Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.770835
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

I was a member of the IWC for years but stopped donating and visiting after Minnesota wolves were removed from the endangered species list, a hunt/trapping season was put in place and the founder of IWC, Dr. David Mech, claimed to be neutral on the issue but has written articles and been quoted several times saying things that only support killing wolves and lessening the population. I received a Membership magazine from the IWC this quarter that even talked about the hunt as if it wasn't going to happen, it mentioned our DNR taking into consideration a public comment on the hunt. The article was grossly outdated because the hunt/trap was put in place long before the article was written and the DNR never took the publics comments into consideration. 80% of people surveyed by the DNR are against the hunt/trap and yet David Mech keeps making comments in favor of the DNR's decision. I gave money for years to the IWC thinking I was educating people on wolves to diminish the irrational fear people had in order to keep our gray wolf population safe so they could keep growing in numbers. Instead our state wasted countless dollars bringing back the wolf from the brink of extinction only to have them slaughtered once more. http://www.wolf.org/wolves/learn/basic/resources/mech_pdfs/311Considerations4DevelopingWolfHarvesting.pdf

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

I won't be donating to any wolf organization that supports wolf hunting. And Dr. David Mech does.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It all started with a visit to the International Wolf Center booth at the Minnesota State Fair and a trip to the flagship educational facility in Ely in 2001. I had always been interested in wolves and their behavior, so I inquired about volunteer opportunities which led to my first experience helping at the 2002 Minnesota State Fair booth. Ten years later, I am still volunteering. It is a privilege to help the Center because I support its mission to advance the survival of wolf populations by teaching about wolves, their relationship to wild lands and the human role in their future. I enjoy working with the staff and other volunteers and it is rewarding to know that you are truly appreciated for your commitment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I had the honor of being a Pup Care Participant this summer at the International Wolf Center, and have participated in several events over the last few years The staff is always great to work with, and they do a fabulous job of educating the world about wolves. I look forward to every visit!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have been a member of the International Wolf Center since 2000 and a volunteer since 2004. The staff has been fantastic to work with. Extremely knowledgeable, caring about their work and very outgoing. Every visit results in learning something new about wolf pack dynamics. By volunteering, I have been allowed the opportunity to see behind the curtain and observe how hard the staff and other volunteers work to make the center a success. A big thank you to Lori, Donna and the rest of the crew for letting me be a part of your world. -Garth

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

It is truly an honor to volunteer for an organization of people so dedicated to educating the public on this intriguing, majestic animal. Animals tend to bring out the best in people and this organization is no exception! Once you view the website, volunteer, or visit the Ely exhibit, you will feel the energy and be hooked as a supporter for life!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have attended a number of Educational courses at The International Wolf Centre and have had the privilege of being a pup nanny! This place does so much good in educating people truthfully about Wolves. They take great care of their captive Wolves and work really hard to ensure the future survival of Wolf populations. I think this place, its Wolves and its staff are amazing!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The International Wolf Center is a great place to learn more about wolves, their environment and their interactions with humans. They give factual, science-based information to help people decide how they feel about wolves and the controversies surrounding wolves. I've talked to thousands of people each year at the many educational booths the Wolf Center has at various public venues in Minnesota. I've also volunteered at the Wolf Center in Ely, taking care of wolf pups, working on the enclosures for the wolves and doing fund raising. It's a great organization to visit, to volunteer with, and to donate to. You can see your dollars at work right away in the lives of the resident wolves and in the education the Center offers to visitors to the Center and the website, wolf.org.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In 2004 I had my 1st opportunity to volunteer at the International Wolf Center for pups Grizzer, Maya and Nyssa. It was as experience I cherish and will never forget. This year in 2012 I participated in the pup care program for Boltz and Luna, another fabulous experience like nothing can compare. It is wonderful to be able to keep up with the pups and the pack via the web cams, wolf logs, utube and visits to the center. We are fortunate to have the Center in our community. Their role is important, to educate people about preservation of the wolf and our lands and to understand how humans and wolves can co-exist. The International Wolf Center plays an important role in supporting our community and it is my pleasure to support them. Ellen

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with the International Wolf Center for many years. I became a member over 15 years ago after talking with some of the volunteers at the Minnesota State Fair booth. Four years ago I started actively volunteering for the organization, and now I work at many events where we educate the public about the organization and their flagship center in Ely, MN. I have never met such a dedicated group of staff, and I can say the same for the volunteers. Everyone is very involved in promoting the mission and goals of the center. I was lucky enough to be chosen for the Pup Care Program this past summer. What an awesome experience! The focus of everyone was the socialization of the pups so they would be comfortable in the exhibit with the existing ambassador wolves and with wolf care staff in Ely. I am also involved with the local offices here in Minneapolis on a monthly basis. This is a great organization to volunteer with and support!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers