Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.968755
Write A Review
February 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a professional service provider, a nationally recognized expert on issues of homelessness, and as a person with 40 years of lived experience involving substance misuse, mental illness and chronic homelessness, I know firsthand the challenges facing those experiencing homelessness as well as those facing service providers and advocates. I currently work as a Deputy Project Director on a major project seeking to bring Recover y Supports to scale. I have had the distinct pleasure to work with Mark Horvath/Invisible People first hand while working as a veteran services coordinator for Operation Stand Down Nashville, Inc., as well as having watched Mark give tirelessly his time, energy and commitment to Invisible People. This is a top quality non-profit that is committed to raising awareness, improving the lives of those experiencing homelessness and ensuring voices that would otherwise remain silent and disenfranchised get heard, loudly, clearly and regularly. Working in this arena brings with it special challenges, from individuals to organizations, and Invisible People takes these challenges in stride, working tirelessly in the face of adversity and the occasional disgruntled voice while doing so on a shoestring. Invisible People has broken new ground in the field of homeless services and the commitment to those the organization serves is beyond reproach. If you're seeking to support cutting edge advocacy working to end homelessness, look no farther than Invisible People. Help them provide voices and faces to the individuals in our communities that most of us have either forgotten, ignore, or have written off for good.

Videos

Johnny

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

direct service provision when Mark/Invisible People assisted a client of mine while I was employed with Operation Stand Down Nashville Inc. as a Veteran Services Provider, and helped the Viet Nam Veteran obtain his motorhome after it was towed for illegal parking.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it's capacity to reach individuals in every city in the country.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

Invisible People provides a face and a voice to those experiencing homelessness. This reduces stigma and ignorance around this important issue by humanizing the impact, while providing hope to those languishing on the streets that someone is listening and their voice and story is important.

June 23, 2012

more

June 23, 2012

Invisible People is perhaps the most effective nonprofit group in showing the true faces of homelessness. Through innovative use of social media, founder Mark Horwath takes us on a journey of discovery. He compells people to listen, empathize & eliminate prejudices, not allowing us to look the other way. Mark, along with his volunteers, uses his experience to act on their behalf & be the voice of those in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Homeless has a name, a face, a voice—and a story.

Since their launch in 2008, with just $45, a camera, and a laptop, Invisible People ) has leveraged the power of video and the massive reach of social media to share the unfiltered truths that shape the realities of millions of homeless
Americans, many of them children. Mark Horvath has become a nationally recognized activist, ambassador and hero for the millions of individuals and families who reside in shelters, motels, and tents along the streets and under highway bridges across the country.

Invisible People works to change perceptions of homelessness through education and the telling of the raw and unedited personal stories of homelessness through one story at a time. Founder Mark Horvath gathers these videos through the Invisible People “Road Tour,” traveling to cities around the country to meet and interview the homeless. These unedited videos shatter the stereotypes of America’s homeless, force shifts in perception, and deliver a call to action. Only through dialogue can we change homelessness policy in America.

Invisible People’s work has seen direct results. After the Road Trip visited Fayetteville, Arkansas, the mayor started an affordable housing program, a local restaurant launched a feeding program, and a farmer donated 40 acres. In Baton Rouge, the local TV channel did a report on Invisible People and the homeless in the city. The report highlighted the story of 50 homeless children who did not have shoes. Within an hour of the report, a donor supplied the shoes.

An amazing organization doing vital work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Mark Horvath and Invisible People fill a critical gap in homeless services. I lead the implementation of Canada's first plan to end homelessness & have learned how critically important it is for us to hear the voices and stories of our invisible people - they are the experts in their own lves and ending their homelessness. Invisible people gives people without homes voice and power. Invisible people has also been extremely helpful in building a national movement to end homelessness in Canada by showing Canada the un-natural disaster of homelessness that afflicts thousands of their fellow citizens

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Mark and Invisible People are just getting started, and they've already accomplished so much. Mark uses media to shine a light on the problem of Homelessness here in North America. He has directly inspired many cities and towns to take action and create programs to help their homeless population. Invisible People follows his lead by offering solutions for homeless people that want access to email, voicemail and other tech tools at http://wearevisible.com The purpose of IP is also the payoff. Mark Inspires people to action, The org gives voice to the voiceless. I'm very proud to know Mark, and to be on his team.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

Mark Horvath works tirelessly to change perceptions and encourage compassion and dignity for all people experiencing homelessness. He and his organization are deeply and personally committed to making real change happen by first and foremost putting a name and face to those “invisible people” struggling with no permanent home. His work is a critical part of a movement of people and organizations that are committed to solving this crisis.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

An amazing nonprofit dedicated to changing the way we think about and understand homelessness and the people experiencing it. The stories InvisiblePeople shares are a reminder that we are all human, all have a story to tell, basic needs to be met, and we all need a little help at some time or another. It's easy to turn away from a stranger on the street, not so easy when you're reminded of the fact that the stranger is person like you. I've yet to come across another space where the stories of homelessness and people experiencing homelessness are so honestly told. InvisblePeople is raising awareness in the most honest and direct way possible-- which is why I volunteer for the org. I also spend my time on InvisiblePeople work because I know that sharing these stories empowers the people telling them- and others experiencing homelessness (seen it!) and very much appreciate the fact that, while changing large scale awareness of homelessness and working to end homelessness altogether Mark Horvath/ InvisiblePeople meets the immediate needs of people on the streets, whenever he gets the chance. - buying shoes, sleeping bags, and even pulling money out of his wallet to buy gas for a homeless single mother. We could all learn a few things from this organization and it's founder.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

InvisiblePeople.tv is a spirit journey for its founder Mark Horvath. Through Mark's skill set and talents; and above all his passion for the humane in humanity, InvisiblePeople.tv has been a landmark, responsible for calling attention to the people who are labeled homeless.

Mark is a
repository of knowledge on the issues of homelessness. Through InvisiblePeople.tv he brings us the visions, realities, and dreams of people without homes.

I have the unparallelled experience to have begun as one of Mark's clients, became a volunteer for his foundations and then turned him into a friend.

This is not unusual for Mark, for he is the type of person who makes friends everywhere. He continues daily to make associations and learn from everyone he meets, from clients to service providers.

I, on the other hand, being a survivor of abuse, homelessness, and other things rarely make close friends with anyone, and when I do it is with great caution.

If you want to extend your knowledge of homelessness -- if you want to find a way in which you can make a difference in the world by transforming homelessness, I point you in the direction of Mark Horvath and InvisiblePeople.tv

If you seek corroboration of my words, then by all means, view the following:

Go to January 2011 archives on http://www.invisiblepeople.tv -- look for RD. That is me.
http://invisiblepeople.tv/blog/2011/01/rd-homeless-los-angeles-140-conference/

"Homeless turn to Twitter for food, shelter" by Michael Cary, CNN The picture you see in the upper right hand corner is me, volunteering for Mark Horvath in my capacity as an IT trainer, after I was housed.
http://articles.cnn.com/2011-06-28/tech/homeless.twitter.help_1_homeless-people-homeless-population-homeless-tomorrow?_s=PM:TECH

We Are Visible -- Mark and I share the stage at the #140conf in Los Angeles, before I was housed.
http://blip.tv/140confevents/we-are-visible-4249015

This is a tangible effect on my life, being housed -- that came about because of InvisiblePeople.tv.
http://hardlynormal.com/blog/2011/02/02/skip1.org-skips-bureaucracy-to-house-lostawareness/

I continue to volunteer and speak on behalf of InvisiblePeople.tv

InvisiblePeople.tv is well worth your time to explore -- the worst you will come away with is leads to more information on transforming homelessness. The best you can come away with? Knowledge, awareness, and a new friend.

Rd Plasschaert
also known as @LostAwareness

Videos

Skip1.org Skips Bureaucracy to House @LostAwareness

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The results I've experienced by having been assisted by InvisiblePeople.tv are not just being housed. I was introduced to an excellent therapist who has helped me change my life outlook significantly. I've been introduced to people I would never have met on my own and thus I now feel confident in expressing and sharing with people how to change their worlds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more staff/volunteers. InvisiblePeople.tv has been a one-person operation and is now expanding -- as volunteers enter into bringing awareness to the public on homelessness. The changes one person has been able to accomplish, multiplied by others -- I think that would be great.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

I found InvisiblePeople.tv from another then-homeless person, via the internet. She was in England, I was in Los Angeles, California. I came across her blog and wrote her. She told me I needed to get in touch with @hardlynormal -- That is Mark Horvath's twitter handle.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I am housed because of InvisiblePeople.tv's effort.

February 2, 2012

more

February 2, 2012

Invisible People fills a very glaring void in the world of homeless services. People who do not have permanent homes are often treated without the basic dignity that all humans deserve. By telling the stories of people who are currently homeless, Invisible People gives a face and a voice to an issue, making homelessness something we can all relate to. As an employee of the National Coalition for the Homeless, we are proud to count Mark and everyone at Invisible People as partners in our mission to end homelessness.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first met Mark after seeing how he brought the issue of homelessness to light via social media -- a first. After reaching out to see how I could help, Mark took me to a tent city in Seattle and to skid row in downtown LA to see for myself how really good people have ended up on the street. It was through Mark's compassion that I started to not only understand more about homelessness, but also share ways in which we could help our friends in need. Thank you Mark for being an inspiration and spreading the word that we're all human and in need of love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers