Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

It is a great place! I love going to the International Wolf Center! They have an awesome YouTube channel showing many things that the wolves at the wolf center do. The staff are wonderful. The International Wolf Center hosts some pretty cool events. Dr. David Mech and Nancy Gibson have worked together to make this a great place. They have good and well known experts at the wolf center. Nancy jo Tubbs has done a great job as the Chair of the Board of Directors. I would like to thank all the staff and the people at wolf Center for making great trips for me. This wolf Center is doing a great job and keep it up guys! Thank you!
I would also like to thank Rob Schultz and Judy Hunter for showing me around and also you guys are so great and are so good at your job.
Lori Schmidt Wow, you do so many great things for the Wolves at the wolf center, Thank you. You are a great Wolf Curator.
Jacob Tepsa

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I was involved in wolf studies in the late 80's and early 90's and had the opportunity to see the pups raised and how they evolved. The Wolf Center is a great educational opportunity for children and adults alike. I have been there several times over the years and am always pleased with the visit. They also offer great hands on experiences. International wolf Center is one of my favorite non profits.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I love learning about wolves, and always look forward to the weekly updates on the resident ambassador wolves as well as the great narrated videos.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2013

Paul
As a board member of the International Wolf Center, I have worked with Dr. David Mech since 1990. His incomparable experience comes from 55 years of wolf research, being a member of the Eastern Timber Wolf Recovery Team and the Rocky Mountain Wolf Recovery Team and a former member Mexican
Wolf Recovery Team. He authored the first Red Wolf Recovery Plan. He has written nine books and three scientific monographs pertaining to wolves and has authored 300-plus scientific articles about wolves and wolf prey. Dr. Mech collaborates with wolf biologists all over the world as Chair of the Wolf Specialist Group of the International Union of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN) of the World Conservation Union. Although Dr. Mech founded the International Wolf Center and supports it in many incredible ways, he is not a spokesperson for the Center. Dr. Mech speaks about wolves based on his and other scientists' research and for his own agency, the U.S. Geological Survey.
To understand wolf biology, it is essential, but not always easy, to learn the factual, unbiased information that science provides. The International Wolf Center is very fortunate to have Dr. Mech and his associates, who are the world’s leading wolf researchers, as resources for the information we share with the public about the real wolf.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 18, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
December 18, 2012

In 2012 the International Wolf Center board heard some odd scuttlebutt implying that the Center supports the state's hunting and trapping policies and is funded by the state's Department of Natural Resources. This is pants-on-fire false. The DNR acts (only) as the Center's landlord and, in fact, the Center pays the state an annual lease fee. All parties agree that, as a well established 501c-3 non-profit, the Center is independently guided — mission, policy and operations — by our board of directors. With education as its tool, the Center takes no stance on issues, including hunting. We provide science-based information about wolves and strive to be a place for educated dialogue. We respect people's ability to form their own informed opinions about difficult questions. To those of you who have connected with the International Wolf Center — through our ambassador wolf pack, educational programs, distance learning, Web site or our interpretive facility in Ely, MN — THANK YOU. Your commitment to wolves and their habitats is key to their continued survival. We appreciate your feedback and value your input.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I frequently teach about wolves in classrooms throughout Wisconsin. I've had nothing but positive experiences with the International Wolf Center – through educational programs, resources on its Web site and at the staff at the interpretive facility in Ely, MN. The members of the ambassador wolf pack there are some of the most impressive educators around. I'm just part of a community of more than a million people who benefit each year from the Center’s work to provide education and outreach about wolves to people of all ages everywhere. The Center inspires me to a commitment to wolves that keeps me reaching out to the most important people in the wolf's future — today's school children.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

For me, the International Wolf Center is a valued place where people of opposing views on wolves can come together. This intersection allows factual data to be the focus, so anyone can feel free to ask tough questions and learn. As the saying goes, knowledge is power. Providing people with relevant, up-to-date information and a range of perspectives encourages healthy, respectful dialogue and empowers all of us to make informed decisions. In a contentious world, the Wolf Center is a treasure that deserves my donations and my membership. Debbie H.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

I was a member of the IWC for years but stopped donating and visiting after Minnesota wolves were removed from the endangered species list, a hunt/trapping season was put in place and the founder of IWC, Dr. David Mech, claimed to be neutral on the issue but has written articles and been quoted several times saying things that only support killing wolves and lessening the population. I received a Membership magazine from the IWC this quarter that even talked about the hunt as if it wasn't going to happen, it mentioned our DNR taking into consideration a public comment on the hunt. The article was grossly outdated because the hunt/trap was put in place long before the article was written and the DNR never took the publics comments into consideration. 80% of people surveyed by the DNR are against the hunt/trap and yet David Mech keeps making comments in favor of the DNR's decision. I gave money for years to the IWC thinking I was educating people on wolves to diminish the irrational fear people had in order to keep our gray wolf population safe so they could keep growing in numbers. Instead our state wasted countless dollars bringing back the wolf from the brink of extinction only to have them slaughtered once more. http://www.wolf.org/wolves/learn/basic/resources/mech_pdfs/311Considerations4DevelopingWolfHarvesting.pdf

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I won't be donating to any wolf organization that supports wolf hunting. And Dr. David Mech does.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It all started with a visit to the International Wolf Center booth at the Minnesota State Fair and a trip to the flagship educational facility in Ely in 2001. I had always been interested in wolves and their behavior, so I inquired about volunteer opportunities which led to my first experience helping at the 2002 Minnesota State Fair booth. Ten years later, I am still volunteering. It is a privilege to help the Center because I support its mission to advance the survival of wolf populations by teaching about wolves, their relationship to wild lands and the human role in their future. I enjoy working with the staff and other volunteers and it is rewarding to know that you are truly appreciated for your commitment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers