Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
12.725345
| 1 2 3 4...12 |
Write A Review
December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

By being well informed and doing extensive research on the main issues of the organization of Invisible Children, as well as watching Kony 2012, I have come to the conclusion that for being a young organization they have done a very good job. They have not only reached but exceeded their main goal, which was to capture the attention of literally the entire world. They have made good use of their resources by using the media, campaigns, advertisements and protests. In the beginning I was skeptical of the trustworthiness of the organization due to the fact that the media bashed Invisible Children by what happened to Jason Russell, not knowing that it was due to a mental breakdown. They have done their job with providing resources to Uganda to capture Kony and not let the LRA (Lord's Resistance Army) take control of their land. Even though they have not resolved their financial management issues, I believe, for the time being, they are doing an excellent job, considering they are a young organization and all the experiences they have already been through. Their future looks bright.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Personally, I wouldn’t become involved/donate to Invisible Children. Research shows that they are a charity group that not only struggles with completely supporting the cause financially, but they also don’t clearly state the ways in which they intend to help the problem in Uganda other than throwing money at the problem. That to me is the main problem that this organization has, which no clear objective. I feel uneasy not knowing precisely where my money is going and how it is going to be used. Would definitely not recommend Invisible Children as a quality organization to commit to.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

My first experience with Invisible Children was coming across the Kony 2012 video on Facebook. I watched it and my heart was torn for the children of Uganda, so I decided to research this organization a bit more. Shockingly, I was confronted with many controversies about the leaders, mission and finances of IC. I spent the next few months dissecting and researching to discover whether there were truths in those claims about IC. When it comes to finances, I found a chart with the breakdown of their budget on their website and saw that 80% of their budget goes towards their programs, leaving under 20% for the fundraising and administrative costs. I continued to learn that a multitude of the other claims were just due to false rumors and were not true. I am now seriously considering supporting this organization and fully believe it deserves your support as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

Having been a volunteer for Invisible Children and researched Invisible Children as well as Kony 2012, my opinion of the organization has made a drastic change. Invisible Children is not helping Uganda by trying to get the Ugandan government to shift its focus onto Joseph Kony, because Uganda has larger problems than Kony. The economic state of Uganda is one of the worst states it’s ever been in, and the Ugandan government does not have strong leadership. Uganda needs to put their time, effort, and money towards making their nation stronger, and by becoming stronger, then going after Kony. Invisible Children has good intentions, but they need to look at the big picture and realize Joseph Kony is not Uganda’s biggest problem. I have volunteered with Invisible Children, and will continue to, I just do not agree with Kony 2012 and their goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I first saw the film Kony 2012, I was inspired to act to save the people who were being affected by Joseph Kony. I’ve been to Africa and I’ve seen how the people of Africa live, so it’s a priority for me to help those people. While at first I was excited about what Invisible Children (IC) was doing. I decided to research the organization to make sure they were worthy of my monetary and moral support. My conclusion after researching is, first of all; IC has questionable and unorganized finances according to their website. Not only that, but through the showing of Kony 2012, IC manipulates the facts they present, which causes them to be perceived as untrustworthy. Organization and evidence is essential for NPO’s, and unfortunately Invisible Children has neither. In conclusion, although I fully agree that the people of Africa should have a better life; after my research, it is my opinion that Invisible Children is an unworthy organization to support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

Invisible Children’s goals are noble when it comes to helping children in another country. There will always be an organization that is not perfect or that will be criticized by the public. The problem is that Joseph Kony is no longer in Uganda. Jason Russell even confirmed it in Kony 2012 video. It may seem like a wasteful effort chasing someone who is no longer there, but as long as everyone remember that there is a criminal on the loose then one of I.C.’s goals have been met. Kony maybe out of Uganda, but one of the important things is to remember that he is still out there. This organization is doing well on getting everyone to remember that Kony still lives. This is an organization despite their flaws in some areas that deserves some support and attention. They got my support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

When I was in high school, four members from Invisible Children came to talk about the pressing issue in Uganda regarding the exploitation of children at the hands of Kony and the LRA. I was skeptical at first because this organization was fairly new and concerns were raised pertaining to how effective this organization is with their finances. However, after doing personal research about this organization, I found that their cause is honorable and that they should be given a chance because they are willing to take action and make a permanent difference for these children. No child should have to suffer or ever be ignored when they are being exploited and robbed of their dignity which is why I support this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

Like most people, after watching the Kony 2012 video for the first time, it left me with a sense of compassion and a desire to take action. However, after doing a more thorough research on this NPO and it's ways of going about and solving Uganda's problem with Kony and the LRA, it would not be the best organization to invest time and money on. Where does all the money go? According to the Invisible Children's website, based on the 2011 financial statements, 80.6% went towards the programs, 16.2% to administrative, and 3.2% to fundraising. Personally, even based on this alone, I wouldn't donate to IC. Nonetheless, it is ultimately your decision if this organization is worth supporting.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Although Invisible Children has been and still is a successful non-profit organization, I feel that they may have missed some steps along the way. Their mistakes as an organization has raised a huge question, do we see where all the money goes? They only became financially transparent upon demand to do so. A huge issue I have is with some information I came across during months of research. I found that IC provided information via a spying operation to Ugandan authorities. This information was on the Museveni regime. The U.S. considers this regime to be an ally due to its fear of the regime becoming part of Al-Qaida. The Ugandan officials arrested the men involved and they were executed via death penalty. If I support IC do I now support the death penalty in foreign affairs my country should have no role in?

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

Invisible Children is an organization for a good cause. They may have some flaws, but the organization as a whole has good motives. I am sure that Invisible Children wants to have a positive relationship with the general public, and is doing all they can do within their power to make everyone happy. However, the truth of the matter is that Invisible Children is a charity organization, and they cannot live up to that standard.
One of the many questions that you may have for Invisible Children staff is, “where is my money going?” In 2011 Invisible Children spent 80.64% on media, mobilization, protection, and recovery programs; 16.24% on administration and management costs; and 3.22% on direct fundraising. If you have further questions please feel free to visit the Invisible Children website and click on the questions and answers page. I believe Invisible Children is an organization worth supporting.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers