Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
12.70588345
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
December 4, 2012

more

December 4, 2012

Throughout my experience researching Invisible Children, I felt many mixed feelings about whether I support them or if i am against them. Even though i discovered a few unpleasing facts about who they are supporting and what they choose to spend the bulk of their income on. I highly support their main cause however. I found out about Invisible Children when I watched the video "Kony 2012", which greatly encouraged me to take action and help in the fight against child-warfare and abduction. I believe that their campaign strategy is very effective in the sense that their target audience gets a view of who and what they will be fighting for by donating to their organization. They make their supporters feel like they are part of a family and make them feel powerful. So all in all, I definitely support Invisible Children and all that they stand for.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2012

In September 2012 I found out about IC, and their poor financial record that many people claim. The kind of person I am, I did my research on the financial data just so I has knowledge, and don’t just go with someones opinion. According to my research, all information on financial data can be found on IC website. I need to be transparent, even though IC has their financial statements on their website their are something are still questionable, like how much money not % is going to children in Uganda. I feel like its important to see number not percent. IC their main mission is to bring Kony to justice. Personally I would not support their mission just because I live world away, and I rather support some other organization that work with the Orphans. There are many different people and I think someone will support their mission, because they are fighting for a good.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

As a history and political science student looking to go to law school, I have this tendency to watch what's going on in the world. In March, I saw Invisible Children's viral video "Kony2012", spark many young students like me to take action against the crimes warlord Joseph Kony committed against the people of Uganda. Looking deeper into the situation over the last several months, I have come to the conclusion that although Invisible Children has a good heart, motivations, and character as a non-profit organization; they take a simplistic view of a very complex political situation in Uganda. Yes, Kony is a problem, but he is not the whole problem. If an actual government infrastructure isn't there to democratically and peacefully govern Ugandans, then there is every chance of history repeating itself. Another warlord--like Kony--can arise in a similar chaotic political situation if nothing is done to fix the current government.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

Over the past few months, many people have taken issue with the allocation of Invisible Children's finances, accusing it of being an unproductive organization at best and a scam at worst. However, to argue against IC's financial distribution is to miss the point of what they're trying to accomplish. It has been widely assumed that Invisible Children is meant to send aid overseas and single-handedly precipitate the capture of Joseph Kony. The fact that this isn't the strategy that IC has taken is what has stirred up so much controversy. Much of IC's efforts have been involved in spreading the word about Kony. Their strategy is that the more people who know, the sooner Kony will be captured. As a result, 43.4% of IC's finances has gone into media and mobilization (quoting Invisible Children). Even with that consideration, Charity Navigator still rates IC's financials at a more than respectable 4/5 stars. With all this in mind, I just don't feel like it's an appropriate argument to say that Invisible Children is a scam considering all the good they've done. In the end, "Invisible Children exists to bring a permanent end to LRA atrocities" (IC).

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

Personally, I was a skeptic from the beginning of the campaign as I personally thought that the video oversimplified a very complex problem. While my views have changed to a certain degree, I still believe that Invisible Children’s Kony 2012 campaign amounts to a slacktivist movement and it does not produce true activists. However, I disagree with anyone who argues absurd claims such as the very popular assertion that too much money is being spent on top management. What I cannot figure out is the fact that the members who make these statements did so on Charity Navigator, a web site where they can easily read the facts. The individual salaries of both co-founders and the actual CEO of the organization all stand under $90,000. According to a study conducted by Charity Navigator, the median pay for top management positions in organizations of IC’s size stands around $130,000. If anything, IC’s top leaders are being underpaid. Invisible Children is a young non-profit that will work out certain specs but as for now, the facts are clear that in comparison with well-known and respected non-profits they stand reliable.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

Invisible Children is a young nonprofit organization with a lot of room for growth, but a lot of its bad reputation is misplaced or focused too heavily on the Kony 2012 campaign or the founder. I believe that this organization is doing well, but could do much better, if given the time. This is a nonprofit with a campaign of raising awareness and political pressure, which requires a heavy focus on media and personal image, which explains so much of their profits are focused on media and maintenance. True, they tend to gloss over details in their videos and websites, but personal research has shown that IC isn’t as poorly run as skeptics try to portray. I intend to investigate both sides of the story more thoroughly before I make a concrete decision, but I don't think IC is as terrible as I've been told.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

I first learned about Invisible Children when some of my friends were wearing the Kony 2012 shirts. I didn't think much about the organization until I saw the film, Kony 2012. Immediately after watching the film I wanted to buy the action kit and get involved in the campaign. I was hungry for more information, so I started to do some of my own research. I soon realized that the organization that seemed to be so passionate and honest was far from what they portrayed in the film. Then it suddenly hit me- Invisible Children lured in their audience through propaganda, and I was guilty of falling into the trap myself. They manipulated the audience in the film by simplifying the problems in Uganda to one man, the infamous warlord Joseph Kony. The film made me want to be a part of the Kony 2012 team, and I think that was their goal all along.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

When deciding whether or not to support Invisible Children, it’s important to note what the company is doing right NOW, instead of focusing on what it DID wrong in the past. When I first stumbled upon the KONY 2012 video on YouTube I was inspired. However, it didn’t take me long to notice the scrutiny and criticisms that IC was being associated with. I decided to do some research. Through the IC website and some other sources I came to my own conclusion. To be honest, many of the accusation made against IC are true. However, it is how IC has responded to the criticism and what they are doing now that has led me to give this organization a positive review. Its obvious that the company, though far from perfect, is willing to learn from their past mistakes. All of their information is posted on their website. No deception or over simplification, only honesty and passion for a cause. Invisible Children has the potential to make a great impact if others are willing to invest in them. They deserves a second chance, same as the children they are trying to help in East and Central Africa. I would definitely consider supporting this honest, improving organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

The actions and motives of Invisible Children have been a huge topic of discussion from the time the viral video Kony 2012 was uploaded. After watching it, I found myself asking a lot of questions. I have thoroughly researched the organization and I found some interesting facts. The involvement and motives of the United States government, according to Senate and Congress hearings is to "Capture or Kill Joseph Kony". The problem with this however is President Obama sent 100 U.S. troops solely as advisors. My problem with U.S. Involvement is that if Kony isn't found soon, I could see the U.S. government intervening. If this is the case then what motives are behind I.C. The children are the main focus. I do support I.C. for what they have done in prevention purposes, but I cant support how the search for Joseph Kony is being handled.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

Through research I have done on Invisible Children’s website and a book written by the International Labour Office I have discovered evidence that Invisible Children is an organization that betters the lives of many people affected by Kony’s actions. Besides trying to help arrest Kony they provide many beneficial programs in Northern Uganda. For example, Mend teaches the skill of tailoring to women and provides counseling for the trauma they have experienced; another program Schools for Schools makes education more accessible to many children living in the area. Both of these programs are helping strengthen the weak economy of Uganda. While it is hard to look past many of the critiques in the media about Invisible Children, the fact that they are indeed changing the lives of many harmed by Kony shines through. Personally that is enough for me to consider supporting their organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers