Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.968755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Homeless has a name, a face, a voice—and a story.

Since their launch in 2008, with just $45, a camera, and a laptop, Invisible People ) has leveraged the power of video and the massive reach of social media to share the unfiltered truths that shape the realities of millions of homeless
Americans, many of them children. Mark Horvath has become a nationally recognized activist, ambassador and hero for the millions of individuals and families who reside in shelters, motels, and tents along the streets and under highway bridges across the country.

Invisible People works to change perceptions of homelessness through education and the telling of the raw and unedited personal stories of homelessness through one story at a time. Founder Mark Horvath gathers these videos through the Invisible People “Road Tour,” traveling to cities around the country to meet and interview the homeless. These unedited videos shatter the stereotypes of America’s homeless, force shifts in perception, and deliver a call to action. Only through dialogue can we change homelessness policy in America.

Invisible People’s work has seen direct results. After the Road Trip visited Fayetteville, Arkansas, the mayor started an affordable housing program, a local restaurant launched a feeding program, and a farmer donated 40 acres. In Baton Rouge, the local TV channel did a report on Invisible People and the homeless in the city. The report highlighted the story of 50 homeless children who did not have shoes. Within an hour of the report, a donor supplied the shoes.

An amazing organization doing vital work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

An amazing nonprofit dedicated to changing the way we think about and understand homelessness and the people experiencing it. The stories InvisiblePeople shares are a reminder that we are all human, all have a story to tell, basic needs to be met, and we all need a little help at some time or another. It's easy to turn away from a stranger on the street, not so easy when you're reminded of the fact that the stranger is person like you. I've yet to come across another space where the stories of homelessness and people experiencing homelessness are so honestly told. InvisblePeople is raising awareness in the most honest and direct way possible-- which is why I volunteer for the org. I also spend my time on InvisiblePeople work because I know that sharing these stories empowers the people telling them- and others experiencing homelessness (seen it!) and very much appreciate the fact that, while changing large scale awareness of homelessness and working to end homelessness altogether Mark Horvath/ InvisiblePeople meets the immediate needs of people on the streets, whenever he gets the chance. - buying shoes, sleeping bags, and even pulling money out of his wallet to buy gas for a homeless single mother. We could all learn a few things from this organization and it's founder.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first met Mark after seeing how he brought the issue of homelessness to light via social media -- a first. After reaching out to see how I could help, Mark took me to a tent city in Seattle and to skid row in downtown LA to see for myself how really good people have ended up on the street. It was through Mark's compassion that I started to not only understand more about homelessness, but also share ways in which we could help our friends in need. Thank you Mark for being an inspiration and spreading the word that we're all human and in need of love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Invisible People is one of the few nonprofits I consistently volunteer for and donate to. The reason why is that after personally meeting Marc a few times, any doubt about his sincerity vanished (not that there was any to begin with). It's rare when someone will sacrifice so much of his life for a cause greater than themselves. Marc is such a person. The real deal!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers