Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I visited Ely for the first time a few years ago and fell in love with the town, the people, and especially the IWC. They brought to life a love of wolves I didn't know I had until I visited. What an amazing place and amazing people, working tirelessly to educate the world about wolves. I've been back each year and plan to continue the tradition for many years to come. The IWC is one of my most favorite places, anywhere.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 3, 2014

more

August 3, 2014

Ever since I was a little girl in grade school, I had always wanted to visit the center. I tried to persuade my parents to take a trip up to visit but the cost of travel was always too much. We spent our summers doing other things instead. However, the desire to visit the center never died. As the years progressed, I actually almost forgot about the wolf center because I turned my attention away from wolves and began to focus on birds. I was always told "forget about working with wolves, it's practically impossible in the wildlife field" and the bird passion later sprouted. Now, as a college student, I am on my way to becoming a wildlife professional. Every summer I attempt internships despite them being out of state. Last summer I was located in Wisconsin and remembered the Wolf Center. I became a member and planned on visiting because I was finally within driving distance. However, my vehicle then decided to have a gas leak and my journey was halted. I still received updates about the center through their membership magazine, wolf logs, and wolf cams. The later two located on their website. I began to secretly desire to pursue wolf related internships again and as the 2014 summer approached, I found an internship application and applied. I was in absolute disbelief when I was interviewed and the fact that I was hired as a Summer Educator was practically surreal. I could not believe it. Everyone told me it was impossible and yet I still managed to prove people wrong again.

In short, thank you IWC for the opportunities you provide. Not only do you provide college students the chance to work with you through internships but you also have volunteer experience for anyone interested in helping the center out. Membership opportunities include a quarterly magazine filled with factual based articles and various other fun things as you climb the membership ranks; such as limited edition Ambassador Wolf coins. The website, wolf.org, offers people the chance to view the wolves via wolf cams, wolf logs, and weekly youtube videos that update folks about the center's activity. Now that I have experience working with the staff members at IWC (board members, wolf care, educators, store management, etc) - I can honestly say that each and every one of them is truly wonderful! I love that the center's goal to be as factual and scientific as possible rather than constantly telling you to "Save the wolves! Just because!". The wolf center makes sure that each of the wolves are properly cared for and it truly shows based on their physical appearance, behaviors, and interactions with one another. Sometimes you see animals pacing back and forth in the enclosure but the center's wolves are rather relaxed and do not have to worry about constantly being bothered. The wolves are medicated, vaccinated, and more. On top of all this, there are various programs and events that the public can get involved in so that they may learn factual based information about wolves. I truly have nothing bad to say about the wolf center.

Thank you IWC for all the wonderful opportunities you offer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

For me, the International Wolf Center is a valued place where people of opposing views on wolves can come together. This intersection allows factual data to be the focus, so anyone can feel free to ask tough questions and learn. As the saying goes, knowledge is power. Providing people with relevant, up-to-date information and a range of perspectives encourages healthy, respectful dialogue and empowers all of us to make informed decisions. In a contentious world, the Wolf Center is a treasure that deserves my donations and my membership. Debbie H.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It all started with a visit to the International Wolf Center booth at the Minnesota State Fair and a trip to the flagship educational facility in Ely in 2001. I had always been interested in wolves and their behavior, so I inquired about volunteer opportunities which led to my first experience helping at the 2002 Minnesota State Fair booth. Ten years later, I am still volunteering. It is a privilege to help the Center because I support its mission to advance the survival of wolf populations by teaching about wolves, their relationship to wild lands and the human role in their future. I enjoy working with the staff and other volunteers and it is rewarding to know that you are truly appreciated for your commitment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I had the honor of being a Pup Care Participant this summer at the International Wolf Center, and have participated in several events over the last few years The staff is always great to work with, and they do a fabulous job of educating the world about wolves. I look forward to every visit!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have been a member of the International Wolf Center since 2000 and a volunteer since 2004. The staff has been fantastic to work with. Extremely knowledgeable, caring about their work and very outgoing. Every visit results in learning something new about wolf pack dynamics. By volunteering, I have been allowed the opportunity to see behind the curtain and observe how hard the staff and other volunteers work to make the center a success. A big thank you to Lori, Donna and the rest of the crew for letting me be a part of your world. -Garth

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

It is truly an honor to volunteer for an organization of people so dedicated to educating the public on this intriguing, majestic animal. Animals tend to bring out the best in people and this organization is no exception! Once you view the website, volunteer, or visit the Ely exhibit, you will feel the energy and be hooked as a supporter for life!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have attended a number of Educational courses at The International Wolf Centre and have had the privilege of being a pup nanny! This place does so much good in educating people truthfully about Wolves. They take great care of their captive Wolves and work really hard to ensure the future survival of Wolf populations. I think this place, its Wolves and its staff are amazing!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The International Wolf Center is a great place to learn more about wolves, their environment and their interactions with humans. They give factual, science-based information to help people decide how they feel about wolves and the controversies surrounding wolves. I've talked to thousands of people each year at the many educational booths the Wolf Center has at various public venues in Minnesota. I've also volunteered at the Wolf Center in Ely, taking care of wolf pups, working on the enclosures for the wolves and doing fund raising. It's a great organization to visit, to volunteer with, and to donate to. You can see your dollars at work right away in the lives of the resident wolves and in the education the Center offers to visitors to the Center and the website, wolf.org.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In 2004 I had my 1st opportunity to volunteer at the International Wolf Center for pups Grizzer, Maya and Nyssa. It was as experience I cherish and will never forget. This year in 2012 I participated in the pup care program for Boltz and Luna, another fabulous experience like nothing can compare. It is wonderful to be able to keep up with the pups and the pack via the web cams, wolf logs, utube and visits to the center. We are fortunate to have the Center in our community. Their role is important, to educate people about preservation of the wolf and our lands and to understand how humans and wolves can co-exist. The International Wolf Center plays an important role in supporting our community and it is my pleasure to support them. Ellen

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers