Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

When visiting Ely with my son, we had the fortune of discovering the International Wolf Center. This rich experience changed my knowledge of wolves both in history and in ecology. My son was duly impressed at the dedicated pack of ambassador wolves sand their behaviors. The learning experience was a lasting one, and both my son and I became regular donors/supporters and remain so even years after the visit.
The center is well laid out with visuals about wolves in literature and mythology, challenging some of the most prevalent myths and revealing atrocities humans commit against a species they fear and lack for understanding.
If more people could experience the International Wolf Center, such ignorance and cruelty as has taken place would be itself replaced by a deeper appreciation of wildlife in general and wolves in particular.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Several years ago, I first visited the IWC. I came away with a new perception of the role of wolves. Now, every time we visit Ely (most recently, three summers in a row), IWC is my primary destination. Was privileged to learn about pups with the most recent additions and watch them grow. We always spend several hours at the center. I most like the educational programs and the films we have viewed in the theater there. Always watch the weekly You Tube videos, too.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

My family and I have loved wolves for many years. Last year our vacation was in Ely and the IWC. We had a fantastic time! Lori was wonderful. She explained the wolves habits and personalities in great detail. She, along with all the other employees were so professional and helpful. We are happy to support the Center, and are looking forward to another vacation there. Ely is a beautiful town, with friendly people and amazing shopping. IWC please keep up the great work! The wolves, people in Minnesota and the world appreciate all you have done and continue to do. If you're reading this and haven't visited the IWC, what are you waiting for? You will not be disappointed! Great memories await you!

Bette Q

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have better quality and more unique items for sale in the gift shop

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I have loved wolves since childhood and have been an active donor and supporter of the Center for 10 years. My busband and I attended the International Wolf Symposium they hosted in 2013 and intend to sign up for the Oct 2014 Wolf Trek. I would gladly volunteer my time (now that I'm retired) and fund the financial expense for the opportunoty to help socialize new members to the ambassador pack. That would be an absolute dream come true for me...and something I truly believe I was put here to do. My love for wolves defies explanation. I am so proud of the Center's work and the impact they have made in helping people understand wolves and their role in sustaining healthy environments. They have and will continue to truly make a difference for wolves...and I shall support them all the way!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more opportunities for individuals outside the scientific community to be actively engaged in the hands-on efforts associated with introducing new members to the ambadsador pack.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I visited Ely for the first time a few years ago and fell in love with the town, the people, and especially the IWC. They brought to life a love of wolves I didn't know I had until I visited. What an amazing place and amazing people, working tirelessly to educate the world about wolves. I've been back each year and plan to continue the tradition for many years to come. The IWC is one of my most favorite places, anywhere.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 3, 2014

more

August 3, 2014

Ever since I was a little girl in grade school, I had always wanted to visit the center. I tried to persuade my parents to take a trip up to visit but the cost of travel was always too much. We spent our summers doing other things instead. However, the desire to visit the center never died. As the years progressed, I actually almost forgot about the wolf center because I turned my attention away from wolves and began to focus on birds. I was always told "forget about working with wolves, it's practically impossible in the wildlife field" and the bird passion later sprouted. Now, as a college student, I am on my way to becoming a wildlife professional. Every summer I attempt internships despite them being out of state. Last summer I was located in Wisconsin and remembered the Wolf Center. I became a member and planned on visiting because I was finally within driving distance. However, my vehicle then decided to have a gas leak and my journey was halted. I still received updates about the center through their membership magazine, wolf logs, and wolf cams. The later two located on their website. I began to secretly desire to pursue wolf related internships again and as the 2014 summer approached, I found an internship application and applied. I was in absolute disbelief when I was interviewed and the fact that I was hired as a Summer Educator was practically surreal. I could not believe it. Everyone told me it was impossible and yet I still managed to prove people wrong again.

In short, thank you IWC for the opportunities you provide. Not only do you provide college students the chance to work with you through internships but you also have volunteer experience for anyone interested in helping the center out. Membership opportunities include a quarterly magazine filled with factual based articles and various other fun things as you climb the membership ranks; such as limited edition Ambassador Wolf coins. The website, wolf.org, offers people the chance to view the wolves via wolf cams, wolf logs, and weekly youtube videos that update folks about the center's activity. Now that I have experience working with the staff members at IWC (board members, wolf care, educators, store management, etc) - I can honestly say that each and every one of them is truly wonderful! I love that the center's goal to be as factual and scientific as possible rather than constantly telling you to "Save the wolves! Just because!". The wolf center makes sure that each of the wolves are properly cared for and it truly shows based on their physical appearance, behaviors, and interactions with one another. Sometimes you see animals pacing back and forth in the enclosure but the center's wolves are rather relaxed and do not have to worry about constantly being bothered. The wolves are medicated, vaccinated, and more. On top of all this, there are various programs and events that the public can get involved in so that they may learn factual based information about wolves. I truly have nothing bad to say about the wolf center.

Thank you IWC for all the wonderful opportunities you offer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 2, 2014

more

August 2, 2014

I discovered the IWC via the weekly youtube videos & have only visited thru the internet. This is one of those few non-profits that achieve their mission statement everyday. I have learned so much about wolves in the past year. The IWC has ignited a passion in me about wolves that I wish I was younger so I could go back to school & study wolf biology. From photos, logs, & videos I feel like I know the Ambassador Wolves personally. When Artic wolf Malik died I donated a small amount in his memory. A few weeks later I received a photo of him with a wonderful letter. When Shadow passed away, again small donation, I received a phone call. Just amazing the way the IWC treats it's members & public. From Lori & the entire Wolf Care staff, to the board, to the volunteers, this entire organization is truly inspiring. I am planning my first visit for 2015 & can't wait!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
December 30, 2012

I'm a proud member of the International Wolf Center board of directors. Isn't it great that this is such a multi-faceted organization? The International Wolf Center is a comprehensive resource for stu... more

July 31, 2014

I started as a volunteer about 8 years ago and continue to give my time because I believe in the mission of education. IWC does a fantastic job of teaching people about wolves and the environment. The on site visits by people are something they will never forget. Volunteers and staff work together to provide an valuable learning experience. I am proud to be a volunteer for IWC.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 30, 2012

I'm a proud member of the International Wolf Center board of directors. Isn't it great that this is such a multi-faceted organization? The International Wolf Center is a comprehensive resource for students, teachers, outdoor enthusiasts, biologists, naturalists, scientists, researchers, environmentalists, conservationists, and anyone who values and appreciates wolves and the important role they play in our environment. Our members and donors fall on all sides of controversial issues. At a time when polarized debate occupies much real estate in contemporary culture, an organization like the Wolf Center plays a more valuable role than ever. Our mission of education makes us a leading organization in the world of wolves. We strive to teach everyone about wolves and humans and the impact we have on the environment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Internatioal Wolf Center is a mission driven organization with a mission of educating people about wolves and their behavior. The education is centered around the environment and how wolves and humans are vital in the balance of nature. I have watched the pack at the Center grow and have seen the difference a wolf can make in the life of an individual. We have a lot to learn from their behavior and how they function in a family.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have been involved as a volunteer for several years and each year I learn more and more about the program and about wolves. I have also met and made some great friends in this organization who believe in educating the world about wolves. The organization is International and some of the friends I have made come from other countries which give me an opportunity to experience a new culture.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be to broaden the volunteer base and reach more people about the Center and its mission

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I have been a supporter of wolves for a long time, and this particular organization always comes up in conversations I have with another non-profit that I work for. This seems to be one of those model non-profits that others look up to. Even their website shows a sense of compassion and professionalism and sincere desire to make a positive difference to wolves and their habitat. If I ever travel to MN, this is one place I will most definitely visit because I believe it is a worthwhile venture.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

My visits come via the internet. For a long time I was watching Malik & Shadow. When I saw a wolf was missing I sent them an email. They let me know that Malik had been euthanized. Shadow followed his brother two months later. Via webcam I can see the staff interact with the wolves. They are very caring. The site is very informational and their goal is to save wolves and educate the public. I have donated several times. They do a fine job.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers