in increased congressional oversight and improvements; c. education of the public on the “real unemployment rate” of our young veterans versus an original erroneous report done by Department of Labor that motivated the US Chamber of Commerce to act; and d. the development of outreach programs for young veterans based on their dominant mode and methods of communication, cyberspace. I’ve been a long time member and leader in the older veterans organizations that provide dying NCO and officer club type venues and “command structures” that caused these clubs to fail on our posts/bases, because younger generations does not relate to them. Presidents and Governors seem to have selected lots of government appointees from the older organizations, yet the organizations didn’t seem effective in engaging the public about what needed to be done until IAVA stood up. Entrepreneurship training/boot camps, corporate employment development, and membership surveys using quantitative methods to determine issues versus the good ole boys . . . leading change is how IAVA has impacted the sector.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

more

January 8, 2013

I originally joined this organization hoping to have a resource for my generation of combat veteran much like the VVA. Unfortunately I found an organization more interested in counting me as a number on their roster and less about providing any sort of unique support. Outside of lobbying on Capitol Hill I saw no tangible efforts to provide services to veterans that were not being offered already, and more effectively, by other organizations.

After repeated attempts to have my name and contact information deleted from their records I am still being contacted and can only assume being inaccurately counted among their membership. This correspondence has been in the form of asking for donations that will support "programs" to help veterans without any mention of said program or what exactly is being done.

I also believe the way in witch they have framed their legislative accomplishments has been misleading. I was inundated with messages about how "IAVA did this" or "IAVA accomplished that" as if they were the only voice on the hill and other VNGO's such as the American Legion, VFW, VVA, and DVA were not involved.

I give the IAVA one star and questions their administrative practices and over all organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

There is a need for this organization because, let's face it, some of the other military organizations are not able to focus on the needs of this generation of veterans, whose views are often different from older veterans simply because of generational differences. However, when I see a headquarters in NYC and gala event invites with $500/ticket minimums (NYC gala) I become suspicious. Yes, the money will go toward lobbying etc in Washington DC but why would you HQ an organization in NYC with high costs and salaries unless there was something very vet-specific about NYC? Why not DC? I have seen too many nonprofits that seemed to be more about A-list parties (SLDN comes to mind) that funded more fundraising and salaries than provided actual services. IAVA is a needed voice in DC but they certainly weren't the only or strongest voices on recent legislative victories. Again, I think they're a much needed voice (my spouse served in Afghanistan) but explain to me why the NYC headquarters and, as another person noted, no elected officers of the organization to ensure it represents its membership views.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I think IAVA does a wonderful job of lobbying and marketing, but their organizational structure is flawed. They seem to have no elected leadership, but they play in the veteran membership space which is largely dominated by member-based organization that elect some portion of their leadership. However, they claim to be the go-to organization on all issues related to Iraq and Afghanistan veterans. That is a little suspect to me: no elected officers in your membership based organization? Who votes on the policy issues? You folks are also missing a core component: Programs and Services. You are a young org so you have some work to do, but that's ok. Good effort all around.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2011

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2010

Hey, the Iraq & Afghanistan Veterans of America get real stuff done for vets, like educational and medical benefits. On a daily basis, they support vets, and provide means for them to help each oth... more

November 14, 2011

IAVA has been very effective in a number of areas, like getting better Federal legislation for vets, improving awareness and support for vets problems, and mutual support systems for vets.

This also includes real big areas like jobs for vets, which is perhaps the highest priority matter
for veterans, and their spouses. They're arguably the most important support groups for recent vets.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 12, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Hey, the Iraq & Afghanistan Veterans of America get real stuff done for vets, like educational and medical benefits. On a daily basis, they support vets, and provide means for them to help each other out. If you're serious about supporting vets, this is one great way to do so.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I hear great stories about IAVA directly from the vets themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them work with others to build a centralized website to serve all basic veterans needs.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help distribute information on using the new GI Bill to veterans at a local event.