Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Several years ago, I first visited the IWC. I came away with a new perception of the role of wolves. Now, every time we visit Ely (most recently, three summers in a row), IWC is my primary destination. Was privileged to learn about pups with the most recent additions and watch them grow. We always spend several hours at the center. I most like the educational programs and the films we have viewed in the theater there. Always watch the weekly You Tube videos, too.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I have loved wolves since childhood and have been an active donor and supporter of the Center for 10 years. My busband and I attended the International Wolf Symposium they hosted in 2013 and intend to sign up for the Oct 2014 Wolf Trek. I would gladly volunteer my time (now that I'm retired) and fund the financial expense for the opportunoty to help socialize new members to the ambassador pack. That would be an absolute dream come true for me...and something I truly believe I was put here to do. My love for wolves defies explanation. I am so proud of the Center's work and the impact they have made in helping people understand wolves and their role in sustaining healthy environments. They have and will continue to truly make a difference for wolves...and I shall support them all the way!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more opportunities for individuals outside the scientific community to be actively engaged in the hands-on efforts associated with introducing new members to the ambadsador pack.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2014

more

August 2, 2014

I discovered the IWC via the weekly youtube videos & have only visited thru the internet. This is one of those few non-profits that achieve their mission statement everyday. I have learned so much about wolves in the past year. The IWC has ignited a passion in me about wolves that I wish I was younger so I could go back to school & study wolf biology. From photos, logs, & videos I feel like I know the Ambassador Wolves personally. When Artic wolf Malik died I donated a small amount in his memory. A few weeks later I received a photo of him with a wonderful letter. When Shadow passed away, again small donation, I received a phone call. Just amazing the way the IWC treats it's members & public. From Lori & the entire Wolf Care staff, to the board, to the volunteers, this entire organization is truly inspiring. I am planning my first visit for 2015 & can't wait!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I have been a life-long supporter of wolf conservation. My annual trips to Ely, MN to visit the International Wolf Center convinced me that they do a magnificent job supporting the preservation of the wolves and wilderness. They do it in a professional, mindful, and knowledgeable way to meet the needs of the public at large and the needs of this unique species through the power of education.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I discovered the International Wolf Center by accident when I was surfing the web for live web cams related to wolves and I've been a faithful observer or voyeur of the wolves at the center ever since. I personally loved watching Shadow and Malik and how they interacted with the wolf care staff. It was a pleasure to be a small part of their lives even though I won't be able too see them anymore since they have both left us. Grizzer has now moved into the space and he's a delight to watch as well as Aidan, Denali, Luna and Boltz in the Exhibit area. The wolf care staff are wonderful, knowledgeable and helpful with questions submitted to them on Facebook and through their website. I've yet to visit the IWC but it is definitely on my bucket list.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Sound on their website so that we could hear the wolves howl, that would be wonderful to hear.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

The International Wolf Center serves an important function in educating people about wolves. I traveled from California to Minnesota for the express purpose of visiting the IWC and thoroughly enjoyed the center's educational displays, staff presentations and discussions, and the opportunity to see the center's ambassador wolves in action in the wolf yard. The center also maintains an excellent Web site that allows the public to follow the ambassador wolves and upcoming center activities. Seeing these magnificent animals up close was a wonderful and exciting experience, especially after having had the chance to learn all about the center's wolves via web cam and weekly updates. I believe that the IWC's educational focus helps to fulfill a vital need by providing a better understanding of wolves and the role they play in the environment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

I was a member of the IWC for years but stopped donating and visiting after Minnesota wolves were removed from the endangered species list, a hunt/trapping season was put in place and the founder of IWC, Dr. David Mech, claimed to be neutral on the issue but has written articles and been quoted several times saying things that only support killing wolves and lessening the population. I received a Membership magazine from the IWC this quarter that even talked about the hunt as if it wasn't going to happen, it mentioned our DNR taking into consideration a public comment on the hunt. The article was grossly outdated because the hunt/trap was put in place long before the article was written and the DNR never took the publics comments into consideration. 80% of people surveyed by the DNR are against the hunt/trap and yet David Mech keeps making comments in favor of the DNR's decision. I gave money for years to the IWC thinking I was educating people on wolves to diminish the irrational fear people had in order to keep our gray wolf population safe so they could keep growing in numbers. Instead our state wasted countless dollars bringing back the wolf from the brink of extinction only to have them slaughtered once more. http://www.wolf.org/wolves/learn/basic/resources/mech_pdfs/311Considerations4DevelopingWolfHarvesting.pdf

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I won't be donating to any wolf organization that supports wolf hunting. And Dr. David Mech does.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers