Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
12.725345
| 1 ... 3 4 5...8 |
Write A Review
December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

I feel as if the invisible children have their ups and downs they were once in my eyes a good organization by having there videos post and showing what their plans where for the future. But after going through the other views and going on different websites like the Better Business Burial (BBB) they haven't registered their organization with them. Which in mind it makes me feel as a person who would be looking to donate more skeptical about donating to the Invisible Children because if your going to have an organization at least make it legal by registering through the (BBB). If not then it makes me feel as if your trying to scam me, and others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

Many people are skeptical of Invisible Children’s finances. I myself was at first skeptical of the way they spent their donation money. However, after further research into their finances, I have found that IC is a pretty good non-profit organization when it comes to financial responsibility. I researched the Better Business Bureau who state 65% of a non-profit’s should be spent on programs; according to IC’s website, they spent 80.6% of funds on their programs. Charity Navigator researched the salaries of non-profit’s CEOs, the average salary being over $100,000 per year; IRS reports state that IC’s CEO earns just over $88,000. IC is transparent with finances because they display all tax forms and annual financial reports from the last five years. Overall, Invisible Children is not perfect, but they are pretty responsible with their finances. I would strongly consider supporting them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

People think Invisible Children don't help Uganda and expend to much money in the own video. I agree that they expend too much money in the video. But, they still support Ugandan education. I n the past, men in Uganda have had more education than women. Invisible Children expends money to help men and women in Uganda to finish their education. For Invisible Children women and men was the same. In October for this year Invisible Children a 100 scholarships to college for Ugandan. I complete support Invisible Children and I encourage you to do the same.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

One of the most common critiques I have seen of Invisible Children is their financial responsibility. After doing research through articles about what a financially responsible nonprofit organization looks like as well as accounts such as former workers with Invisible Children, I discovered that this organization is much more financially responsible than I had once believed. What most people do not see is that Invisible Children uses many different methods to achieve their goals including doing tours to raise awareness, producing a warning signal over the radio to prevent LRA kidnappings, and providing various recovery programs. According to an article by Charity Navigator (http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=content.view&cpid=1359), it is revealed that Invisible Children gives more money to its cause than most nonprofits. After doing extensive research, my views on Invisible Children have significantly changed and I am considering volunteering and possibly donating to Invisible Children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Invisible Children has been criticized through its viral campaigning video, Kony 2012, as cheating and deceiving the public and donators out of their money. Through my own research, I noticed how they have been judged for spending the majority of their money on their elaborate campaign videos to "make Kony known," as CEO Jason Russell said was their main objective at the beginning of IC’s foundation. This seems reasonable that they spent money where intended, however, "[Their] game isn't who [...] is fighting for the most important cause, it's who has the best marketing wins" ('Guerrilla Marketing,' Suddath). Their campaigns were purposely created with less information to target young adults/teens and get their money. Untrustworthy and intentionally deceitful. I personally wouldn’t support IC because of how they divide the use of their money more towards their own marketing and less towards needy children. They don’t truly benefit children in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

Founder went KOOKOOO and ran around naked down the street from where I am. They say it was an emotional breakdown. Seemed to me there was more to it so I will never support this organization EVER.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

I pulled this organizations tax records and found it quite terrifying. Huge salaries to those who started the organization and their spouces. Bank accounts in the camen islands. Over 80 percent of donations going to running the orgainzation. Take a closer look at ts one!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 13, 2012

more

May 13, 2012

First a neutral report with some facts from Human Rights Watch: http://www.hrw.org/sites/default/files/reports/uganda0905.pdf In one sentence, LRA and UPDF, BOTH have committed atrocities and continue to do so. The fact that Kony seems to be targeted and not UPDF, tells me that there is a propaganda at large. Together with reports from a couple com-mentors that the money is not going to children....IC sounds like a scam to me. There is no denying the fact that there is a huge humanitarian crisis going on in Uganda. I am not sure if another war is the solution. Make your own informed decision.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012

more

May 3, 2012

I mostly deal with Voice of the Martyrs. I must admit that I was a bit critical of this cause at first, but realize I was only jealous of their widespread exposure to this single issue, while our multi-front efforts to help persecuted christians are always ignored by the media. In retrospect, I think now, that some (myself included) may be a bit hasty in judging this org's financial data. In comparison, VOM raises a great deal more than IC (probably because it appeals to an older, wealthier croud, rather than unpaid college students) and its frontal effort is also much wider (many nations). Roughly 3/4 of their revenue goes to the programs, 1/8 to overhead, and 1/8 unspent. IC has about 1/2 revenue going to programs, 1/8 to overhead, and 1/3 unspent. Could be better, but its not all that bad. They're young: give em a break and wish them luck. And say a prayor for both of us, because my people are also persecuted.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012

Did NOT receive my kit, did research into this charity and they are shady to say the very least

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers