Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.866675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have lived literally my entire life with invisible disabilities. This site is wonderful! There is a great group of caring and compassionate people there. I always know, that no matter what may be going on with me, there are people there who provide me with the encouragement and support I need. I am also happy to share my experiences, knowledge and words of kindness to others. The chats are GREAT...wonderful to "connect" with others who know what it is like to live like this :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Reading, getting advice, and the feeling of not being alone are three of my top reasons IDA has been a part of my life for over a year now. I am chronically ill and to look at me you would not know, except I am very thin and walk around holding my abdomen. I have gained strength and courage from other members of IDA and simply reading some of the stories. Knowing that there are others that understand bring comfort. It is important to me to have this organization, not for any contribution in a monetary sense but more for "moral" support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I suffer from invisible disabilities. I never new a term existed to explain what I had until I discovered the Invisible Disabilities website. They do an excellent job at inclusion and offer a wealth of information and resources.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hold meetings, annual banquets, etc. at a variety of locations not just Colorado.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I first learned of IDA from a story in our local paper. My 45 year old son had just passed away as a result of his disabilities, mostly unrecognized by the many friends he had (Will never met a stranger). I asked memorials in his name be made to IDA, new to most people.

I am now an
unrecognized 80 year old. Most people think I'm much younger, not by how I look but how I act. They don't recognize the pain I am continually in from arthritis and other problems. I believe knowing IDA and their continuing work is one of the things that keeps me going and helps me put on the face I do put on. It would have helped my son emotionally and also his children to have know about IDA and read some of their information and advice.

I feel they are a great, badly needed, and greatly unrecognized organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try and get it more publicity and better known. They do more good than self-serving Goodwill for instance.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

As a Executive Board member for these past several years, I'm impressed by the professionalism and passion of those involved in the organization. Integrity, Generosity, Caring are three words that come to mind. Their priority is for those who are touched by the IDA message.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to get the word out. Huge potential to help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

As a care taker of a person with invisible disabilities myself it was easy to understand IDA's mission to encourage, educate, and connect. The organization understands the "heartbeat" of those with invisible disabilities and is excited to spread its message of awareness through social media to reach others. People with invisible disabilities need understanding, compassion, and care. This provides them hope and gives them purpose to move forward. The message we share is "a little care goes a long way." In return, everyone experiences joy in their hearts. It does not get any better than that.


More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I have several chronic illnesses and deal with pain 24/7. IDA has been an important part of my life. Thanks to Wayne and Sherri Connell for starting IDA, I am able to relate to others who are dealing with some of the same illnesses as myself. It's difficult trying to explain what we deal with on a day to day basis to family members as well as friends but IDA helps by putting it all down in black and white. On the outside, you would never know I was ill yet I am. Often I hear, "But you don't look sick." It gets real old. IDA publishes pamphlets that we can give out to family and friends which helps. I have given some of the pamphlets to my doctors. I continue to spread the word about IDA and in my humble opinion, IDA is one of the best advocacy organization around. It's like one big family and I would be literally lost if IDA were to ever close down. We all learn from one another and get helpful tips from our peers. IDA looks out for their members and helps in any way that they can. Due to cognitive issues, I no longer write as well as I use to - putting sentences together etc and that's where IDA helps so much. Wonderful organization for people with invisible and visible disabilities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think I would make any changes. I believe IDA has it together.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

The Invisible Disabilities Association (IDA) reaches out to millions of people like me! People who were once active, but are now dealing with disabling illness or injury. I used to sing and dance in musicals, act in commercials, cheerlead, ride my horse, enjoy my career and I obtained 2 Bachelor Degrees. However, due to Progressive Multiple Sclerosis and Chronic Lyme Disease, at 27 I was suddenly unable to even care for my daily needs. Not only do I have to face all my losses, but the also disbelief from people who don't understand how much I want to work and care for my own daily needs, because to them I "LOOK" fine. IDA stands behind me and provides helpful booklets and pamphlets for my friends and family. They also have great articles, videos, resources and support where I can meet others batting debilitating conditions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This is an incredible organization of wonderful people who really care! I wouldn't change anything except the fact that they would like to go from all volunteer to having the funding for a small staff and the additional projects and services they are so excited to put into action!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

i have MS and Sherri is a part of my family --- literally! i love her and know the daily routine... i have MS as well and there are good and there are bad days. so many in this world that are not dealing with any kind of 'invisible' disease(s) have no clue how are days are from beginning to end. the message needs to be brought to the public and they should not judge. xo...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just help others as much as possible... share with them and listen to them. sometimes, you just need a friend to be there through the rough patches we endure.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

So many people have invisible disabilities and suffer, not only from the medical condition that they have, but also from the behavior of friends, family, associates, and strangers who don't believe what they can't see. The Invisible Disabilities Association gives a voice to all of those who need support and help, even though it isn't apparent to others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think this organization does a great job; I wouldn't make any changes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers