Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.744195
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
January 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I visited the center in 2011 and found it very informative. Staff and volunteers were very helpful. They allowed us to walk around and move at our own pace. If we had questions that someone was unsure of they always directed us to someone who would have the answer. Nice displays. Never easy to see wildlife confined to a restricted area but they seem to have made life for the resident wolves comfortable. I plan on visiting this Spring or Summer again.
Since wolves are now legal to hunt again in Minnesota, I feel this organization can hopefully help the wolf population not be diminished.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

The International Wolf Center serves an important function in educating people about wolves. I traveled from California to Minnesota for the express purpose of visiting the IWC and thoroughly enjoyed the center's educational displays, staff presentations and discussions, and the opportunity to see the center's ambassador wolves in action in the wolf yard. The center also maintains an excellent Web site that allows the public to follow the ambassador wolves and upcoming center activities. Seeing these magnificent animals up close was a wonderful and exciting experience, especially after having had the chance to learn all about the center's wolves via web cam and weekly updates. I believe that the IWC's educational focus helps to fulfill a vital need by providing a better understanding of wolves and the role they play in the environment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 17, 2012

After I retired from the Air Force and moved back home to Minnesota, I began volunteering for the International Wolf Center in April 2006. I absolutely loved it! Such a wonderful staff and volunteer... more

October 31, 2013

I started out as a volunteer for the International Wolf Center in 2006. When a position opened I applied for it and got it. I've been a staff member now for almost 7 years. I love working for the Center and love my job. It is very gratifying to work for such a worthy cause and the people I work with are fantastic! I love the contact I have with all our members/donors and enjoy hearing their stories. I also see first hand the dedication and care our staff has for the wolves and the people who support them and us. And, of course, I love all the wolf education I get too! We truly are THE organization to go to for accurate and honest wolf information. Information is power, and with that power, a lot of good can be done.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

After I retired from the Air Force and moved back home to Minnesota, I began volunteering for the International Wolf Center in April 2006. I absolutely loved it! Such a wonderful staff and volunteers, and I felt appreciated and knew I was helping a good cause. In Feb 2007 an opening came up in the Membership department and I applied and got accepted. I've been here ever since and can't imagine being anywhere else. I see the passion in the people I work with every day, and it is so inspiring. Education of the public is so vital to the well being of the wolves. We must not only love and care about them, but must know them and understand them the best we can, and pass on that knowledge. The International Wolf Center reaches people all around the world, and we often hear from our supporters about the impact we've made in their lives and for the wolves. Thank you to all of you.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2011

I was a member of the Air Force for 21 years. In 1996 while home on leave I went to the Minnesota State Fair. I visited the International Wolf Center's (the Center's) booth outside the DNR building and picked up some educational materials. When I got back to my duty station I filled out a membership brochure and mailed it in. I've been a member ever since. I moved back home after retiring from the Air Force. In 2006 while on my way to a local lake, I passed a sign for the Center. I didn't realize their administrative offices were so close to my home! I signed up to be a volunteer. In 2007 a position opened for a Data Entry/Membership Assistant and I applied. I got the job and am so honored to be a part of this organization. Every day I see the hard work the staff and volunteers do and the good they bring about. We are a very professional group of people dedicated to educating people about wolves. Knowledge is power, and the more people learn about wolves the better they will be able to provide for their well being. I remember my first trip to see our ambassador pack up in Ely. I got the the tingles so strong and the beauty of these animals just brought tears to my eyes. As much as I've been there, that same feeling never goes away. It's an absolute love story.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My everyday work. I record all the memberships and donations that come in. I deal directly and personally with our members and donors and hear their compliments and thanks.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to get our name "out there" more. We are the premier organization for wolf facts, news, etc. That's especially true considering it is our mission to educate people.

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The IWC does it right! They take the time to educate the public by engaging the visitor to become appreciative of Wolves. They want the public to walk away with a diverse look at the species and its importance of survival within the ecosystem. What I find fascinating is that they don't glamorize the wolf to the public they paint a realistic picture of the species and how it isn't always cute but an integral part in the balance of nature.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There isn't anything realistic that I would change, as my requests are too far fetched. I think it would be great to do a traveling exhibit to other states.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The International Wolf Center does an excellent job of delivery their mission of education. We teach the world about wolves through the Center in Ely and the experience of observing wolf behavior on site. The Center also just completed a Symposium that attracted wolf biologist from all over the world to come and share their experiences with wolf research. It was an opportunity for everyone to learn and network.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to tell more people about the Center and do something that gathers young people together who are interested in wolves

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

After many years of being a member, I was finally able to visit the International Wolf Center in Ely, MN. I was very impressed, beautiful facility. Very educational. I give it an A+. Only wish we lived closer so I could volunteer. They try to educate the public and give them the knowledge on wolf behavior. Very impressed on how they get the children involved in different activities, they are our future. Keep up the good work!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Absolutely wonderful educational facility. Love hearing about wolves, enjoy watching the exhibit pack, and they have wonderful programs for all ages. Really makes the public aware of the contributions animals like wolves make to the environment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The IWC is such a top notch organization. I am a proud member and I have confidence that my dollars are used wisely for the many facets of what the IWC does. I have been to the center twice and plan on trying to come each summer for many years to come. They have numerous educational opportunities available. You can watch weekly updates on YouTube with great narration by Lori Schmidt. You can see that the wolves are taken care of far above any standards required by the USDA. I like that the IWC does not take a political stance on the issue of wolves and thereby creates an environment In which all sides are able to come together and have a science based discussion on wolves and their role. I had very high expectations the first time I visited the center, they blew my expectations out of the water! I began planning my next visit the next summer immediately after returning home. I am planning my visit for next (2014) now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish they were able to reach more people in giving honest science based information about wolves and their impact on their environment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

It is a great place! I love going to the International Wolf Center! They have an awesome YouTube channel showing many things that the wolves at the wolf center do. The staff are wonderful. The International Wolf Center hosts some pretty cool events. Dr. David Mech and Nancy Gibson have worked together to make this a great place. They have good and well known experts at the wolf center. Nancy jo Tubbs has done a great job as the Chair of the Board of Directors. I would like to thank all the staff and the people at wolf Center for making great trips for me. This wolf Center is doing a great job and keep it up guys! Thank you!
I would also like to thank Rob Schultz and Judy Hunter for showing me around and also you guys are so great and are so good at your job.
Lori Schmidt Wow, you do so many great things for the Wolves at the wolf center, Thank you. You are a great Wolf Curator.
Jacob Tepsa

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I was involved in wolf studies in the late 80's and early 90's and had the opportunity to see the pups raised and how they evolved. The Wolf Center is a great educational opportunity for children and adults alike. I have been there several times over the years and am always pleased with the visit. They also offer great hands on experiences. International wolf Center is one of my favorite non profits.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers