Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
12.725345
| 1 ... 10 11 12 |
Write A Review
March 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

From time spent in DRC (Ituri, Haut Uele, Bas Uele), I have a very poor opinion of IC. This poor opinion is shared by many colleagues in Congo. IC is known to have a lot of money at their disposal, so much that they don't spend it in an effective manner. Their radio transmitter idea sounds good, but also makes host communities ready targets for LRA attacks. There are an estimated 50 LRA in Congo, but based on statements from IC, you would think the problem is much greater. There are also about 5,000 troops (UN, FARDC, UPDF, US) in northern Congo, supposedly looking for those 50 rebels. The LRA are a problem, but IC is just wasting money and sustaining their existence. They should publish a full accounting of how much money they raise, from where it comes, and where the money is spent (i.e. how much in the USA versus how much in Congo). Think twice before giving your money to this group.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

March 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Kony2012 is an intelligent, ambitious and idealistic advocacy group using viral activism to spread information about the situation and rights of children in Africa, mainly in Uganda. As the group has gotten a lot of attention in social media, criticism has begun to surface about bias in communication and non-transparancy in finances using information from Charity Navigator, which the've ironically misrepresented in the same manner as they point out how Kony2012 has misrepresented facts and nuances in their message to the masses. I think you should look at Invisible Childrens goals, and how they're reaching out to the masses and then decide if you want to be a part of their movement or not. I personally will.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 8, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 8, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I am a former employee of Invisible Children. The ratings you provided for invisible Children inc is not correct. Invisible Children Inc, does not have an external and independent Auditor. The Data you have used to compile this statististics are false. First of all because over 40% of Invisible children's donation income is cash, it makes it very difficult for accuracy. The salaries of the directors as show is false. That is only the basic salary. The directors of invisible children, also have allowances and bonuses added to their salary. the only way your ratings for invisible children to be meaning full is if the data was provided by an external auditor. In Uganda, were this charity is suppoised to operate, an over roll assay of their programs and projects to not even come close to $2,000,000 worth, and yet they claim to spend over 80% of their donations on programs. These directors of invisible children are crroks that ought to be charged. sources from visibiblechildren.tumblr.com and http://www.kony2012-is-a-scam.org

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

March 8, 2012

The issue here appears to be more about the viral effect on rousing people into action. In 2012, we should accept that precious few people intelligent enough to create stirring propoganda, whether for good or bad, will work for free. Maybe it is time to drop the cynicism and try to get something different moving and worry about the accounting and motivations afterwards.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2012

i believe Kony should be stopped. PERIOD. This organization, yes, has been under scrutiny but seems to be trying to do the right thing. Why can't we ever believe in the good in people?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

i believe accountability and transparency should be one of major things we look for in a charity and the fact this charity is not very transparent at all lead me to severely distrust this organization, i think this most recent campaign is just a way of bringing in more more money for executive bonuses and "expenses". the money the do donate is given to a dictator led army and a peoples revolutionary army that has been accused of similar attrocities to that of Kony's LRA. i don't think we should trust this charity with our hard earned money when there are so many others that deserve it more and will tell us exactly how our donations are spent.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Their financial records are misleading and don't provide explanations for large relative sums being spent on indirect or specifically non-program expenses (e.g. salary and travel). Do some research before you make your own decision as to whether or not to support any organisation, including this one. Of course they have recently done well to advocate and make the conflict in Central Africa more known, however their claims of direct aid are not well documented and their financial and political support of the war are perhaps making the conflict worse.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

From most of what i've read there is a lot to be desired from this and other such organizations. I couldn't in good conscience donate to an organization that proports to help people, nobly and unslefishlessly, as it claims only after it satisfies its career motivations. Salaries for managers in excess of 88,000 dollars plus massive costs in postage, travel, office rents and unamed expenses? Sounds like someone who can't be taken at their word to me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 7, 2012

Who care's about Kony? There are plenty of other org...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I support the cause not the charity. That's how I see it anyway. I believe that Kony should be stopped but the whole thing seems fishy to me. A charity is not for profit and all of it should go towards helping the children not making tons of merchandise and salary. Regardless, And I can't say it enough I DO THINK KONY SHOULD BE STOPPED. AND I'M GLAD THEY'RE SPREADING AWARENESS AND ALL, I just think their going about it wrong. So get your posters and bracelets or whatever but personally I'm not giving them a penny. I don't mean to come off ass rude so sorry if I did. Just my two cents on the matter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers