Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 3, 2011

more

August 3, 2011

Intrepid steps up to the educational challenge!
When I joined the Intrepid Museum as a volunteer, I expected to meet a lot of visitors with a service connection. And it is an honor to welcome home Intrepid crew members, meet veterans with other experiences, and thank the men and women on active
duty today.

My biggest surprise has been discovering the quantity and quality of Intrepid educational programs. It is a secret too well kept from the public.

These programs are diverse, but they all emphasize STEM: Science, Technology, Engineering and Math. This curriculum, so vital to our children, is often an easy victim to budget crunch. Intrepid is stepping up to the challenge as others turn away.

The Intrepid educational staff is distinct from the tour guides and volunteers that visitors meet. Most are professional teachers. They are amazing. When they explain to children how airplanes fly and why ships do not sink, I take notes.

Intrepid partners with teachers, scout leaders, and organizations on multi-session programs. Other events bring together children from communities of limited opportunity. Without Intrepid, they might never meet and share experiences with people outside their world. The Access Initiative reaches students with disabilities. There is Camp Intrepid, and G.O.A.L.S. (Greater Opportunities for Advancing Leadership and Science). The list goes on.

CASA (Cultural After School Adventures) is an arts enrichment program sponsored by the New York City Council. Over an eight-week period, Intrepid educators visit the classroom and students visit the ship. Their goal is to create a “ship’s newspaper”, with each student writing an article about what they have learned. As a former Navy Journalist, I talk about our ship newspaper and life at sea. My biggest learned lesson: keep my talk short, because the students have a treasure of questions that speak to their imagination and curiosity.

Every spring, Intrepid works with Community Mayors, an organization of civic leaders, to host several hundred children with disabilities. Intrepid staff helps the children learn to steer the ship, climb into a sailor’s bunk, and feel the sway of a lifeboat adrift at sea. We “chow down” on the Mess Deck. Their words may be hesistant, but the smiles say it all.

A museum teaches the past so that we might build a better future. The Intrepid is helping prepare young visitors for that journey. It makes me proud to be on board.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The emotional satisfaction of seeing visitors from around the world respond to the story of Intrepid.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more publicity and awareness for the educational progams.

July 28, 2011

My father, J.J. Elefant, was an original crew member of the USS Intrepid - a "plank owner". He came aboard a week prior to her commissioning on August 16, 1943 and remained with the ship for the remainder of WWII. Dad kept a detaiIed daily journal during those two years, which he shared with me when I grew up. I donated Dad's journal to the Intrepid Museum for three main reasons: 1) because I believe the museum has a sincere interest in its contents, 2) they have a unique capacity to put the information it contains to good use, and 3) because, over time, I believe the museum will give Dad's diary a good home.

This is my personal connection to the Intrepid Museum. Through my father I have always had a keen interest in the Intrepid, the Pacific war, and all things related to aircraft carriers, ships and planes. Ironically, while he chronicled events, he rarely talked about his life aboard the ship unless pressed. My dad was a loving father but wasn't a particularly talkative man; particularly when it came to talking about the war. For him, it wasn't that important to talk, but it was important to remember. Because I felt so proud of his service, I wanted to hear more. Dad's reply was that he didn't think anyone would be interested in hearing the tales. He figured war stories were a dime-a-dozen and he didn't want to be a bore.

Dad was wrong. People do want to hear and learn. There is a huge interest in aircraft carriers, naval aviation, the ships and the planes. And of course, the people who served and sacrificed. When it comes to aircraft carriers, Intrepid is the only game in town!

Stepping aboard Intrepid is like entering a time portal. The ship has a presence. She beckons. Let your imagination flow and it's 1944. A dark February night. A little too quiet. Suddenly, the ship shudders as a Japanese torpedo slams into her stern. Klaxons blare as the crew run to their battle stations....

Standing high up on the Captain's bridge, you look out on an international array of aircraft displayed on the flight deck. I can watch as jet engines scream and catapults launch. Gazing aft, one can almost see returning planes, low on fuel, lined up to land, tail hooks anxious to catch an arresting cable. Look again and it's 1962 as Intrepid helicopters lift off to recover NASA astronauts.

Intrepid is a living piece of history - a meticulously preserved Essex class aircraft carrier. Unlike brick and mortar museums that merely display artifacts, the ship itself is the main artifact. And parked across the same pier is a real, cold war era, missile firing submarine. The airplanes are all real too. I can tell you that the staff of guides, restorationists and volunteers are passionate in their desire to share Intrepid's story. The museum also features science and the exploration of space. When you visit, don't be surprised to find yourself meeting former crew members and aviators who truly enjoy telling their stories and describing their experiences. Though not myself a veteran, I am now an Intrepid volunteer as well.

And as for Dad's diary, I think he would be pleased to know that the museum begins each day with a memo to staff, which draws from his journal, entitled "This Day On Intrepid".

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in that I received correspondence from visitors thanking me for making them aware of the Intrepid's role in preserving American freedom. Most frequently, it is rewarding to see the faces of young children alight on touring the ship and learning about how such a large ship can float, and why airplanes need folding wings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If a had to make a change, I would like to see the museum acquire an F6F Hellcat fighter plane to round out their WWII collection.

July 27, 2011

more

July 27, 2011

I am the Commander of the American Legion 9-11 Memorial Post 2001. We were formerly the Downtown Athletic Club Post. After our country was attacked, we no longer had a home. We were nomads whose instability caused our membership to dwindle. The Intrepid Museum Foundation realized our plight and jumped in. They gave us a permanent home and have treated us like family. For the last several years we have been the fastest growing American Legion Post in New York City due to the Intrepid's help.
Our mission is to help our Nation's Veterans. With all the help we have received from the Intrepid, we have been able to do more for our Veterans than we ever thought possible.
The Intrepid Museum Foundation's dedication to our Veterans is beyond belief. The programs run by the Intrepid have helped many Veterans increase their quality of life. The Center for the Intrepid and the National Intrepid Center of Excellence are just two examples of this commitment.
I have also seen the Intrepid personnel work behind the scenes to make sure that any and every accommodation possible has been afforded our Veterans, all done without fanfare. Every time the Intrepid has been asked to help, they have done so with enthusiasm.
My expertise is with Veterans' affairs, but I have also been exposed to the many great works that the Intrepid Museum Foundation has done for the community.
From helping the displaced to educating our youth, from caring for the individual Veteran to operating the Center of Excellence, the Intrepid Museum Foundation does it all.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in my interactions with them and our American Legion Post.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would be hard pressed to find any area within this organization that would be enhanced by any kind of change.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

From community activities and involvement to Veterans' affairs, the Intrepid Museum Foundation does it all.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 26, 2011

more

July 26, 2011

My name is Paul A. Ramirez and I am a New York City Public Middle School Social Studies teacher. In 2008, I first became involved with the Intrepid Sea Air Space Museum and its program to educate and enlighten my students at my school (Young Scholars Academy in the Bronx) though the C.A.S.A. program. The after school work shop administered by Intrepid has brought knowledge, awareness and enjoyment to dozens of my students over these past years. These work shops have served to supplement the basic NYS Science and History curricula and opened the horizons of the students to the basic aerodynamic principles and the proud story of our nation's contribution and sacrifice during World War II.
On one of these trips, I noticed a leaflet that described the Volunteer Program at Intrepid. As the son and nephew of WWII veterans and the little brother of two Vietnam veterans, I became drawn to the idea that I could offer my passion for History to an audience extending well outside of my small classroom. Since becoming an Intrepid Volunteer, I have shared the rich Intrepid story with visitors and patrons from across America and around the world. Intrepid has helped to expand my classroom to a breadth that would have been inaccessible otherwise. To see the electric wonder in the eyes and on the faces of students and patrons alike after experiencing the Intrepid Museum and its programs more than justifies its continued existence.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have been honored to be accepted as a Volunteer at Intrepid. This experienced has enriched me and enhanced my ability to teach American History. I have especially been privileged to work with people who share this passion for America's Story.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Were it possible, I would like to see more artifacts from the WWII period of Intrepid's service, with an emphasis of more of the personal stories of the men who served on the ship. The Former Crewmembers Association has made great strides in this area. Perhaps audio and visual of these personal stories would make an interesting exhibit addition.

July 25, 2011

more

July 25, 2011

I have been a contributor and frequent visitor to the Intrepid Museum Foundation for more than 20 years and I can think of no other organization that does as much good with the contributions they receive. They enhance the education of students in the entire tri-state area with former crew members, interactive displays throughout the museum complex, and friendly, knowledgeable volunteers . Films and speakers, overnight trips for schools and scout groups in the newly refurbished lower deck. Space exploration, aircraft from every era of aviation history. Special displays highlighting the US Navy's early work in integrating our armed forces. It is a wonderful organization, and I am proud to support it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in observing some of the school groups as they learned some of our history, and encouraged my local schools to visit Intrepid. Each group has thanked me for the great experience the students had, and the history they learned while on board.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would change nothing. The people who manage the museum, and the people who work and volunteer there do so with a joy that comes through to the visitors. From young volunteers to former crew members each is happy to share his or her knowledge with the museum visitor.

July 25, 2011

more

July 25, 2011

Having been a trustee for 18 years, I have seen significant growth in all areas of the museum including exhibits, overall maintenance of the ship itself, and internal control improvements. Specifically, the museum has honed its overall mission of honoring those who have served our nation, providing exposure and education to the public and inspiration to youth. In addition, the museum has spurred the development of new charities to help wounded service men and women and their families. Its finances are very well managed including but not limited to growing an endowment, which the museum did not have 18 years ago. Its board oversight has significantly improved since a governance realignment two years ago. I have seen the Intrepid grow from simply a retired aircraft carrier and collection of restored naval sea and aircraft to a state of the art, interactive history and education center that puts it on par with any of New York City's other world-class museums. With the arrival of the space shuttle Enterprise, it shall most certainly be one of the world's premier and most unique Air, Sea and Space museums.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I’ve personally experienced the results of this organization in watching the school children coming through the museum. It gives me great joy to see them learn not only about how the airplanes, submarine, and ship work and have served our country but how they come to understand and appreciate the people behind them and those who serve today to defend our freedom.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization I would want to see attendance increase even more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

From the Museum's founder, the late Zachary Fisher.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Developing a plan to receive and display the space shuttle orbiter Enterprise.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Developing a greater endowment to guarantee the institution's future.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers