Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
12.725345
| 1 ... 6 7 8...12 |
Write A Review
April 24, 2012

Did NOT receive my kit, did research into this charity and they are shady to say the very least

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012

I purchased their "Action Kit" in response to the KONY 2012 video and never received anything. I called and left messages and emailed asking for my money back, yet I got no response. They have since taken down all ways to contact them via phone or email. I feel like I got dupped. I will never trust this organization again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 23, 2012

Their most recent "campaign" defaced Westlake Village, CA with ugly posters plastered EVERYWHERE even on STOP signs. For what purpose?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 23, 2012

I agree with lots of you that more than (approximately) a third of the money should go directly to those effected by Kony. However, honestly look at the impact the money spent on the films and road crews is having and making people aware of the problem. 99% of the haters had NO IDEA who Kony was or who Invisible Children was before now. I say the money spent there was effective! Can't argue that. If you think it's a scam then don't send money. It's that simple.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012

Their "cover the night" campaign has defaced landmarks all over Boston. To spray paint over other memorials is just disgraceful. I had some sympathy to their campaigns before but now I just think this whole thing is just a marketing gimmick. This organization needs to pay for the clean up the leadership who encouraged the destruction of public landmarks should be prosecuted.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

I purchased a Kony 2012 promotional item through the Invisible Children website several weeks ago. In the meantime, a financial situation arose that forced me to make the decision to cancel my order. I followed the directions on the Invisible Children website in regards to cancelling my order and did not receive a reply. I sent THREE requests to Invisible Children to have my order cancelled and did not receive a reply to any of these requests. A few days ago, I received an email saying that my order had shipped. I (once again) contacted Invisible Children, expressing my amazement that the order that I asked to be cancelled THREE times had been shipped out to me. I finally received a response from Invisible Children, who said that now that the order has shipped, they can no longer cancel it and will not accept the return of my order. How convenient is it that NONE of my requests to cancel my order were replied to, but I received an almost instant email reply from Invisible Children after my order was shipped and they can no longer cancel it. I feel that I have been cheated out of my money. The organization keeps making excuses for their behaviour by saying that they are a small non-profit organization that is ill-equipped to deal with the huge demand for product that they saw after the production of the Kony 2012 video, but as someone who has volunteered for even smaller non-profit organizations, I find this excuse offensive to the small non-profits out there who respect their donors and run in an honest, upfront way. I do not reccommend that you donate to Kony 2012. There are plenty of other charitable organizations that aim to improve the situation in Uganda, the Congo and other countries touched by the LRA that do not cheat their donors out of money and are more organized and run more responsibly. What an utter disappointment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Become better organized, behave more honestly, improve relationships between donors and your organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What would you tell others about this organization?

I will tell them the truth about this organization: that they do not respect the wishes of their donors, do not provide adequate support to their donors and have a crazy shipping/return policy.

April 9, 2012

more

April 9, 2012

Invisible Children is a new kind of charity. No not all the the money raised is going straight to Africa. They do spend a fair amout of money on their film making, however the impact that is last video has made is like nothing i have ever seen before. Not many people knew of Invisible Children before Kony 2012, but if you do your reseach they have been trying to get this information out for years now and with many videos and events... Kony 2012 happend to be their "jackpot" video. They are trying to target a younger generation and targeting them through social media. I can't tell you how suprised i was to see on my facebook people uploading this video. NONE of the money donated goes to the Ugandas military, while Invisible Children is supportive of their military they do NOT support them with the money that is donated. If you go to their website they have put everything out there given the recent critisim on their organization. They are not a scam, they are good people trying to make a difference in the lives of many children in Africa. The internet is a wonderful tool. Educate yourself.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

Understand that IC's approach is different than a traditional one - do your research!!! Their goal was to increase awareness of the issue - job done. Russell admits that the issues are very complex and absolutely encourages the audience to look into this for themselves - this film was nine years in the making. If you do your homework, they explain how they work and where the $$ goes. DO YOUR RESEARCH. Thoroughly. And think about that fact that they've gotten *****80 million+ viewers****** to pay attention to an issue about which they'd had little or no knowledge or concern until they say what IC produced. I'd say that's pretty priceless.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 24, 2012

If you want a comparison of IC to a well run, peerless, philnthropic charity, then compare to the V Foundation which oversees a similar amount of money raised annually. They have small admin expenses because the CEO and staff don't take egregious amounts of money. As a comparator - their CEO gets $171, 000. per year. Their financials are completely transparent and they have an active independant board. nNot so with IC. I only support peerless charities with complete transparency and 4 stars from Charity Navigator.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 22, 2012

more

March 22, 2012

The amount that the president and CEO are paid is perfectly reasonable. They are overseeing a $10 million budget and living in Southern California. The "overhead" costs that many are complaining about are also reasonable as they are spending their revenue on their stated mission to use film, creativity and social action to end the use of child soldiers in Joseph Kony’s rebel war and restore LRA-affected communities to peace and prosperity." You should not give to this organization if you want most of your money to end up in Uganda. That's not IC's mission. If you want to be a part of raising the world's awareness of Kony and the LRA, then this seems to me to be an excellent organization to give to.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers