Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
12.725345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
March 20, 2012

Well, the old saying, 'there's a sucker born every minute' now includes me. I can't believe how much is spent on salaries and equipment and film cost and promotion, etc...WOW. I have a young friend (19)who recently spent a year working outrageous hours and doing some very hard work in an orphanage in South America-the total cost (including airfare) $3000.00 which she raised or earned herself. It saddens me so little money actually helped the children. Next time I give money to charity, I will check them out on this site first.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been following the work of Invisible Children since 2009. They have proven themselves to be knowledgeable on what is going on in Africa and have really helped a lot of kids there. Criticize Invisible Children all you want, but they have cared about these kids and families in Africa long before you started hating on them. Yes, the founders get paid, but if the work they have done saves even one family then it is worth it-and they have physically and through education saved many students and families. Invisible Children is an inspiration to me as a volunteer with special needs children-i am always looking for new ways to get media involved with getting information across to the general public.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 14, 2012

Great people making a change in lots of other peoples lives

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Worst. Charity. Ever. Do not give to this charity. It only gives 30% or less to Africa and they keep the rest!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2012

more

March 8, 2012

I watched this today and I have to say it touched my heart. I am one who usually doesn't believe in US intervention oversees , but the mission of this group is great. It is very specific, to bring an evil man to justice with the hope of forcing more evil folks to rethink that they can do want they want with no consequences. 88K in salary plus benefits is not a lot of money to do what these folks are doing. I would agree they should have an outside board of directors or at least an outside advisory board. Though the trouble with that is that the founders could get replaced by a board of directors so if you started a charity you believed in would you want to take that chance?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Kony2012 is an intelligent, ambitious and idealistic advocacy group using viral activism to spread information about the situation and rights of children in Africa, mainly in Uganda. As the group has gotten a lot of attention in social media, criticism has begun to surface about bias in communication and non-transparancy in finances using information from Charity Navigator, which the've ironically misrepresented in the same manner as they point out how Kony2012 has misrepresented facts and nuances in their message to the masses. I think you should look at Invisible Childrens goals, and how they're reaching out to the masses and then decide if you want to be a part of their movement or not. I personally will.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

From most of what i've read there is a lot to be desired from this and other such organizations. I couldn't in good conscience donate to an organization that proports to help people, nobly and unslefishlessly, as it claims only after it satisfies its career motivations. Salaries for managers in excess of 88,000 dollars plus massive costs in postage, travel, office rents and unamed expenses? Sounds like someone who can't be taken at their word to me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I was very disappointed to find out my donations went to the sole use of the program coordinator to secure a first class ticket for travel. They seem to have a personal burn rate of program money well outside what one would think is the norm.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 6, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 6, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

First of all as a person from Northern Uganda, I would like to thank you, the Martin County Children for your effort to assist the children of Northern Uganda.
How ever i am also sad to say that Organisation like 'Invisible children' have turned from caring organisations to Fraudulent and scam.
The directors of Invisible children forgot what they stated back in 2005 and have now turned to greed. Only less than 25% of money they have been raising in the name of the children of Northern Uganda gets there to the children.
The directors of Invisible children have turned this money to become their very personal money. The directors now drive expensive cars and refer to themselves as Movie directors. They have been shunned by all international Northern Uganda associations in Canda, UK, Sweden and even in Sandiego USA.
Associations such as "acholi in diaspora"(canada) Acholi association(UK) Freinds for Peace in africa(USA). Peace in Northern Uganda group(Sweden). "Campaign to end genocide in Northern Uganada)(USA) and many more.
"invisible children' functions are boycotted by many ugandans who are aware that they recieved bribes from General Salim Saleh to focus the suffering of the Northern Uganda Children to the Rebels...rather than tell the whole truth that both the rebels and Uganda government ave comitted atrocities and Genocide againts the acholi people of Northern Uganda..
Northern Uganda members of parliament have added 'invisible children' to their list Of NGO's under investigation for fraud.
They have been requested to publicly declare their accounts since 2005 however untill today that has not been done.
Your contributions are better off being sent directly to the children in Northern Uganda rather than to enrich the directors of 'invisible children'
However we leave it to God to be the judge. Thank you and God bless all of you.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers